We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly and good value for money!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aqua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Aqua
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and good value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you are looking for a nice clean and friendly place to stay in Portland, then this is the place for you. Basic 3 star accommodation, which is warm and clean. The food although basic is well cooked and plentiful. Informal staff cannot do enough to make your stay pleasant. Although I was there for work, the hotel is ideally placed for exploring Portland and Chesil beach as well as being next to diving and sailing facilities. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TedandRose2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    49
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
27
41
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpfull
The food is very good quality and are not small portions
I cannot comment on the location as I was working most of the time
But we were directed to a nice indian restaurant for a change by the staff

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooney73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Friendly staff upon arrival but the reception never gave a good impression as its a bit dated. Stair well area is in need of decorating and the bar area is awful with no character at all!!
Paid for breakfast when booking but could have saved if I had bought it in the morning. £1 difference so if a couple staying over a week that's quite a difference. Don't know why it costs more to pre book!
The room I was in was absolutely spotlessly clean. Bathroom was small but functional. Great room but the rest lets the place down
Would use again

Room Tip: Don't look at reception rooms, check your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squinnymonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

A challenge to find but there were enough parking spaces .... just! On the plus side when we arrived the staff were friendly and were quick to sort out the broken hair dryer in the room. The room however was small and although we specifically asked for a quiet room the walls were thin and it was very far from quiet. We had two poor nights sleep. The electrics were interesting with trailing wires - seemed to be safe though! The area is great for divers but it's not an area we felt comfortable in in the evening after a long day sailing. No restuarants or pubs nearby and very disappointing. Breakfast - dreadful - huge but very fatty and not worth buying the voucher as it is, I think, cheaper buying what you want piecemeal. The cafe service was slow and it was very much a cafe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the corner - ie at the end of the corridor so you are disturbed less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DREGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isle of Portland hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
swindon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

recently spent two nights at this hotel
arrived very late on friday evening but a warm welcome awaited us
rooms spotless, staff lovely, friendly, just like chatting to old friends.
highly reccomend

Room Tip: second floor, corner room , beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7749debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Aqua, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thanks for the nice review. Enjoyed the drinks and chat in the bar, and seeing the wedding photos on your return. Hope to see you back with us soon, when you have some time to spare
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

It was a short break to visit family who live in the local area and I have to say, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and attentive and given that I was a solo female traveller, on this occasion I can confirm I felt very safe and comfortable at this hotel. Despite other reviews suggesting the cafe is greasy cafe, I would dispute this as I was offered a selection of fruit and cereals at breakfast, which certainly suited my preferences. I would definately stay at this hotel again, the location is good, with easy access to local services.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our family booked four rooms for our visit and we were all very pleased with them. They were all clean and the beds comfortable. We also had a lovely sea view. We liked using the cafe for breakfast as there were no time constraints and the breakfast itself had plenty of variety. Parking was easy and reception very helpful. We all agreed that we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Portland
0.9 mi away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
0.0 mi away
The Royal Breakwater Hotel
The Royal Breakwater Hotel
#9 of 15 in Isle of Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#5 of 15 in Isle of Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen Anne House
Queen Anne House
#1 of 15 in Isle of Portland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.6 mi away
No. 35 at The New Inn
No. 35 at The New Inn
#4 of 15 in Isle of Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aqua

Property: Hotel Aqua
Address: Hotel Aqua Ltd Castletown, DT5 1BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aqua 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua is situated just a few moments walk from Portland Port, Portland Marina and the National Sailing Academy. We are also a stones throw from Henry IIIV's Portland Castle and Chesil Beach, and Weymouth is just a short drive away. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the Aqua is an ideal base, offering a warm welcome and plenty of local knowledge to help you make the most of your visit. Breakfast and lunch is available from Angel and her team in The Aqua Cafe. Or why not unwind in the evening with a drink and a meal in our Wreck Bar? We also cater for functions and meetings - and our Castle Suite makes an ideal venue for special occasions and business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aqua Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing