We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anglebury House
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant lunch”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Staying near Corfe, so visited briefly for lunch. A window seat in the restaurant, which retains much of the character of the building. Polite and helpful service. A good range in the menu from traditional favourites like Ham egg and chips (my choice) to homemade pasta dishes (my wife). Served hot and fresh. Pasta was very rich and defeated my wife (she wanted to eat it all, she just could not manage the hearty portion). I would have liked a more traditional ham (it seemed a bit to 'packet' to me) and perhaps another slice, but that is just being pedantic. Hot chocolate was made with cocoa and real milk - good. We would come again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeHarley0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    13
    13
    8
See reviews for
12
33
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very disappointed to find this hotel very drab and dingy. The minute shower room smelt badly of sewage. Breakfast was passable. Kept being detained by a local who seemed to be some sort of handyman, a pretty undesirable character. Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone else

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresam1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wareham hotels

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

a few gripes first liquid soap in bathroom, no plastic cups in bathroom, restaurant shut sunday and monday ( chefs nights off ) ate in the black bear hotel. now for the good stuff . clean and comfortable room with a modern slim tv ,really good breakfast menu. good evening menu with a specials board plus a wine list .location spot on with poole - swanage - lulworth cove - corfe castle -and bournemouth all short trips buy bus or car .all in all a lovely family run hotel. in a quaint town with no vacant shops hardly any fast foods.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshineman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Comfortable hotel with good food, and a friendly coffee shop and bar filled with local people who want to share the pleasures of living in the Purbecks with you.. An excellent base for touring the area. This is a 16th century hotel where the uneven floor, low beams and inglenook fireplaces remind you of days when a coach and horses instead of a combustion engine would deliver you to the door. However the food is definiitely 21st century with an excellent selection of dishes. Also Lawence of Arabia, yes the one with the turban, regularly took his coffee in the coffee shop. You can sit in the seat where he sat.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very individual because of the age of the building, however we were offered a choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The car parking was very tight and limited. We had to step into on-coming traffic on a corner to get to the street-front to reach the entrance. Our rooms were an ok size, with ensuites, but the cleanliness of the carpets was limited to say the least and they were very dated. The headboards were grotty and we really did not want to touch them.
The restaurant/bar was advertised as open from 7pm but on our first night there was no sign of any service as the owners had left and there were no other staff.
Breakfast was a saving grace and there were new tv's in the rooms.
I just couldn't see us staying there again. Such a shame. Two nights was far too long.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieThackray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night in late July. We really needed a place to stay as the weather was so nice and we wanted an extra day holiday. We booked without reading reviews as it was the only place nearby that had availability for three people.

Prior to arrival, we thought we made a grave mistake. Other reviews say the place is dirty and staff not very good etc. However, let me assure you that this is incorrect.

The Bad

- the hotel is a little bit dated. Dated, not unclear. It is a bit medieval in character, lots of wooden beams, just be careful of the low ceilings!
-small portion of cereal at breakfast!
- room was clean, but some of the beams in the room were a little bit dusty
- the bathroom was a bit 1970's, could do with an update. It was a horrible green colour.
- there were some neighbours chatting in the back yard til the early morning.

The Good

- parking behind and on street in front
- very accommodating staff
- breakfast was very tasty, and included in the price. It was not greasy, as another reviewer has stated. Cereal, full english and toast and tea. As another reviewer has said, it is served when you like, so you can sleep in if you like!
- beds were comfortable and very clean.
- lots of storage space in the room
- very good location in the town. Can walk to nearby Sainsbury etc.


All in all, I would say that this was a very pleasant stay, and I would have no reluctance in staying there again.

It cost us £85 for a room sleeping 3 adults, including breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crazybeachboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2012

A family run hotel where the whole family really put body and soul into looking after their guests. Breakfast was included in the price and was served at a time to suit the guests' needs whether it be early or mid-morning. Food is of the highest standard and meals are made to order. Small friendly bar where the patRons are only too willing to involve you in the conversation and to pass on any information you may need to make your stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Book early as rooms are always in demand
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
1.1 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
342 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bere Regis
128 reviews
7.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglebury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglebury House

Property: The Anglebury House
Address: 15-17 North Street, Wareham BH20 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Anglebury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglebury House Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing