We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely clean spacious cottage with sea views”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Fishermans Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isle of Portland, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathryn65...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely clean spacious cottage with sea views”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We all loved Fishermans Cottage. It is light, airy and spotlessly clean! The cottage is in a quiet position set in a pretty garden with raised decking to give you a lovely sea view. The position on the island is good enabling an enjoyable walk to Portland Bill either by road or around the coastal path. It is only a few minutes drive from Tesco so you don't have to be too organised with shopping trips! Having three loos is a huge bonus and there is ample parking on the verge opposite the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sitting in the sun room when not warm enough to be in the garden
Liked least: baking pans a bit old - but we still managed to make our own cream tea!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly Mar...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed December 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Me & my partner stayed at the end of November for a week & loved every minute... Recently having talks of coming back due to loving the house so much. We have loved every minute. Thank you for lending us your beautiful house. We miss waking up to the sea views, the sun setting and sometimes the sun rising. Boats passing... We loved every minute. Thank you so much. Kelly & Matty

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akshay A
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful cottage and has very quiet and peaceful surroundings. Perfect for visiting Portland. The cottage is clean and has all the necessary amenities. We had a wonderful time there. All major places in Portland are very close by. I would definitely recommend to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mobile network problem, but nothing to do with the cottage.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley S
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Thanks to fellow TripAdvisor reviews we picked this cottage for a week in Portland. If I could give it 10 stars I would. It is the little things that matter, flowers in a vase, plants dotted around, tissues in almost every room, milk in the fridge....I could just go on. Exceptionally clean throughout and so roomy. Loved every second and will certainly go back. As for Portland itself, it is the jewel in Dorset's crown

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandomCoi...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Fishermans Cottage for 5 days and we had a great time.

The cottage was nice and clean. There were washer and dryer which made our lives much easier as we have been hiking everyday we were there and our clothes were covered with mud at the end of the hike.

Some reviewers think the location was a bit remote but we loved it. It is so close to the sea and the view is fantastic. If you have a car, it is actually quite convenient. It only takes 5 mins to drive to a Tesco superstore. And there are a lot of amazing trails we can explore within one hour drive.

Our only complaint is the cookware. The Teflon pans are small and really old, so as the bakeware. So, if you don't cook much, Fishermans Cottage would be the perfect place to stay for Portland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the cottage is cosy.
Liked least: The cookware
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent property, though a little remote for a family holiday”
Reviewed July 30, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This is an excellent property, nicely decorated with great sea views. All rooms clean and comfortable. A few very minor grips - a dustpan would've been helpful as would washing powder/liquid, the en suite shower wasn't great (the shower-head fell off mid-shower!) and some of the kitchen pans/baking trays are in need of replacement. The main problem for us though was the daily 20-30min drive to and from the mainland, which made getting to the beaches/shops at Weymouth a pain, and meant longer trips to get to local attractions. This wouldn't be a problem for people with no kids or grown-ups kids, but wasn't ideal with two young children. If the property was closer to the mainland, we would certainly consider visiting again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sea views and comfortable rooms
Liked least: Commute to Weymouth, lack of decent pans/baking trays
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 2, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved having a coastal view.
Liked least: Watch your head when you come downstairs!!!!
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing