We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, friendly, warm and inviting - shame about the plumbing!”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red Lion
Ranked #9 of 23 Wareham B&B and Inns
Calne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing, friendly, warm and inviting - shame about the plumbing!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at the Red Lion for 3 nights. I stayed in a suite at the front of the hotel and it really was beautifully decorated. It was clean and fresh and a real sanctuary. A few of the other reviews have mentioned noise level and this room was noisy - there's no getting away from it. However, the hotel *is* on a main road, so if you turn up expecting countryside-style silence then that can't really be blamed on The Red Lion!

The staff were very friendly, and the courtyard is a really lovely addition.

My only gripe is that they're still finishing the renovations and haven't sorted the water pressure yet so there was no shower. This would have been fine, but the bath would only fill up a small amount before the water literally stopped running. I would have liked to have been warned about this before I arrived.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the property for a quieter night sleep, and ask about the water situat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review! Your comment about noise was beautifully put! We will be installing showers in the next phase of refurbishment. However I would like to apologise for the water pressure issue which was caused by a fault and was fixed after your departure.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    69
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
39
92
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The rooms are spacious, quiet, well equipped and tatsefully decorated, with complementary tea, local water and good quality biscuits. They need to sort out the erratic hot water supply, but I understand this is in hand. Breakfast was very good, especially the full English, but personally I would have liked better quality marmalade and brown bread/toast. All the staff were most pleasant and helpful and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurnerTrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. We have indeed managed to sort out the troublesome water pressure and apologise if this caused you any issues. Brown toast should always be available on the breakfast offer! I have reviewed our marmalade and jam selection after your comment and these have now been upgraded.
Many thanks again
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We called in here at the last minute and so pleased we did. The rooms were so tastefully decorated and have everything you need. We had a room that had a separate relaxing area to watch TV, so when the weather was not so good we could relax in the room without feeling like we were sat in a bedroom.

The staff are friendly and helpful and we would agree with the comment about a shower hook and screen as mentioned by another review. However, unlike some of the other reviews we would disagree about the noise. Our room was opposite the town clock, it did not disturb us and we are light sleepers and live in the countryside so not accustomed to town noises.

The breakfast was superb and a great start to the day. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We actively decided not to install shower screens as the water pressure wouldn't be strong enough to give a consistent shower. We would rather not do it, than provide a sub standard service. As a compromise we installed hand held shower taps to wash hair with, hopefully reaching a compromise!
Thank you for your recommendations, we would love to see you again.
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have just had a 3 night stay at this hotel and had a wonderful time. As other reviewers have said, it is beautifully restored in a pleasing combination of traditional and modern. Our room was extremely spacious and well appointed, we loved the nice deep bath. The staff were fantastic, helpful in a genuine caring way. It was really good value as a delicious home cooked breakfast is included in the room rate. We also had dinner there one night and the food was very good and well priced albeit not exceptional. The downside as the last reviewer describes is the noise from outside. The clock would not have bothered us, but the bank and bus stop users definitely so. Luckily having read the reviews we took ear plugs with us!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mardimarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yopur stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the food exceptional, as this is what we always strive for. Hopefully you raised any issues with your waitress at the time? Being in the centre of town has many advantages but unfortunately also some disadvantages that go with it. We are sorry if you were disturbed.
Many regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dufftown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, the staff are very helpful, the beds lovely and comfortable with great linnen, big fluffy towels and a super menu.

But the really do need double glazing, if you are a light sleeper this is not a hotel for you, if you are a heavy sleeper then I would give it 4 stars. The town clock chimes through the night which is opposite the hotel, the hotel sits at a juction with traffic lights and a bank next door so there is a constant stream of traffic with doors slamming as people go to the cash point and also revving engines at the lights. The is a bus shelter just outside which is a magnet for teenagers on Friday at Sautrday nights screeming and shouting is the norm, the police do move them on but like most towns they only move along for a short time then they come back just as your dosing off that is of course after the town clock stopped chiming midnight!! It is a shame as for the hotel itself is so nice and the staff very helpful. There are baths in the room with a shower attacment so if you prefer a shower forget it but as I like a bath no probs. All they need to do is put a fitting on the wall and a shower door on the side of the bath and hey presto problem solved.

Room Tip: Ask for room 5 or 6 its away from the front a bit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marsayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
We are pleased that you spoke so highly of our staff, facilities and menu.

As a grade 2 listed building, double glazing isn't an option. However we are considering installing secondary glazing in phase 2 of refurbishment. I am pleased to report that due to changes in other premises general noise around town has massively decreased and we very rarely have issues. We clearly advertise that we are situated in the centre of town, so unfortunately you won't find fields surrounding the hotel. I am sorry that you were disturbed to the extent that you were as most guests do not find it an issue, returning week after week.
Due to the water pressure not being strong enough to supply a consistent shower we have only installed shower taps and not showers and therefore have not fitted shower doors.
We hope you found somewhere that met your needs.
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We visited this hotel for lunch en route to our accomodation elsewhere with our 2 boys. First impressions were WOW, there has obviously been a lot of money spent here on the decor. They get bonus points for welcoming kids... The food was great, my boys had a "fish finger" sandwich - we were expecting the obvious but actually they were handmade fishfingers and the boys couldnt get enough of them. The other meals were just as good, its not especially cheap but we will definately eat there again and would advise anyone to try it! ( Beer and wine are also good - their house pinot grigio is lovely)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsjfsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We had already booked accomodation for our three day visit and when we arrived we were appalled by the state of the place. We decided to look for somewhere else and found the Red Lion. What a stroke of luck! Excellent decor with care and attention to detail, plenty of space in the room, good food, clean and most important, a comfortable bed. Only negative was it was on the main road and traffic was a little noisy. Problem solved with a pair of earplugs! I highly recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room that doesn't look out on the road for a quieter night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
0.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
367 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
938 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
5.8 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
914 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kemps Country House
Kemps Country House
#1 of 2 in East Stoke
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: North Street, Wareham BH20 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion, after years of neglect, has undergone a refurbishment totaling around half a million pounds. The Red Lion now boasts 8 individually designed bedrooms, all of which are en-suite and some are suites. We have a formal restaurant, a relaxed snug dining area and comfortable bar with a great selection of lagers, ales, wines, premium spirits and champagnes. We are situated on the town cross in the centre of Wareham, the gateway to the Jurassic coast. Wareham is beautifully placed to tour the South coast. NB Please disregard any comments pre-July 2011 as they relate to previous operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Wareham
The Red Lion Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing