We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first class hotel in every respect.”
Review of The Heights Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Heights Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A first class hotel in every respect.”
Reviewed April 13, 2010

The views from the bar/bistro are exceptional. The hotel was everything you would want it to be. The food was excellent (wide choice and superbly cooked). The staff were extremely friendly and efficient. Portland, itself, is great with excellent walks and superb views. We had the bonus of exceptional weather. All in all we had a fantastic long weekend! Would certainly go again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    227
    121
    50
    19
See reviews for
103
327
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We went on a spring offer break with our 3 month old baby. We were advised to have a family to accomodate the cot. the room was spacious, clean, well decorated and quiet. Breakfast is served in the restaurant buffet syle, which was well cooked and the staff very friendly. The views from the bistro are spectacular across Chesil Beach and weymouth. Th bistro is pricey, but well worth it for a special treat. The gym facilities are also great. It is a shame that there is no indoor pool (the oudoor one was closed due to time of year). Overall an enjoyable break.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

a real gem of a hotel our room was large bright and cheerfull spotlessley clean had a good couple of nights sleep nice and quite and comfy bed.
food in the bistro was wonderfull along with the staff al very freindly made us feel very welcome.
After a very long walk to the lighthouse I had a nice pedicure in the beauty salon no appointment needed.
All in all a wonderfull stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmagoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Stayed for two nights over the New Year in a superior room, which was reasonable size as was the bathroom, decor a bit dark and not quite to my taste, but the room was clean and tidy. The food in the restaurant was reasonable although a little pricey. Staff throughout were helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyboyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2009

I really enjoyed my 2 night stay at The Heights, the breakfast was particularly good. Surrounded by amazing views and stunning scenery i think this hotel is very good value for money and my 19 year-old enjoyed the bar and steam room in particular.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianjulianjulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colly11
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Spectacular views in the setting sun, overlooking the Causeway whilst sipping Cocktails on the patio, coupled with friendly, efficient service & smart, clean tidy rooms, with the additional bonus of an outdoor pool if the weather is right; made me extend my night's stay to two nights.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

I stayed here on a short break with my husband and young children in early September. The views from this hotel are amazing. The service was lovely and the staff were very helpful with the children. Breakfast was fantastic.

The attitude of the staff was very relaxed which really helped us to relax with the children. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a mini break with a young family.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Portland
4.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
5.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,040 reviews
6.4 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
889 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
268 reviews
24.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel

Property: The Heights Hotel
Address: Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the summit of the Isle of Portland with panoramic sea and coastal views from our Bar, Bistro and Coffee shop over Chesil Beach, the World Heritage coast and the 2012 Olympic sailing venue of Portland Harbour and Lyme Bay. 5 miles from the seaside town of Weymouth. 66 en suite bedrooms with a choice of Classic or Deluxe. Family rooms and easy access rooms available. On-site Gym, meeting rooms and business services. Special interest breaks, birdwatching, flora & fauna etc. Ample free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland
The Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing