We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

The Bluefish Cafe and Restaurant
Price range: $20 - $79
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for an evening meal after reading great reviews. Was a bit dubious as they were still serving a set valentines meal but this was soon forgotten! The food was incredible, really interesting and unusual dishes to choose from. The pudding platter was beyond words. £70 for 4 courses with drinks for 2 people but worth every penny. Service was really friendly but don't go for fast food, you are given plenty of time for each course to go down. All part of the experience, eating that much food really is a whole evening activity!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    30
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A special place”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is the first time to ever write a review for tripadvisor but this little gem deserves recognition. We have just had an impromptu amazing lunch. Best mackerel ever. Welcoming atmosphere and wonderful staff. Looking forward already to our next visit. Linda and Tim Dorset

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What eating out is all about”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Mrs S and I enjoyed a fabulous meal on Saturday night. The food really couldn't be faulted and we ended up being the last customers in the joint, enjoying a closing time glass of the good stuff and some lively stories with the effervescent Luciano and his lovely wife Jo. I'd struggle to recommend a more welcoming restaurant. What a find, we'll be going back soon and we strongly suggest that you do too. £70 for three courses each, including a good bottle of vino.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Possibly my most enjoyable lunch meal ever!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Called in with fellow scuba diver just before Christmas & at 2:15.
Warmly greeted in charming restaurant which was beautifully decorated for Christmas.
My friend & I shared the platter for starter with homemade humous, pesto, olives, chicken & flat breads then wow... Squid ink risotto with salad served with a ginger dressing & all washed down with amazing White House wine.
Chef.came out & chatted & we even went away with menus, a recipe & some squid ink to try our own risotto.
I've told all my friends about this place, but hope it won't get too busy as will definitely go whenever I can. I have attached link to their sample lunch menu to whet your appetites....
http://thebluefishrestaurant.com/images/Menus/LUNCH%20PORTRAIT_Layout%201.pdf

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona_Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice treat once in a while.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went to this place with a larger group of people, for a farewell dinnner before leaving Weymouth. This is one of the priciest places in the Weymouth-Portland area. However, the food is more eclectic and creative then in most of the other restaurants in the area. All our meals were well prepared, nicely presented and very tasty. Atmosphere is pleasant and almost elegant. I would go there again, for a special occasion.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank culinari0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bluefish Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

Isle of Portland, Dorset
Isle of Portland, Dorset
 
Isle of Portland, Dorset
Isle of Portland, Dorset
 

Been to The Bluefish Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing