We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”
Review of The Smuggler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smuggler's Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have just returned home from a long weekend in Weymouth, we try to incorporate our stay with a visit to the Smugglers Inn, on this visit we had some friends with us whom we had told that this was the place to eat - how wrong - standards have dropped drastically since our last visit in June - we were looking forward to having a Sunday roast beef, unfortunately all the beef had been sold, leaving just the chicken, we asked if the chicken was Free Range and locally sourced, the answer was NO - one of our party asked if the fish was locally sourced, answer again NO - it comes from New Zealand we were informed!! apparently the fish tasted similar to cod and was called Hokey - why when fish is landed locally? they list in their menu that Tanglefoot beer is used in the batter - but do not identify where the fish is sourced!! 'Hall and Woodhouse' should reprimanded over their clever wording on the menu -
In our opinion (my husband is a retired publican and our son owns a Free Range Butchers shop and catering business) the chicken had been frozen was dry, stringy, tasteless and over cooked - anther of our party had the gammon, again dry and overcooked, my husband chose the smoked haddock with potato wedges (3 potato wedges in fact!) Our waiter was sympathetic and deducted the chicken from our bill, we were given a discount voucher off of our next visit, although accepted I doubt very much if we will return to this picturesque pub, in fact we left and went to another pub for our dessert and coffee, the pub was called the Spice Ship and decided to return for a meal which we would recommend - fresh local produce used!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oak-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    104
    59
    45
    38
See reviews for
140
179
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taunton , Somerset
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stopped off here on our way to Lulworth. the beer was nice and the staff friendly but the food was ordinary and I could scarcely see my salad accompaniment to my baguette !
I have known this pub for many years and it is fine if you accept it for what it is but may nicer places around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had read various reviews detailing how good the Smugglers Inn was, at the rental cottage we stayed in. To start it should be noted that if arriving by car you have to pay a minimum £5.00 fee, which is then deducted from the bill provided you spend more than £15.00. This is more a bar, which is part of a very large restaurant, so if only going for a drink you may be dissapointed with the ambiance. We arrived at 6.00pm and it was fairly quiet. We had a friendly welcome and as it was a Thursday evening a choice of where to sit. The service throughout was discreet but very good. The manager would do well to have more staff as by 7.00pm it had become very busy. Food was adequate, my fish and chips was no where near chip shop standard. My wife had the pie which was hot and tasty. The over-riding impression is that the food is produced in a very busy kitchen, and seems to be prepared in advance. If this is untrue I apologise but that was the impression. It also arrived far too quickly for anything other than being heated up. Drinks were good, local beer served correctly and tasted good. Trading standards might question why glasses were not filled to the top though. Prices are not too dissimilar to those where we are in Surrey, so its not cheap. Overall impression is that this is a place trading on its charm, location and ability to keep most of the people happy most of the time. I would be very wary of coming here on a busy day in the summer! My advice is give it a try, they are working to a business formula, but don't ignore some of the more out of the way local pubs as well. Must mention again that the service we received was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_300606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had lunch at the Smuggler's Inn and was pleasantly surprised at the excellent quality and the speed of service.
Would definately recommend for others and will return when next in the area.
The garden area has a plentiful supply of tables for outdoor eating, and there are also tables inside if the weather is not so good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Down a remote country lane you arrive in a car park on the cliffs overlooking Weymouth Bay. So this is an exceptionally scenic place for lunch. We went in bad weather and had fortunately pre-booked, since the pub was very full, but the staff were really friendly and efficient at looking after us. The food was high standard pub grub: we had excellent fish and chips. The place is part of the Badger Beers brewery chain, so the beer is first rate. Useful to know: there is a charge up front for car parking, but customers get this back as a reduction from their bill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelN16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, somerset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Have been to the Smugglers Inn a few times over the years. Lovely location. Good parking. And nowadays the food is excellent. Great choice, nicely presented, good quality, helpful staff. We couldn't fault them. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Despite the various negative reviews that have been published on Trip Adviser we visited the pub as a family with a little one on a busy Sunday lunch time in September. The service was excellent as was the food and there were ample staff around to serve etc contrary to other reviews.

We did not stay here but the food was excellent and they do take bookings. Even though it is remote I would recommend you book and don't jut turn up on spec as other reviewers seem to have done.

The location is also amazing and well worth a walk along the coastal path in either direction.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmington Mills
5.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
443 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,009 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
14.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
919 reviews
7.4 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smuggler's Inn

Property: The Smuggler's Inn
Address: Osmington, Osmington Mills, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Osmington Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Smuggler's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smuggler`s Hotel Osmington Mills
Smugglers Hotel Osmington Mills
The Smuggler's Inn Osmington Mills, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing