We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what it says on the tin!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bankes Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Studland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bankes Arms
Ranked #8 of 8 Studland B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what it says on the tin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

this is a country inn with great value B & B rooms. The rooms are small but the views make up for it ! The fish and chips is much better than my local London pub, and the portions are huge - so you need to walk to Old Harry first. No flies when I went but maybe this is a seasonal issue?

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanmilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    57
    56
    67
    79
See reviews for
85
134
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a pint, and some food for the kids after a lovely walk up to Old Harry's. The pub was busy as usual for a Saturday afternoon, but what I could not countenance was the amount of flies, in their hundreds, EVERYWHERE. I've never seen so many in my life! Around the bar, the food, the furniture... we were constantly swatting hands about to get rid of them. The thought of eating anything made there turned my stomach, we had a pint and left.
Shame.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Brilliant buzzy local pub - perfect for post walk drinks - we loved it so much we even went back the next day for lunch - best scampi and chips we've had in years! Very good and friendly service and dog friendly! We will certainly be going back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LucycAxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
643 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The location is fabulous,glorious,outstanding. But after visiting this pub a few times over the years it is clear that this is what it relies on.
Visit here for refreshments when enjoying the spectacular Purbecks but do not expect too much when it comes to the food. As other reviewers have noted expensive pub grub that is below average.
I cannot comment on the accommodation as luckily ( after reading other reviews ) have never stayed there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank places2seeplaces2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

i have to say that our experience was nothing like those poor ones below. My wife and I were staying in a local B&B and needed to eat on 3 nights. On each occasion the food was excellent. Between us we had lamb shank, sea bass, chicken and beef bourginon. The new potatoes and veg that came with the meals were excellent as was the bread and butter pudding with custard - twice! I tried several of the beers brewed on site and enjoyed them all. If there was one criticism it was that the wine selection was poor and overpriced at £4.25 for a small glass. The white wine my wife was given on the first evening was not even chilled.
The girl who served us on the first night didn't seem with it but the young guy on the last 2 nights was very friendly and helpful.
Overall we enjoyed the meals and atmosphere it prompted me to do this review as the owners of the B&B said the food was a bit hit and miss. Well for us it was a hit. Go on give it a try as perhaps things are improving!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_copsey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The meal was terrible and overpriced. The staff did not ask if we enjoyed the food.
Also, the place was alive with dogs, growling and roaming. I will never go to this pub again. It was the worst meal I have had in a pub and I have had many before.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We sat in the Garden at the front of the pub which was well littered with paper and rubbish. The food was at best average. We had a ham baguette which was served with a limpish brown edged salad and smothered in oil. For this pleasure we were charged, what I think is, an exorbitant £6.50. We both had a lager shandy which was virtually all lemonade with a dash of Carling Lager to give it some colour. However we were charged the same price as was listed for neat larger. Not a good experience. It is a shame and I think the owners and staff have become very complacent and need to try much harder if they wish to rise up Tripadvisor's ratings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Studland
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.8 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bankes Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bankes Arms

Property: The Bankes Arms
Address: Manor Road, Studland, Swanage BH19 3AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage > Studland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Studland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Bankes Arms Hotel Studland
The Bankes Arms Studland, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing