We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“17th Visit over 27 years and better than ever !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knoll House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Studland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knoll House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Studland
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“17th Visit over 27 years and better than ever !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our family has been visiting the hotel with our three sons since they were babies. We have always found them welcoming and friendly to all of us, including the labradors !
The hotel works well for babies to grandparents and the homely, relaxed atmosphere helps us to immediately feel at home on arrival. Many of the staff have been there for many years and we value their welcoming recognition and familiarity. The food was excellent this year, particularly the deserts and we have come home, looking forward to taking our first grand-child to the Knoll House next year. If you want a multi-national "boringly the same" 5 star hotel - this is not for you !
Knoll House is a family hotel and we have been made very welcome by the Fergusson family over many years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kent321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    39
    20
    13
    20
See reviews for
115
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days with our 3 year old daughter - when we arrived at reception - I wanted to burst into tears and go home. We paid £260 per night for a small room in a dusty so-called hotel and feel utterly ripped off.

Things I didn't like:
- Dusty old place that needs a good clean, its very old fashioned with old dusty sofa's littering the hotel.
- Children over 5 or 7 are not allowed in the dinning room so that means you have to eat breakfast in the children's dinning room. If you are having lunch - you also have to eat it in the children's dinning room.
- Baby Listening service (basically somebody sitting outside your room) starts at 7.30pm so if you want to go to dinner earlier - tough.
- If you want to eat lunch at the hotel - its costs £30 per head - there is no other option. I asked the hotel staff where else we could eat and they said we could drive for 10 minutes. What they did not mention was the perfectly good cafe on the beach - 10 minute walk.
- 3 course dinner was awful - food was stuck in the 80's. Presentation was awful and quality of food was poor e.g. use of frozen vegatables - not what you expect for £260 a night!
- Our room (interconnecting) was small as was the bathroom. There are no tea/coffee making facilities. Also if you want a TV, you have to request it.
- Tiny indoor swimming pool with silly hours if you wanted to swim with your family.

Things I did like:
- Staff in the children's dinning room were lovely - very accommodating, flexible and friendly.
- Children's play room was good

This hotel (although I would not call it a hotel as I believe hotels cite more facilities) tries to cater for 2 very different groups, the elderly and families - the two do not mix and the elderly folk get the best deal. It is maddening as we paid a lot of money. In the past we have stayed in a wonderful family friendly hotel called the Bedruthan Steps in Cornwall - a bit further to go, but it is amazing and totally flexible - children are allowed in the dinning room and the rooms and facilities are top notch.

I really could not recommend the Knoll House - its a stuffy place. To top it all, I complained to a number of different staff and they just nodded their heads at me. I was incensed.

If you want a relaxing holiday go to the Bedruthan Steps - it costs the same!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Woody0008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

The hotel caters for children quite well if you accept their inflexible routines around meal times but they don't seem to understand that babies are different and cannot be left in a room with a lady listening in the corridor I they don't have a routine and insist on being held as our 12 week old does. She, like all under 7s, was not allowed in the dining room at all meaning one night we ate on trays in the children's dining room and the other we rotated an adult out every 15 mins. Any decent hotel would be embarrassed to subject their guests to this, especially for £150 per night! Instead for more senior staff you have the impression you are more a nuisance than a customer.

The food is very good, excellent in fact. The kids food is good with lots of flexibility and understanding staff. The play area is great for under 5s.

The grounds, play area and pools are nice but the hotel decor is retirement home chic, if there is such a thing. The rooms have been redone and are smart but the tartan carpets ruin their appearance and the paper thin walls mean noise is a given.

All in all, retirement home chic is not for me so despite the excellent food I couldn't recommend this place. I can't see it surviving the next 10 years once its main staple of OAP guests pop their clogs.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have recently stayed at knoll house with our 2 boys (5 mths and 22 mths). We had 2 interconnecting rooms which were lovely, very comfy bed and lovely refurbished bathroom. Fab view over Studland bay. amazing facilities for children from the fully stocked playroom, adventure playground, pools (indoor spa pool has 2 hrs a day for children) to the excellent chidrens dining room. Breakfast is all eaten together (8-845) - hot cooked fresh to order, cereals, croissants etc. lunch is for main meal so hot meal then proper pudding (1230-115). Children can then be left in playroom with nanny supervision from 1 till 2 while you have lunch but ours were ready for naps so we collected our lunch and took it to our room. Tea (5-6) is cold buffet and hot choice (pasta, fish fingers) and party puddings like jelly, cake etc. they provide everything for children right down to beakers, bibs, wipes, sterilsers etc and will do anything to help....our youngest is weaning so they puréed anything we wanted and offered us a bumbo as highchair was too big for him. The childrens kitchen Is open 24 hrs so you can make bottles, get milk that they provide etc. It's also got a great atmosphere for chidren and our eldest loved it the minute we got there.

The food for adults was very good, especially the puddings which were amazing. Our monitor worked so we used that when the children were sleeping but there was also a listening service of a lady sat outside the family rooms and they ring down if they cry. Worked very well. Meant we had lovely relaxing evenings.

Only negatives would be that the walls are very thin so you can hear everything from neighbouring rooms, meant children next door woke ours and I'm sure vica versa and we were very conscious of their early morning wake up for the poor couple on the other side! Meal times are fairly short (lunch 1 to 130 in main restaurant for instance) so perhaps a little restrictive but you get used to the routine very quickly and most people tend to stay around the hotel most the time.

We were a bit worried beforehand due to some of the reviews but it is a little old fashioned it is only in a brilliant way and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank emma f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This year was our third year in a run at Knoll House. We have a 4 year old and a 2 year old, and every year we have had a real 'holiday' there. The moment we arrive, we completely relax in the knowledge that the kids have plenty to keep them happy and that we are entering a place with a friendly and warm atmosphere. Granted, we have always had lovely weather in September when we have gone, and the beach is beautiful as is the hotel outdoor pool which is heated, but on the days when it has rained there has been plenty to do in the area. The playground kept them amused for hours with its fantastic pirate ship, and the kids dining room with adjoining playroom was equally a big hit. For us the creme de la creme was the room listening from 7 till 11 each night, so we could go and enjoy the delicious food with the grown ups in the main dining room, then we would go off and have nightly table tennis tournament followed by a drink at the bar before bed!
The only down side was the bar, it is desperate need of some modernisation. But as parents of young kids, the bar is never going to be a place where we spend alot of time, so it never bothers us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Beauyorkshire89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay. The staff are so friendily and helpful. This is the third time we have stayed and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Purbeck. We met a whole family who have been coming for over twenty years and I can see why. Perfect .....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We are trying to work out why we keep coming back to Knoll House. Some of the reasons must include the care and attention that we get from the staff, who recognise and greet us each year. And the wonderful views and surroundings at Studland. We have been visiting Knoll House for 10 years now and it is such a joy to return each time. Of course, the experience is not what you would have from a chain hotel. Maybe that is why we like it here so much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank chocotwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Studland
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
2.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.9 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
3.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knoll House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knoll House Hotel

Property: Knoll House Hotel
Address: Studland, Swanage BH19 3AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage > Studland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Studland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 79
Also Known As:
Knoll Hotel Studland Bay
Knoll House Hotel Studland, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing