We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be warned...”
Review of The Heights Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Heights Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I felt cheated when I saw this hotel having paid £120 for one night. What the website photos don't show you is that only some of the bedrooms are plush, ours was ok but there was rust on the radiator and towel rail in the bathroom and stains down the walls. The hotel interior is simply dreadful. From the artex walls to the hospital canteen like "bistro". £60 would have been enough. We ate out at an Italian in Weymouth called Enzos which was great. The hotel pool is closed, crazy??!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrapster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesOffice382, Customer Relations at The Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback and always strive to improve the service to our guests.

We would like to respond to some of your concerns. Although our hotel was built in the 60s this is the way it was designed to take in the breath taking views of Lyme bay, this at times has its draw backs due to the severe weather that we get and sometimes takes a toll on the building.

Maintenance was mentioned and here at The Heights we take this seriously, and are working with our maintenance team to resolve the issues you have mentioned.

With regards to the room rate, we do offer a selection of rates. Our internet prices are always the best available, and are covered by our ‘Best Price Guarantee’. We would always recommend booking via our own website, rather than a third party, to ensure the best rate is given at the time of booking. Booking via our own website also offers lucky ‘Great Rate’ prices too, which are bargain breaks at certain times of the year. Definitely something to look out for. These rates are limited, and subject to availability. When they’re gone – they’re gone!

Our swimming pool has now been closed, to make room for some great new outdoor improvements, coming soon.

Thanks again for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Customer relations, Heights Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 647 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Paid £110 for a small double - only stayed as we were attending a party nearby and wanted to make a weekend of it. Small room with cramped bathroom, no shampoo - just 2 shower gels. Everything was in there - just all small. the hairdryer was only suitable for a mouse it was so small.
The view was spectacular so I guess this is what you pay for. Drinks in the bar were approx. £4 each whatever you had. Didn't eat dinner here as we had the party, but breakfast was good and plentiful. At £55 per head for a room less equipped than a premier inn - I would say avoid.
there was no outdoor space to sit and the pool was shut - so poor value for money.
Enjoy the view and then stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesOffice382, Customer Relations at The Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback and always strive to improve the service to our guests.

We were sorry to read your comments regarding your room size. We do have a selection of different room types and sizes. Most of which are allocated specifically to the type of room that was booked at the time of payment. Subject to availability, we are always happy to help guests move to another room in the hotel if they feel that the room they have doesn’t quite meet their individual circumstances. However, on this occasion it would appear that this did not happen and for that, we can only apologise. You mentioned bathroom essentials. These are available at reception should they be required.

With regards to the room rate, we do offer a selection of rates. Our internet prices are always the best available, and are covered by our ‘Best Price Guarantee’. We would always recommend booking via our own website, rather than a third party, to ensure the best rate is given at the time of booking. Booking via our own website also offers lucky ‘Great Rate’ prices too, which are bargain breaks at certain times of the year. Definitely something to look out for. These rates are limited, and subject to availability. When they’re gone – they’re gone!

Our swimming pool has now been closed, to make room for some great new outdoor improvements, coming soon.

Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We traveled all the way from London, and I must say that is worth the journey! The views are spectacular, we were siting in the hotel restaurant overlooking the coast and the sunset! The food is ok and the staff very helpful! I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Thank you to the Heights for a superb stay. I can thoroughly recommend the afternoon tea and the extensive buffet breakfast, with poached eggs and haddock cooked to order. The view from the hotel restaurant is stunning. On the busy weekend mornings it was a rush to get a window table!
The staff were friendly and helpful, and we were given some discount enticements to return when we checked out......if my girlfriend has her way, we will be using them!

Room Tip: Go for larger double, we did, worth it. We had Room 230 - very pleasant and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryFacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed here for one night as the reviews suggested it was rather good. Subsequently we found out there are 2 tripadvisor listing for this hotel, we obviously looked at the one with the great reviews which seem to be mainly from people who have not had an evening meal or stayed overnight, rather those who had afternoon tea or went to the bar. the other listing tells a very different story. So i'm posting my review on both.

The views are stunning, what a selling point. The room was a bit of a let down, rotted sealent around the bath tub, leaking mixer tap, dripping water sound coming from the toilet systern, rattling pipe sound when someone somewhere turned a tap on and walls so paper thin I could hear every footstep and conversation in the hall ways as well as the person in the room next to us having a pee.

The staff are really friendly though and I do believe they genuinely care about what they are doing, all except the chef that is.

The Evening Meal:

Very busy Bistro, staff looked a little overwhelmed.

I had a bucket of mussels in white wine sauce, the portion size was huge, either they are in abundance on Portland, or the chef has no idea of portion control. They were so over cooked they had the texture of rubber. The cream sauce was thick and more like soft cheese.

I was surprised to see on here a review from 2010 that exactly describes the dish as overcooked and sauce like cheese. Does the chef not take feedback and seek to improve his dishes, is the sauce out of a bag and been in use for 4 years, is the chef simply untrained/ inexperienced, or just down right arrogant that he doesn't give a toss.

My wife had the seafood linguini, this was quite the opposite in portion size, it had 1 scallop and 5 prawns and a heap of stodgy overcooked pasta, missing some of the other advertised seafoods. The prawns tasted like they had been boiled and were again like rubber.

There was a table next to us kicking off about the food quality, so it wasn't just our dishes that were poor.

The breakfast next day wasn't much better, slightly undercooked pink in the middle sausages.

This is a great place to have a brew or a beer and admire the view of an evening, but certainly not worth over £100 a night for a room and breakfast.

I feel sorry for the dining/ bar staff and the reception staff who are obviously passionate about their work.

If I were the owner/ management, I'd give the chef his marching orders. Shameful dishes like those served belong in the bin, not served to customers, what an insult to catering.

Room Tip: Don't eat here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HellsKitchen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Had a weekend stay here and you cant beat the view
Found all the staff pleasant and helpful and the restaurant was good value and not expensive
The only downsides were the bedrooms were quite small and the hotel is ugly!!!

Room Tip: If you are a keen walker like us if you leave the hotel and walk about 200 yards down the hill to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

...but for two reasons. Firstly, if I tell you it's perfect, you'll go there, won't you? And then demand will rise, as will the prices, and availability will fall when WE want to go back!
When we booked, I was looking for a relaxing stay in peaceful surroundings, where we could see the sea from the hotel. I could not have chosen better. The panoramic view of the sea and Dorset coastline ticked the box to overflowing point - even better that the designers saved this view for the restaurant and bar, and didn't keep it for those paying extra for a sea view. The location is also perfect for getting around/walking the island and getting to the mainland. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful.
The buffet breakfast had everything you could wish for - fruit, yogurt, cereals, croissants - and the hot food that just isn't the same abroad. We didn't need lunch - but we did sample the Afternoon Tea, available to non-residents as well, and we thought that was good value for money.
Our room was comfortable and spacious - everything clean and tastefully furnished.

So yes, I would like to say it's perfect but - the second reason that it's not? The mugs in the rooms have the oddest "upside down" handles (must've been either a cheap job lot or a joke) that make them uncomfortable to hold, so if you do stay there, grab a mug from the restaurant at breakfast.

But you're not going to go, are you? You're going to leave room for us to go back......

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pollystar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Portland
4.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
6.2 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
499 reviews
5.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
511 reviews
10.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester
Premier Inn Dorchester
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
978 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel

Address: Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Portland
Price Range: $94 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the summit of the Isle of Portland with panoramic sea and coastal views from our Bar, Bistro and Coffee shop over Chesil Beach, the World Heritage coast and the 2012 Olympic sailing venue of Portland Harbour and Lyme Bay. 5 miles from the seaside town of Weymouth. 66 en suite bedrooms with a choice of Classic or Deluxe. Family rooms and easy access rooms available. On-site Gym, meeting rooms and business services. Special interest breaks, birdwatching, flora & fauna etc. Ample free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland
The Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing