We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Desserts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plumber Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plumber Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Desserts!”
Reviewed May 5, 2006

I happened to see the Dec 2005 review of Plumber Manor and felt I had to set the record straight. We stayed there two nights in Sept 2005 while doing a grand tour of south england(we also stayed at Ston Easton and The Lugger Hotel in Cornwall) and had a wonderful time. The location was lovely, and our room in the stable block pretty, clean and comfortable. The food was very good, but what we still remember was the dessert trolley!
One of the best, varied assortment and all delicious. I remember a lemon sponge cake and many yummy chocolate selections...we tried almost all of them to be sure.
The owners and staff were affable, and the black labradors in the drawing room did a great job of entertaining guests before dinner. They will also do "fetch" games in the garden during the day! (All country house hotels should have dogs).
Breakfast was also excellent, the scrambled eggs creamy and nutty with butter. Yum!
All in all we had a great time and would love to go back...its a good location for touring.
We recommend it heartily!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kauaimary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    24
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
27
43
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2006

I have stayed at Plumber Manor on 11 occasions over the years and never failed to be impressed with the hospitality, comfort of the rooms, the service and the quality of the food.

I am a regular user of the TripAdvisor service and there are many hotels in the UK which deserve hefty criticism. This is not one of them.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 272Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2005

Last night I went to Manderley. Well, Plumber Manoar actually, but you get the drift. Both are throwbacks in time.

The setting is terrific. A long sweeping drive ending in a romantic flourish infront of a Jacobean building silhouetted against the skyline. The Hall is beautiful but have we wandered into somebody's barn by mistake. There's a grandfather clock, a rusting calor gas bottle, 3 billiard balls and a glass case of stuffed birds. A wodden bench only partially conceals a log store of wood chippings. Are they perhaps preparing for a Nativity Play?

This hotel is a pastiche of an early 70's take on English country house. Swirly carpets, dralon chairs and bald velevet curtains in a series of sitting rooms built around an ageing bar that combines Mediterranean with Op Art and pine. The Prideaux Bunes, whom we are told, (repeatedly), have been resident at Plumber since the 17th centrury, (they must have got the curtains then), are big on heritage. Portraits of generations of PB's cover the wall and we learn that they have been running the Manor as a hotel for thirty years. I presume the avocado bathroom suites were new then, but it's certainly lon g enough for them to have learnt the basics of customr service which is haphazard, enenthusiastic and, at times, downright unfriendly. This attitude has seeped through to all the staff who fall into two categories. Young and completely untrained and old and crabby. The only exception is the charming lady behind the bar.

We take drinks in a small square sitting room that is a homage to salmon. The walls are John West best red, the curtains Princes Pink. Sofas are stacked against each wall like a doctors waiting room.

Before we can test the Chardonnay, we are summoned to a long cellar that reminds me of Phil Mitchell's garage at the Arches. Appropriately, it's a sort of petrol blue colour but the 'authentic hand-painted country scene' has long since faded. There are no flowers or table decorations and the effect is cold.

We have been called but it's hard to see why as nothing is happening other than the arrival of some awesomely tasteless tough bread. Wine appears at one end of the long table where it is enjoyed by those in it's proxiity whilst the rest of us stay drive. For about half an hour. A cautious enquiry prompts a 'Well, if you'd just be patient we'll get there.' (Before the next Millennium would be good). This is from crusty old retainer who has obviously been with the PB's so long that he resents having to provide service. There is a complete abscence of courtesy and the miserable staff leave us in no doubt that they would prefer to be elsewhere. We can see the main dining room through a hole in the Arches and wonder if they are faring any better.

The food is old style banqueting. Without the promptness that is usually the redeeming feature of pre-ordering. My Seafood Mille Feuille has mistaken itself for a vol au vent. Many layers there are not. Instead, I have assorted prawns and monkfish in an unsubtle curry sauce with a small oblong of puff pastry perched on top. The sort of thing you get in not very good pubs when you ask for Steak and Kidney Pie. A timbale of Smoked Haddock and Spinach looks appetising but the Avocado Melon and Prawns with Cajun Sauce is some bits of fruit and veg dumped on a plate with prawns in an over pink mayonnaise. Poor presentation is the hallmark of all the dishes except the Timbale.

Mains are a tedious affair as the staff have no idea who has ordered what and even less idea about what they have in their hand. Food cools rapidly after several turns around the room. Most dishes have that 'finished in thge microwave' look. telltale signs of sauces dried to a glaze on the plate which should never have got past an observant Chef on the pass. Large dishes of help yourself vegetables are dumped on the table. The new potatoes have good flavour but the Dauphinoise have the texture of a badly made bread and butter pudding. My lamb is tasty and tender but overcooked.

The vegetarian option takes an inordinately long time to arrive.

The medley of deserts is a bit of this and a bit of that. A good idea in principle for parties, but not especially well executed and the same poor presentation. Even a quick dusting of icing sugar would have demonstrated some attention to detail, but nobody seems to care. We were never asked if we had enjoyed our food/the even or anything else. Perhaps they already knew the answere.

And then began the long wait for coffee. An ideal opportunity to suggest more wine or after dinner drinks. You might think so. The PB's couldn't possibly comment. No, we were to remain dry. Even the water had run out and nobody suggested anymore.

Desperation drove us to the bar to plead to be allowed to buy another bottle of wine. The charming lady had disappeared and brother of Crusty Retainer is now looking busy. Too busy to look up. Perhaps he takes his cue from one of the PB's who is now present in the bar poring anxiously over some papers. There is a just audible sign when I ask for wine.

This is a shambles. Our group has paid £27.50 per head, exclusive of wine, which is upper end for this part of the world. Money is not the problem, it's the poor value.

Searching their website the next morning I notice that Chef Brian (PB of course) 'uses only the freshest produce.' The menu changes daily, we are told, which makes it a pity that the last page of the sample menus says it was last revised in April 2004.

Dreadful.

Helpful?
18 Thank penelopesimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2005

A beautiful old manor house, with an air of comfort. Fabulous manicured lawns, beatifully kept gardens. Friendly people. The food is delicious (and the chef flexible with notice...we took children - who loved the dogs!). Pay extra to stay in a superior room in the barn conversion - spacious and welcoming. Enjoy a champagne cocktail before dinner whilst looking out over the dorset countryside, listening to the river at the bottom of the garden. Totally relaxing. If you want to get away from it all and spoil yourself, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BracknellMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2003

My husband and I were slightly anxious booking a hotel over the internet without referrals. However we were pleasantly surprised on our arrival at Plumber Manor. It was a beautiful day and the setting was simply beautiful - this grand old house with beautiful manicured lawns and two delightful dogs. The reception from the owners was friendly and helpful and the food that evening was mouth watering. A truly delightful personal cosy hotel highly recommended.

Helpful?
6 Thank Capegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturminster Newton
0.0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
847 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
428 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumber Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumber Manor

Property: Plumber Manor
Address: Sturminster Newton DT10 2AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sturminster Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plumber Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Plumber Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumber Manor Hotel Sturminster Newton
Plumber Manor Sturminster Newton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing