We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house close to the pubs and costal walks”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rosa Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with  woodburning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Living room with  woodburning stove
Portland Jurassic coast
Enter a caption for your photo
the famous Portland Bill
Portland Bill
Chesil Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Isle of Portland, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
65Woody20...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house close to the pubs and costal walks”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Friendly owner who came and checked everything was ok.
Lovely spacious house for my family and dog.The house was very well equipped with comfi beds and a lovely living room. Felt more like visiting a friends house than a holiday let due to attention to decor.
There was a local coop and pub within a couple of hundred metres and less to the start of the coastal path.
Great location for walks around the Isle also easy 5 mile walk to Weymouth which has a lovely harbour.
Bottom line a very relaxing break even in the depths of winter

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wayneswor...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming cottage in Portland”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Despite the typical British weather we enjoyed our 3rd visit to Portland, staying at the charming Rosa Cottage. Based a short walk from Chesil Beach, and the local pubs and shops, Rosa Cottage is a great location for exploring Portland, and for us a base to cover the wider Dorset county. Parking was a bit of an issue, and was a lottery some evenings as to where we managed to park. Though no fault of the cottage owner, it would be best to be prepared for this should you need parking right outside every day. That said, it's a quiet street and it was no real issue. The rear garden is contained, with no views, but offers privacy and an area to dry washing etc. the cottage itself is full of charm, and the decor reminds you your by the sea. I would not recommend the stairs for anyone with small children as they are a little steep an bare wood, however they caused no problems for our 7 year old who loved his holiday home in Portland. One day we had a small issue with the boiler and the owner was very helpfull in getting the issue swiftly resolved. In summary, if you are looking for spacious accomodation, with charming features and giving you quick access to Portland the Rosa Cottage is likely for you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horndon-on-the-Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like a home not a holiday let !
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Simon K
Melton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice house but parking is an issue near to the house in July and can be noisy.”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Very nice terrace house tastefully decorated throughout. However parking near to the house was a major issue, we even one evening had to wait 15minutes for someone to leave the car park at the top of the road as we had exhausted all the street parking near by. Also the first night we realised there was a bolt missing from the main bed which then left it squeaking terribly every time you moved in bed. The door handle on the main bedroom door was hanging off. The bedrooms were too hot so we asked the owner if she had any fans only to be told sorry no you should leave the windows open and blinds down. When you left the windows opened you could hear the traffic. You would not be able to do this with young children as they only had wide openings. The owner dropped off a bag of screws and gave us some WD40 for the bed and said she may have to get a handyman in on the Saturday that we left. We go on holiday to relax not to have to fix things that are faulty before we arrive. We accept the owner would only know that the bed was faulty when someone told her but was disappointed with her responses for the door handle and no fans and surely the handyman could be brought in sooner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: liked the size of the property
Liked least: the main bed,parking was a nightmare
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobSwan57
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable & spacious”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We enjoyed a weekend break at Rosa Cottage with our daughter & the dogs. Loved pretty much everything about it. It's really well equipped and spacious, with tasteful decor. Would most definitely recommend, and Portland is a fascinating place to visit in any event

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: space
Liked least: dogs found wooden floors slippery
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denise j
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great family holiday home”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at Rosa Cottage from 24th August 2013 for one week and my partner, two children and myself agreed that it was ideal for our needs. There was plenty of space so the the children could have their own time and us adults could enjoy a glass of wine (lovely gift from the owner.)
I would definitely recommend Rosa cottage. It was situated perfectly in order to explore Portland and provided clean, comfortable accommodation with loads of character, which we were happy to return to at the end of the day.
We would stay at Rosa cottage again without question.
Only down side was size of garden which was very small but then Chesil beach was only a short distance and provided tonnes of space to play!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the property, very homely.
Liked least: Some difficulty parking close to the property on a couple of occasions.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing