We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm and comfortable cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rosa Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with  woodburning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Living room with  woodburning stove
Portland Jurassic coast
Enter a caption for your photo
the famous Portland Bill
Portland Bill
Chesil Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Isle of Portland, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RKC987
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm and comfortable cottage”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Warm and comfortable cottage. Everthing you need in an ideal location. Would use again if in the area

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
md.shaha...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We been there for couple of nights. Friendly Home owner came to check on arrival whether need any help or not?
Beautiful cottage to live but unfortunately no Microwave to heat food if you buying/taking pre cooked food with you.
Parking facilities is not great but can find near side roads.
Isle of Portland nice place to visit. Had a great time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2016
Glad to hear you had a good time and thank you for taking time to post a review. The microwave was recently burnt out so I will replace it now you have mentioned it. No other guests seemed to miss it. ....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cgabard
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a beautiful stay in this amazing cottage. The house was clean and beautifully decorated. Log burner was lovely and kept us toasty. Our little dog loved her stay too. We will be back - thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Z
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Me and my family (wife, 3 children and dog) absolutely loved this place, the cottage was perfect and the location is amazing. I would definitely recommend this cottage to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 16, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DrPeterDR...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage but parking is a problem”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Rosa Cottage is a lovely property in a fairly quiet residential street. Nicely furnished, high ceilings and plenty of space inside. the outside area is small, and surrounded by other properties, but probably nice during the summer. A bathroom blind, bath mat (the bath is dangerously slippery for showering without this - I fell over twice) and blind in the dining room are necessary additions. The bed in the front room seems to rest (unevenly) on half a divan unit. The location is excellent for exploring Portland, Weymouth and much of the Dorset Coast.

However, parking, (which is on the street), was hopeless. We managed to park outside during the middle of the afternoon to unload, but at all other times we ended up driving around the one way system at least twice, often three times just to find a space within reasonable walking distance. There are two public car parks at the top of the road, but these were full of residents cars as well most of the time. Not the property owners fault, but coming back after an evening meal and spending 20 minutes looking for somewhere to park is not acceptable - especially in such a hilly location making parking any distance away very difficult for accessibility.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2016
Hi Peter

Thank you for giving a review, and sorry this cottage did not meet your standards. To answer a few of your comments:
Bathroom does not need a blind, it's frosted glass. The dining room is not overlooked, it's a feature window and it would be a shame to cover it with a blind.
Most people can manage a shower without a slip-mat, even 5* hotels do not use these ugly things anymore.
Parking can be an issue in high season like Easter, but there is no need to do the one-way system as all roads here are free parking on roads, you are never more than max 5 min walk away from cottage parking in any of them. I live just 4 min walk away, so I do know. Regards Karin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissyK68
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday stay”
Reviewed February 4, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Love the character of Rosa cottage, & would definitely stay again & recommend to friends with dogs. & although not very cold out, we wanted to light the log burner which was a delight. Our two dogs loved it too. Had so many lovely walks. Local beach beautiful, but stony, pebbles are amazing! Although locally hilly, there are plenty of places a short car journey away that are more manageable. Weymouth is a must, beautiful sandy beach. Suitable for everyone. Dogs were In the sea everyday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing