We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we needed”
Review of Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach House
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Everything we needed”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A comfortable stay. Family weekend @ Sailing Academy. Its a basic B&B, clean and tidy. Very helpful owners with local information and looked after the boys sailing kit. Breakfast lovely. Local pubs either side, both serving great food but advised to book, a close restaurant and taxi co. if you wanted to go further. Great location backing on to Chisel Beach. Bus stop outside door, easy access into Weymouth town and back, day ticket £3.50. If i had to say anything......it lacks a little ambiance and the bar opening would be good but its a B&B not hotel. All round, all you need for a comfortable weekend away. Thank-you

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McDiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roybeachhouse, Manager at Beach House, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Many Thanks for your comments. We try our hardest to accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
23
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Really nice place, nice owner, great pub up the road, I would highly recommend. Just to note its not walking distance to Weymouth. It's quiet, scenic and windy on Portland but a truly great place. Also great fish and chip shop up the road.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tezi843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights because it is very close to Portland Docks. Had a lovely stay. The rooms were clean and tidy. The bed was comfy. The shower was effective. Tea and coffee in the rooms was adequate (alas, still no tea pot!). Breakfast was adequate - freshly cooked for us, and tasty - but nothing amazing. Help yourself to toast, cereal, juice and tea (but alas again, still no tea pot).

The public transport links into Weymouth were excellent - there's a bus stop just outside the door with buses every ten minutes.

Check in and out was easy.

The only downside was the noise from the traffic. It was quite warm so we had the window open, and for most of the night we were surprised to hear the traffic wooshing past.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheerfulElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Good, clean and comfortable rooms. Stayed for 3 nights choice of breakfast is very good. Owner is very polite and knowledgable.
Had a few drinks at the Cove Inn though it seems at peak times you need to book well in advance for a meal. We ate at the Little Ship pub just down the road excellent value for money, nice big beer garden. And also had a excellent curry at the balti island which is just a 5 minute walk from the Beach House b&b would definatley recommend both these places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you ever wondered about the awesome Portland stone used to build some of the great landmarks of Britain, this is where it comes from! Located at the large aggregate end of Chesil Beach, this is a great starting point for trips up and down the coast.

We were looking for something on or close to Chesil Beach and this fit the bill. Our objective was to simply use the accommodation as a base. We would typically be gone for the whole day and only return later in the evening. The location was superb, well positioned between Weymouth and Bridport means easy access to everything you might need.
Booking online required a one night deposit on a three night stay through our eviivo booking. Check in was very straightforward and we noted that the sign in the window indicated 'No Vacancies'.

Although our host was clearly knowledgeable about the area it seemed a little odd that there was not more literature on the area. Parking was a bit hairy perhaps due to construction in the courtyard although it was off street which was good. Entrance is off the main road with entry into a typically compartmentalized foyer. Payment of the balance of accommodation was on arrival with Credit Card facilities accepted.

The property is uncluttered with a modest reception and spacious dining area. An air of fresh paint and new carpeting gives the impression that the property has been recently refurbished or is currently being progressively refurbished.

We were in room #4 which was quite well appointed, a classic vaulted ceiling with tall sash windows, a double door closet, a chest of drawers a chair and three occasional tables - two with bedside lamps. A double bed and two singles. Beds had good mattresses and hypo allergenic pillows but were equipped with only duvets and fitted sheets and not covering sheets which are critical for hotter weather - the double bed creaked terribly which was unfortunate.

The roadway is a little busy on weekdays first thing in the morning so be aware that this will compel you to make an early start along with the fact that breakfast is over by 9am. Breakfast was however very good with options of cereal, muesli, juices, coffee/tea and a full English breakfast of bacon, egg, sausage, beans, mushrooms and tomato.

Rooms do not appear to be fully serviced though we noticed tea/coffee facilities were replenished daily. In keeping with the heritage profile of the region glasses would have been a better add to the room than plastic cups.

The room had a shortage of surfaces unless you count the window sills which had internal shutters which were very effective sun guards. A luggage rack would be good, we had to use the dresser after we cleared it of some arbitrary nick nacks.

The regular paned windows in the bathroom without a good concealment curtain was a little unnerving for the women regarding privacy but if you're a bit of an exhibitionist and aren't worried about such things then there is no issue here.

We had a good stay, though we only ever saw other guests twice so couldn't tell whether the other rooms were under renovation.

Room Tip: If you have a choose, ask for a room on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClintonJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and loved it, as a woman on her own I felt safe and not out of place. Was a bit worried I was the only guest at first, then realised the other guests got up much earlier than me. The cooked breakfast was good, advice on where to visit was much appreciated. Nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We found this B&B ideal for a long weekend. The room was large, clean and airy, with a double bed and bunk beds. Shower & WC en-suite. Owners very friendly and happy to accommodate my partner's dietary needs. Not the biggest of cooked breakfasts but more than adequate and plentiful cereals, coffee, toast etc.
Great location with the beach about 50 yards from the back door. 50 yards the other way takes you to the Cove Inn - a proper pub with friendly atmosphere and good food with a veranda that overlooks the beach and sea. Ideal location to explore the Dorset coast.
We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Portland
0.5 mi away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
2.3 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#4 of 15 in Isle of Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
No. 35 at The New Inn
No. 35 at The New Inn
#5 of 15 in Isle of Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen Anne House
Queen Anne House
#1 of 15 in Isle of Portland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Breakwater Hotel
The Royal Breakwater Hotel
#9 of 15 in Isle of Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House

Property: Beach House
Address: 51 Chiswell, DT5 1AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House B&B once used to be a busy pub when the Navy used to be in Portland Harbour. Now with its larger than normal rooms is now a well established Bed and Breakfast backing onto Chesil Beach. We no longer have sea views due to the height of the sea defences behind us but are still located in a stunning part of the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing