We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely family holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Safe walled garden with plenty of secure parking Spread over 3 storeys, with wooden floors throughout, the house has a contemporary feel
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Safe walled garden with plenty of secure parking
Spread over 3 storeys, with wooden floors throughout, the house has a contemporary feel
Very large family bathroom with corner bath and a shower over and stunning sea views
Private safe, sunny, and secure garden
The front elevation
Most of the windows have rural and sea views overlooking the Dorset Jurassic Coast
The coastline is amazing!
All around Portland there are amazing views
The famous Chesil Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Isle of Portland, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LyndsJ
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely family holiday”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We visited Portland to celebrate my dads 60th birthday and it had everything we needed for our family. Lovely house, large rooms and the transport links were great. We got the bus to various places in Portland and Weymouth it stopped just outside the house and ran every 5-10 minutes.

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the house worked well for you.
Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirstie C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Quarries Reach is a lovely house, clean, extremely well equipped everything you could possibly need. Will definitely return.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2015
Thank you for the review and I am so glad you liked the house. I look forward to welcoming you to Portland again in the future. Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This is a great place to stay and explore the rest of Portland. Facilities are fantastic at the house, a very good kitchen and separate dining room on ground floor. First floor is the living room which gives the benefit of the view and is very comfortable. Portland Bill is within walking distance and there is 1 pub within easy walking distance. There are a few other pubs on the island but a very short car journey are needed for these unless you are a walker or cyclist. I recommend the Cove House Inn at Chiswell but booking is advised, very friendly, good food and 3 real ales. We really enjoyed our stay and would return again.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2015
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the house and your time on Portland. I look forward to welcoming you again to Quarries Reach. Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine...
Malaga, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed December 25, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We have just stayed here in the run up to Christmas and what can we say about this perfect 'home from home'? There is nothing we could add to improve on this lovely house. Everything is here for your comfort and enjoyment. To top it all, Deborah is THE most perfect owner and nothing is ever too much trouble. She is very easy and amenable to speak with and when there was a slight problem with the boiler it was fixed the same day, even though she was away from the island at the time, it was all taken care of. The views from the middle floor are stunning and the beds are so comfortable. We will definitely be returning (if dates are available) although we have already booked with Deborah's other property in Fortuneswell for May of 2015 and we just know we will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2014
That's a great review, thank you, and we're so glad you enjoyed staying at Quarries Reach. Thanks also for leaving the house so tidy and clean, we really appreciated that. We look forward to welcoming you again in May. Happy New Year Deborah & Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon F
Selborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Little Gem with great facilities”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This house does not disappoint. Very spacious and well equipped, Deborah the owner has thought of everything. On arrival the property was spotlessly clean and very welcoming. We only stayed for three nights but wished it was longer. The hundred pound damage fee was back in our account the evening we got home.
Great and fast wi-fi which pleased my teenage sons. The surrounding are was lovelly, a visit to Portland Bill is a must. Near the time of your arrival deborah sends out all the travel details along with information on restaurants etc..
Great property, great island. Would return again

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and facilities
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2014
Thank you for the review and I am so glad you enjoyed the area, we would love to welcome you if you would like to come and stay again. Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abura2014
Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent house dan pleasant stay”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We (7 family members) arrived to a great house, with ample parking space for our large MPV, clean and comfortable bedrooms, excellent bath and shower rooms as well as a spotless and well-equipped kitchen. This is our first time to Weymouth and would have stayed longer if time was permissible. Very good value for money. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed the house and the area, thank you for the review. Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam S
uk
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A perfect base”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just returned from a short break in Portland, staying at Qaurries Reach.
We loved the house. It had everything we could possibly need. It was the perfect base for us to explore the local area, and a lovely place to come back to in the evening.
Clean, tidy and welcoming - we would stay there again!

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2014
Thank you for the review I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing