We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of The Smuggler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smuggler's Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

It's been a year or so since our last visit and it has improved. The menu has improved and so as the ambience. Only had lunch but it was nice. Crab cakes were Yummy and other half had a baguette. Reasonable prices and it was busy. Remember you have to pay £5 parking and you get refunded if you spend £15. Wasn't disappointed and enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank partonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 488 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Went there Sat 20/10/2012 with friends.
The first thing I noticed was all the cars parked on the road leading up to the Smugglers and when we got to the car park we found the reason why, they have introduced a £5.00 car parking charge which is not a problem as it is refunded if you spend over £15.00 in the pub.
We went to the bar for drinks 2 bar staff on and one customer over 6 mins later we were served first round came to over £22.00 I handed over the receipt for the car parking to be told he could not do it we had to order food.
We just wanted a snack so we ordered the following 1 baked potato which was not cooked and left after one mouthful. 2 sandwiches bread was not fresh and both left 1 ham bubble and squeak this was just warm.
I went to the bar and ordered another round of drinks and had to wait another 5/6 mins when again only one customer being served.
Asked for the bill and said not happy with the food and explained they knocked off one starter.
I would be interested if I get a reply as we are regulars here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We are a group of two adults and two children, we arrived late afternoon and were greeted and served by attentive and friendly staff. The food was served in good time and was hot and tasty.
Great experience and thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My family and I came for a meal during our stay in the area the w/b 15.9.12. As there was seven of us we had to book which wasn't a problem, We received exellent service and the food was of a good quality and good value for money.
A very enjoyable evening was had by all! I can definately recommend the Dorset Apple Cake which was delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 503790Angelica2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very familiar with this place as it is on the coastal path walk. Always been good, warm & friendly & this visit was no exception. Everyone was wonderful. It was cascading with rain & to run in as the fire was lit was a dream on a day like this. I read the food reviews though. I too, now have too (sadly) add to 'that side' of this wonderful place. I ordered the gourmet burger & the waitress dropped the meal as she approached our table. Absolutely apologetic & said they would cook another one immediately. Some three minutes later another one came & she said how "lucky I was" as someone else had ordered one but cancelled therefore, I could have it instead. There were not enough people in to order that meal & we know it would have been just 'brushed off' & just sent back out. What do you do? Read all the reviews. This will always be good because of the location but they should not treat folk as morons. As if we didn't know? Very naughty!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xanthe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We Stayed here for our wedding anniversary and was met with a very warm and friendly atmosphere, We stayed in room 5 which was a quaint little room very clean and comfy, the gentlemen who booked us in and took us to our room was very friendly, we had a table booked for the evening and were sat in a very cosy part of the pub and enjoyed excellent food and exceptional service through out the night. In the evening the floor supervisor came and spoke to us which was nice, he also served us during our meal with another very polite young lady. The staff with out a doubt are a credit to the business and we would definitely return and recommend the pub to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clari-Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by member of staff and shown to our room. The room was very clean and comfortable.
We had evening meal which was superb and reasonably priced. the staff were very polite and friendly and extremely efficient.
I would also highly recommend the Badger Ale an excellent pint.
The Inn is set in charming surroundings within yards of the Sea and lovely Coastal walks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papillonColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmington Mills
5.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
478 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
6.2 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,114 reviews
14.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
975 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smuggler's Inn

Address: Osmington, Osmington Mills, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Osmington Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Price Range: $78 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Smuggler's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smuggler`s Hotel Osmington Mills
Smugglers Hotel Osmington Mills
The Smuggler's Inn Osmington Mills, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing