We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the area”
Review of The Smuggler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smuggler's Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Dogs and children welcomed in this cosy watering hole! Food was delicious and menu was varied and reasonably priced by local standards. It's a lovely place in an idyllic setting-it gets busy so I'd advise booking-don't forget your fiver for the car park too (this does get refunded by the pub). The HB (Hofbrauhaus) German Beer was amazing too! The only real let downs were that it was a little cramped-due to it being busy I guess-this is the only thing that's stopped it from getting 5 stars!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank craigybabyCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 495 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

Being local, we have previously been here and received great service and good food. However, this visit, we asked for a mineral water without ice and lemon, when it arrived it had ice and lemon in it. The special was a grilled lemon sole with a tomato sauce on it. I asked for the sole without the tomato sauce. When it arrived, it had the sauce on it. When it came back the second time, it looked insipid and tasted the same. It hadn't been near the grill. In the mean time, my family had finished their meals. To be fair, the manager was apologetic and accommodating, but so disappointing I had to eat solo....

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Monkeyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stopped for a B&B on the Jurassic Way. A superb location on the walk itself. At the end of a long day was a welcome break. The bedroom was neat and practical and just what we needed. We were the only guests and were alone for breakfast which was provided by a very pleasant female member of staff. The Inn has that 'old world' atmosphere with an open fire to boot. One of the better stops on our walk. HIghly recommended and we would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The fishcakes should have been renamed, breadcrumbed potato patties. The chicken wings were ridiculously tiny, part wings, and for £8.95, a scandal if you ask me. The girl serving was nice and friendly but the food really let the place down. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We often drink here, however we have stopped eating at the Smugglers so often as the menu never seems to change. i suspect this is because of the need to get food out quickly - a campsite full of families is up the road in the summer - and a more complicated menu would hold things up?
Perhaps in the winter H&W could be a bit more adventurous with the menu.....

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodlover98London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Smuggler's Inn could not be in a more picturesque location and is an ideal base for a walking weekend.
The pub itself is delightful with friendly staff and decent food but the B&B part of the pub is a different story.
The rooms were grubby and very dusty and the noise of the extractor fan went on all night!
The breakfast was adequate if on the small side, there was no fruit, muffins or pastries all of which you would expect for the price.
The pub is lovely and I will certainly be visiting it again but the B&B is like an afterthought that no one takes pride in.

Room Tip: Enjoy the beautiful setting of the pub but find another B&B!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisewright8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We chose The Smuggler's as it's right on the South West Coastal Path and an ideal base for walking. The welcome was warm and friendly and the room clean and quite spacious. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and thought the food was good quality and reasonably priced. Breakfast on the first morning was OK, but the scrambled eggs were very over cooked; we opted for poached eggs the second morning and they were fine. Quality beer in the bar from Hall & Woodhouse provides an excellent end to a day's walking :-)

The walk from Osmington Mills to Lulworth Cove is excellent, returning via the higher route along the ridge. A nice day's walk with another Hall & Woodhouse pub in Lulworth Cove for a lunch break!

Overall a great stay and have no hessitation in returning or recommending. I imagine the bar and restaurant gets very busy in the summer months due to the nearby holiday homes and cabins.

Room Tip: Room 2 was quite spacious. The bath was small but adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmington Mills
5.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
482 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,122 reviews
14 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
292 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
640 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smuggler's Inn

Address: Osmington, Osmington Mills, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Osmington Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Price Range: $80 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Smuggler's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smuggler`s Hotel Osmington Mills
Smugglers Hotel Osmington Mills
The Smuggler's Inn Osmington Mills, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing