We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food good view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lobster Pot

The Lobster Pot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food good view.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The food was excellent a lot of homemade dishes on the menu I can recommend the homemade crab cake it was delicious we also had the homemade cottage pie another winner. This restaurant has a lovely view out to sea. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanette8179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    257
    78
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great views, tasty large portions and friendly staff.”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Fantastic sea views wherever you sit indoors and outdoor seating also available (picnic tables). Varied menu from morning coffees and light snacks to lunches and cream teas. Generous portions and friendly staff. Service a little slow when coach trippers pile in but to be expected. Arrived to visit Portland Bill lighthouse but discovered it was closed (despite sign saying open from 11am) after we had paid for parking so spent longer in here than originally planned. Suggest you check if lighthouse visitor centre open before you decide how many hours parking you need!.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Crab sandwiches by the sea”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

As a venue for a quick lunch (we had fantastic meaty crab sandwiches) in a spectacular setting (Portland Bill, the sea, yachts, fishing boats), The Lobster Pot is hard to beat.
Hot and cold meals are availabe (but the crab sandwiches are our favourites - as with all our party.
The service is rapid and friendly, but we were not rushed at all. A great place for a very relaxing lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday lunch”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our favourite place by a long way! We visited with our cousin for a birthday lunch for her. All four meals were great quality, delicious and served by one of the usual lovely waitresses. Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honest-travellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A fantastic little restaurant that has both tables inside and outside. We visited during the summer of 2013 and enjoyed a delightful meal sitting on the picnic tables outside the restaurant whist enjoying the glorious view out to sea.. This facility was ideal for dog owners and they provided water for him too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KPJLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Pot also viewed

Isle of Portland, Dorset
Isle of Portland, Dorset
 
Isle of Portland, Dorset
 

Been to The Lobster Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing