We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor lunch”
Review of The Smuggler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smuggler's Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

7 of us stopped here for light lunch after coastal path walk. Attractive pub and friendly staff. Baguettes were doughy, dry and had meagre fillings - was told that they were to Company Specification (Hall and Woodhouse please note). Did not feel we had value for money.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 496 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in early March with our dogs. Bedroom was spacious, well equipped and very warm, only downside is the amount of noise from the neighbouring rooms. The dogs were welcome in all areas and were able to accompany us to breakfast. Staff were friendly, food was good if a little overpriced. Overall a nice place to stay it just lacked a little finess

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megans_Marauders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe C, The Smugglers Inn at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Smugglers. I'm disappointed to hear you were disturbed by our other guests. We'd love to speak to you in more detail about your feedback, we have sent you a message via Trip Advisor hopefully this has been received. We are looking forward to speaking with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We called in to this venue last weekend on Sunday. On walking in we were faced by a rather brusque young lady asking if she could help but in a rather hostile way. When I walked towards the bar I was told that everything was waiter served and did we have a reservation. We were found a table and then had to wait ten minutes for a drinks and food order to be taken and another ten minutes for the drinks to arrive. The food did arrive soon afterwards and was reasonable though if not a little expensive for what it was. We both had their Sunday roast. I had pork and my wife beef. When the waiter enquired if everything was ok I mentioned the beef was tough and instead of an apology was told that this could happen with beef. Not if you use the right butcher we said. No apology from him so we paid the bill and left. We will not be returning. Overall feeling was that it was a little pretentious for what it was

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe C, Smugglers Inn at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear David, Thank you for your entry onto Trip Advisor about your visit to The Smugglers and I am sorry you had such a poor experience. There are no excuses for rudeness nor putting things right when Guests are unhappy with a meal and I am sorry this happened. As a direct result of your valued feedback, we have shared your experience with the Team who were working to ensure we learn from it. I would like to reassure you that your experience is rare given the feedback we receive from Guests both at The Brewery and on Trip Advisor but we are not complacent and always strive to improve. I am sad you have stated you will never return and only hope you will reconsider in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just back from our usual annual 2 night stay and can't speak highly enough about the staff and facilities at the Smugglers. Food as always is good with a great selection of decent beers and a nice 'specials' board. The winner however is the staff and the location which makes a stay here a must if you like the best of proper English hospitality in a special location. We'll be back

Room Tip: We always ask for 5 & 6 at the front but all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed over for christmas eve for three nights we have stayed here a few times before and it just seems to get better.
The food and all the staff were really good and could not do enough for you.
Cannot wait to go back again many thanks the burlings.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank batemoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

A quaint, cosy thatched pub on clifftop with breathtaking views out to Portland.
A must visit if you're on holiday nearby. Rooms available as well.
Stream running through which leads down to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We had been here a few times and everytime has been very good. Great service, clean, lovely atmosphere, beautiful location, delicious food and very good value for money. Dogs are welcome too. We will revisit many times i think!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boogeymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmington Mills
5.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
483 reviews
14 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
984 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
10.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
292 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smuggler's Inn

Address: Osmington, Osmington Mills, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Osmington Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Price Range: $81 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Smuggler's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smuggler`s Hotel Osmington Mills
Smugglers Hotel Osmington Mills
The Smuggler's Inn Osmington Mills, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing