We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A WONDERFUL B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturminster Newton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Causeway Bakery
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Recently stayed at this beautiful B&B which is owned by a wonderful couple, Sandra and Simon who made us feel so very welcome. Our room in the main house was super and the breakfast was first class. The view from the table across the lovely countryside was very pleasant indeed. My husband and Simon had such a great time remembering their younger days in the City bars and restaurants! We hope to return.

Room Tip: All accommodation was first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

Super room, superb hosts, lovely area to visit - chilled out totally - Simon and Sandra lovely people felt like old friends when we visited then old causeway bakery for the second time -
Highly recommended most certainly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burghleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

What a brilliant place to get away too.
It is very well placed to get to all Dorset has to offer.
Clean as a whistle with beautiful fresh cut flowers in the room.
The owners are fabulous and an excellent help in guiding us for things to do.

The cooked breakfast is the best I have ever had and the touch of freshly baked bread in the morning is wonderful.

An absolute must.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHeymans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Stayed here for my husband's birthday and loved it! The warm welcome from Sandra and the dogs was wonderful and the whole idea of having a wing to yourself was charming. We opted for staying in the evening we arrived having brought a posh picnic with us - everything was provided in the small kitchen to make our stay perfect. We chilled out with the TV and a bottle of bubbly in the jacuzzi bath - bliss!!

Bathroom was big enough for a party and bedroom exceptionally comfortable and well appointed. Only small niggle - bottled water would have been a lovely touch.

Breakfast had to be seen to be believed - a first class feast of local produce. We left absolutely stuffed with good food and good feelings.

Will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWoodsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
someoneelseentirely, Owner at Old Causeway Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

In response to the comment about not providing bottled water in the rooms - we do not provide this as the tap water is of a very high quality - Also, and more importantly to us, we are not keen on the likely number of plastic bottles that will need to be disposed of.
We find that guests who require bottled water usually bring their own - we are happy to provide bottled water if asked to do so by a guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This was our second stay at this b & b and it continued to live up to our expectations. We stayed in the Old Bakery part of the house which consists of a living room with small kitchenette off (with tea and coffee making facilities) and then up stairs is a super double bedroom with a huge King size bed, covered in crispy white sheets - pure heaven. Also upstairs is a bathroom with a Jacuzzi bath and separate shower, all spotlessly clean. There is a tv upstairs and downstairs although we didn't have much time to watch them. There are two other double bedrooms in the main house which were shown to us but we haven't stopped in these.

This year we took our 1 year old Border Collie who was made as welcome as we were. Sandra and Simon have two dogs of their own Henry and Berttie who are as welcoming as their owners.

Sandra's attention to detail is second to none. Every aspect of our break had been considered. She has a list of local pubs offering great food at reasonable prices and even had sample menus for us to review. As it was I left the choices to her and she even booked them for me in advance. Simon is a bit of a joker and also the breakfast cook. Which brings me onto the breakfasts which are full English, amazing, cooked to perfection with local produce and sausages to die for. Obviously there were cereals and toast (home made bread), tea, coffee, orange juice - enough to last us all day if we wanted.

We love walking and from the garden gate there are some lovely walks which we took advantage of every morning with the dog. There were OS maps which we were allowed to borrow so were able to plan further walks around Dorset. We like to frequent coffee shops and Sandra was able to tells us the best places to go, having listened to what we liked and being able to point us in the right direction

All in all a perfect 3 night break, we were looked after as much as we wanted, left alone when we wanted and given advice when we asked. We will be going back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandbtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sturminster Newton hotels
5.0 mi away
Manston Guest House
Manston Guest House
#3 of 14 in Sturminster Newton
32 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
150 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#1 of 14 in Sturminster Newton
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
58 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Old Bank
The Old Bank
#12 of 14 in Sturminster Newton
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plumber Manor
Plumber Manor
#2 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Causeway Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Causeway Bakery

Address: The Causeway | Hazelbury Bryan, Sturminster Newton DT10 2BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sturminster Newton
Price Range: $55 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Causeway Bakery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely old house in Dorset with three large comfy bedrooms with guest sitting rooms huge welcome and great breakfasts! B&B or self catering in the Old Bakery wing/cottage children and dogs welcome the village pub is just across the road and the village shop just down the road! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Causeway Bakery Sturminster Newton, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing