We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The great view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Heights Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Heights Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Khartoum
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The great view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

While driving through the hill top in Portland had some coffee and snacks. It was very good. The ice cream was served on a plate with an emblem of Olympic rings by powdered sugar. The interwoven rings were a surprise for us. On our inquiry the chef came all the way to our table and shown us how he made it. I will always remember this extra mile done by this restaurant. I will visit again there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkhegde11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    218
    117
    46
    19
See reviews for
94
314
19
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 3 night break at the heights hotel, portland.
The location is surperb with lots of coastal walks nearby.
The Bistro restaurant was perfect with amazing views. The food was of an excellent standard at a very reasonable price, I highly reccommend the chowder!!!
The room was a decent size and very clean, the bathroom was a bit on the dark side which my husband said made shaving difficult but that was the only negative thing about the whole stay.
The staff were all really friendly and helpful and a special mention must go to kara in the bar who remembered us (and our drinks!) each evening and always took the time to talk to us each evening and ask us how our day was. She really is an asset to the hotel and helped make our stay even more special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
636 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is situated on top on the hill overlooking the causeway, weymouth & Portland Harbour. The hotel does not have a great appearance from the the outside (looks very functional & the interior decor is v 1980's). Once inside there is a large spacious reception and lounge area, outdorr pool with a chessboard!

Bedrooms were good side although a bit dark. Bathrooms as epxected.

In the reception it has a sea view and the food is excellent.

There is ample parking

Room Tip: As for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stumpy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Wonderful location on top of Portland hill - the view from the Bistro over Weymouth harbour and Chesil Beach is knockout. Our room was great, quiet and relaxing. A sheet and blanket on the bed was just right for me (can't stand duvets as they are always too warm for me and not adjustable). We didn't have time to sample the open air pool and chess or leisure and beauty facilities, but we will next time! The staff were excellent, the menu great and the food terrific.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surferboi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were in a deluxe room which was pleasant and comfortable, but compared to a recent stay in a Holiday Inn it didn't seem particularly good value and was let down but niggling details...
Toiletries not fully replenished daily
Had to ask for more toilet roll
Non slip mat in bath blocked plug hole (not helpful when showering)
Green & Blacks chocolate replaced by Cadbury's
Not enough sachets of coffee
Nice fruit bowl, but no knife to cut/peel with
Two upright chairs at small round table (too small for 2 laptops to share) but no comfy chairs to sit and relax/watch TV/etc.
Outlook from restaurant is fantastic - Portland Harbour, Chesil Beach - you can see for miles - outlook from room was shabby garage across the road.
Most of breakfast was fine though sausages poor on one day and toast variable in quantity and quality from day to day.
We had booked bed & breakfast, with evening meal on first night. On checking out we were asked for the balance for dinner when we'd been told we could choose anything from the menu. (To be fair, they removed it from the bill, but we should have been properly informed).
My wife wanted a spa treatment (run independently but within hotel) but Reception didn't know (and there was no sign to tell her) that there were no treatments on Wednesdays.
Any one of these niggles on their own would have been no problem, but added together left a "so near, but yet so far" feeling.

Assistant Manager was very receptive to our comments and promised to take them to the General Manager.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms on ground floor are probably quieter than odd numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timsmithmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I booked a table for ten and asked for the table to be decorated. We do not decorate was the reply! Of the people that I spoke to all agreed that the food is both poor and pricy. I ate chowder which tasted good but was very dry, having been under heat lamps for too long, I guess. My neighbours at the table complained to me that the smoked salmon portions were mean and the fish main course was poorly cooked. I had gammon, which was reasonable then a cheesecake sweet which sounded great in the Menu, and although tasting lovely was tiny.The profitoroles were not subjected to lashings of chocolate as promised.After the bill had been paid, £255.00 we took group photos and moaned to each other about a poor meal.I am a Portlander and will not be going back there to eat. Mike S.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Booked this hotel at the last minute and it didn't disappoint. Stayed for two nights, only wished we had booked for longer. Decor in the room was a little dated, but comfortable and clean. Breakfast delicious! Staff very friendly. Great location, will definitely return again, hopefully later this year.

Room Tip: Great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cenhinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Portland
4.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
24.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
23.5 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
17.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel

Property: The Heights Hotel
Address: Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the summit of the Isle of Portland with panoramic sea and coastal views from our Bar, Bistro and Coffee shop over Chesil Beach, the World Heritage coast and the 2012 Olympic sailing venue of Portland Harbour and Lyme Bay. 5 miles from the seaside town of Weymouth. 66 en suite bedrooms with a choice of Classic or Deluxe. Family rooms and easy access rooms available. On-site Gym, meeting rooms and business services. Special interest breaks, birdwatching, flora & fauna etc. Ample free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland
The Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing