We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“refurbishment not complete so overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion
Ranked #9 of 23 Wareham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
norwich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“refurbishment not complete so overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was a little disappointed to find we were paying over the going rate because of booking ahead through booking.com.
Bathroom would not be suitable for elderly as bath had no rails so difficult to get in and out and no shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I can assure you that we do not charge extra for booking.com guests. The advertised rate you saw was on the bar tables for late availability "walk in" guests. This has been explained to you by Booking.com so I thought this had been clarified rather than posting here? We do not advertise that we have disabled or facilities for the elderly. I assume that the lack of handrails is referring to your comment about refurbishment not complete?
That said it is never nice to hear that a guest is dissatisfied and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay due to an incorrect perception that you "paid over the going rate".
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    57
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
35
81
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

we did not stay in the hotel,but we did have 2 good meals in the restaurant,friendly staff good service the meals were good sized portions i had a burger and chips the burger was very tasty and the chips were homemade chunky chips.good value for money,nice spacious restaurant with good decor would really recommend a visit one of the best places in wareham.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are proud to be "one of the best places in Wareham" and that you for affording us that honour! We are pleased you enjoyed it s0 much you returned again. Thank you for your review.
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Went for an evening meal here after becoming bored at the nearby Springfield Country Club. Food was far superior and after being shown one of the rooms and advised of their rates I promptly asked for a card...next time I'm in Wareham I know exactly where I'll be staying...and it will not be in a 1970's time warp rip off! It may not have a pool, spa, or gym but it easily makes up for this in hospitality and atmosphere.
Already looking forward to my return :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LocheeLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so pleased the atmosphere and hospitality shine through. Wow that is a statement "best hotel in Wareham"? All I can say is that we try our best!
See you soon
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here immediately after a rather fancier stay at the newby Priory Hotel so wasn't expecting to be so pleasantly suprised. Really friendly helpful owner - room way exceeded my expectations - practically a flat...living room, bathroom and double bedroom. Really well decorated and pristine...couldn't have been more impressed. Didn't eat here in the evening as already had plans, but menu looked very tempting and breakfast was excellent. Would definately stay here again - and this time try and cram in a meal or two!

Room Tip: Room 2 was particularly impressive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tetchy186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We hope to see you again soon when you are next in the area on business, maybe for a bite to eat!
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We recently booked a table for a teenager’s significant birthday celebration. We were made to feel very welcome and that nothing was too much to trouble. They didn’t mind us putting our balloons out or a few table decorations and the food was faultless!! As a local, I’ve been here before for drinks and I am so pleased that finally in town there is somewhere that has got something to offer in terms of a great atmosphere and decent decor....It is by far the nicest place in town. Well done Red Lion and thanks again for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Wow what lovely comments, thank you. We try really hard to create a great atmosphere and are privileged that so many choose to celebrate special events with us. We hope to see you again.
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Red Lion at the traffic lights in the centre of Wareham. Of the five pubs we went in during a stay nearby, this was the best and also busy and popular which speaks for itself. We ended up eating here on two occasions, and enjoyed both meals. The hotel has a big bar area and two separate dining areas, with the font area often busy with party bookings. Being a hotel, meals are a few quid more than the other pubs, but it is worth it (fish’n Chips about £11). If you want to eat out in Wareham without paying top restaurant prices, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: May need to book on a Saturday night, or if a larger group
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John4One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Red Lion experience that you returned again! It is great to hear all feedback from customers but especially good feedback : )

Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have been for dinner at the Red Lion and then a few months later went there for lunch to give it a second chance. For the dinner I had a mushroom pastry starter. The pastry was all soggy and very unpleasant to eat. For the lunch I had the halloumi and roasted veg sandwich. The bread was all soggy with big lumps of butter inside but not much else. Not good!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma321_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you have not had good experiences here at The Red Lion. As you will see from our other reviews this extremely unusual and apologise.
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
0.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bere Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kemps Country House
Kemps Country House
#1 of 2 in East Stoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: North Street, Wareham BH20 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion, after years of neglect, has undergone a refurbishment totaling around half a million pounds. The Red Lion now boasts 8 individually designed bedrooms, all of which are en-suite and some are suites. We have a formal restaurant, a relaxed snug dining area and comfortable bar with a great selection of lagers, ales, wines, premium spirits and champagnes. We are situated on the town cross in the centre of Wareham, the gateway to the Jurassic coast. Wareham is beautifully placed to tour the South coast. NB Please disregard any comments pre-July 2011 as they relate to previous operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Wareham
The Red Lion Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing