We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
135
8
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
135
8
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts chesil beach fabulous breakfast lovely fruit salad fluffy cat b bs sea view gin tonic great shower few minutes walk a lovely stay flights of stairs pot of tea bus service comfortable room enjoyable stay night's sleep
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having spent the day in Portland we arrived to SeventySeven late afternoon to a warm welcome and pot of tea (G&T also offered!). The room (#1 at the rear) was a good size, with a lovely bathroom and a great sea view. The bed was comfy and great pillows and duvet. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty, and our hosts had lots of useful and interesting information about Portland to share. They also helped us get a great dinner and booked the table for us. We were sorry that we could only stay one night this time and will definitely be back.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ljm706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo J, Owner at Seventyseven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and the booking at the Cove house met with your approval. hopefully see you again if your ever back down this way...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

This B&B is made special by Mark & Jo, who couldn’t have done more to welcome us and our grandson who was on a weekend sailing course. We were given tea on the roof terrace on arrival. The rooms were scrupulously clean. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. We hadn’t expected that at the end of the day, when our grandson went downstairs to try to put his sailing shoes into the sunshine, that Mark would whisk away the whole sailing kit and dry it for us. We’ve stayed in many B&Bs and hotels but rarely received such kind generosity.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank AlisonR_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo J, Owner at Seventyseven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

Thank you for your kind words, I'm glad you enjoyed your time here at Seventyseven and everything met with your expectations. I hope your grandson gets the sailing bug, he seemed to enjoy it.
I look forward to your return visit...
sailing can be so addictive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

Beautiful place with fantasic breakfast with gluten free and lactose free option. Fantastic full english breakfast and the best gluten free pancakes I've even eat. Very helpful hosts. Love this place and people .

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ana_betkowska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo J, Owner at Seventyseven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

I'm glad you enjoyed the English Breakfast, as for the gluten free pancakes, we're considering putting them permanently on the breakfast menu. Hope you eventually found the perfect mixer. Look forward to you staying with us next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2019

Everything you expect from a five star hotel with friendly accommodating host. Ocean views from the dinning area, outdoor deck, and our lovely room. Our room was clean, beautifully decorated, had all the expected amenities and a nice sea breeze. There are a few flights of stairs to climb mitigated by a stair lift and your host's insistence on carrying your bags.
Wonderful breakfast cooked to order, and our host, Mark, went over and above with sightseeing tips, maps, and videos of local attractions. Friendly cat on premises.
Thanks, Mark, for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo J, Owner at Seventyseven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Thank you for the five star review... Last year we reconfigured the guest dining room and its good to see you appreciated the newly created ocean views from the outdoor deck..... let me see... What else can I tweak? Glad you had a good time on Portland and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2019

We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay in this beautiful B&B and very much enjoyed the dining room balcony overlooking the sea and Chesil beach...with welcome drinks offered on the shaded balcony on arrival on a very hot sunny day, a comfortable bed and good night's sleep, the room and bathroom spotlessly clean plus very hearty breakfast all made for a lovely time here. Jo and Mark are excellent hosts - friendly, helpful and generous. We hope to return!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarahcen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo J, Owner at Seventyseven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2019

Glad you enjoyed the hearty breakfast and the sea views from our little corner of the world.
Look forward to your return.
Jo & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews