We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super house in great Portland location”
other travelers have booked this property
Large balcony overlooking the sea with a view of 180 degrees
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large balcony overlooking the sea with a view of 180 degrees
The sunsets from the balcony and the lounge are amazing Amazing sunsets from the balcony!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Large balcony overlooking the sea with a view of 180 degrees
The sunsets from the balcony and the lounge are amazing
Amazing sunsets from the balcony!
Large lounge/dining room with double aspect and views of the sea
Bathroom with bath & separate shower + another shower room on ground floor with separate loo
Fully fitted kitchen, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, double oven, microwave etc
Complimentary BT Infinity wifi, Freesat TV, DVD player and stereo with ipod docking station
Beds are 5ft zip-link and can be made up as twins or king-size doubles
Spacious lounge/dining room plenty of storage
Alfresco dining on the beautiful sunny balcony
Bedrooms are large double rooms
Crisp white cotton bed linen and fluffy white towels
Large family bathroom with separate shower and bath
As well as the balcony at the top of the house there is a sunny decking area on the ground floor
Cosy, comfy lounge area
Master bedroom has patio doors opening directly onto the large sunny balcony and a private bathroom
And the sunsets are all SO different!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Isle of Portland, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah1052
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super house in great Portland location”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed as a family (3 couples and a teen) and there was plenty of space. The location is great. Beach is a good 'walk the dinner off' distance away. Pubs and shops nearby, free parking. The house was in really good order and amply equipped for 7. The photos are accurate and if anything, don't do the place justice. And the view from the balcony is wonderful. Great value for money compared to similar properties in nearby Weymouth. Taxis are a tenner a time into town.
Deborah made light work of the booking arrangements - everything was sent out in plenty of time and our deposit was returned really quickly.
Highly recommend this property for anyone looking for a family break in the area. Fit legs are useful though!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the house worked well for you. You were excellent guests, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suebaxter...
burnley
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely ,lovely,lovely”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Excellent location in a beautiful part of England.Loads of things to do locally and Portland itself is very interesting to discover.The house is gorgeous and we had amazing weather which always helps.Sea views are fabulous and the balcony is as well.Watching sunsets and moon rising over the sea is lovely-lovely-lovely! The house is huge and very comfortable-easily accommodated 8 of us-all teenagers and adults. Usually we go abroad but I am so glad we stayed here this year, The house is also very clean and made for a very easy holiday I would recommend this home to anyone -you do feel as if you have been in a home not a rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
Thank you for the great review. I am so glad you had a great time and enjoyed the house. Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
571deejay
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Cosy home from home cottage with glorious sea views”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Deborah delivered a first class service from the time of booking , immediate replies, texting me to say cottage was ready earlier on our arrival date and prompt return of our deposit on our return, much appreciated.
The property was clean , tidy and spacious for the two of us with all home comforts we needed for a relaxed holiday. The views from the top bedroom balcony are a real treat , especially the beautiful sunsets.
With the property being on a main road through Portland it offered easy access to all areas of interest, coastal and countryside. There is small Co op store , fish and chip shop and Boots pharmacy a short walk away.
As a guide though , there are three flights of stairs within the property so if you're less mobile it's not the property for you, though it offers great exercise and the balcony on top level is not to be missed. The road outside can be rather noisy at times with traffic etc, however it does become a background noise and it stops late evening.
Great property for price (as we received a 50% discount as only two of us) with everything you need to explore the beautiful Jurassic coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous sea views
Liked least: Noisy road
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that the house was good for you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicgiblin
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful views in a very spacious, clean house”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 children under 10) stayed for 2 nights to celebrate hubbies 40th bday. The house was easy to find and the children were very pleased with all the stairs although not good for anyone with mobility issues or very small children. The house was very clean with everything we needed and the beds were all comfy. It is on a busy road but the noise did not disturb us at all. The view from the balcony was beautiful and made the weekend seem more of a special treat than a standard stay in a b & b. Communication with the owners was excellent and I would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2015
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to use the balcony due to the lovely weather.
Thank you for leaving the house so clean and tidy, much appreciated. Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerdsmanE...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glorious”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a lovely time here,the house was so clean and tidy,the rooms were large and the view from the balcony unmissable,only one little niggle there was not 1 clock in the whole house which we found odd as I thought that would be a basic piece of kit,apart from that we can't praise it enough,will definetly be staying again,the stairs certainly keep you fit,it can be a bit of a balancing act to get your dinner up to the dining room or even the balcony but managed by balancing the tray on one arm and holding onto the banister.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2015
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you are thinking of returning. There are clocks on the stereo and kitchen appliances but thank you for the feedback and we will add another to the contents. Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawschelt
Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in the house for 4 nights. It is in a great location for Weymouth and exploring Portland. The house was well equipped and spacious. The view from the balcony especially of the sunset are fab. I am sure we will stay again.

The only thing I would say is the house isn't suitable for people who don't like stairs as there are quite a few.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2015
I am so glad you enjoyed the house and managed to see a sunset from the balcony despite the awful weather!!
Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a wonderful find this house was :) We stayed for a week with our small toddler to visit family in nearby Weymouth and have a week relaxing by the sea. The house is a VERY generous size and beautifully presented. Booking and checking in was all very stress free and everything we needed for our stay was at the house (we even took advantage of the board games there!)
Wonderfully clean throughout and only a short drive to many lovely spots in Dorset. The house is on a busy road but we didn't notice any noise in the evenings because we used the back bedrooms that face the sea (a great view in the morning!)
Very comfortable and the balcony looking out to the sea from the bedroom is worth every penny.
Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2015
Thank you for the great review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I am wondering why you headed the review "miss" though! Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing