We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice day out”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stock Hill Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 30 Restaurants in Gillingham
Price range: $0 - $156
Cuisines: Austrian, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“nice day out”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I had a really nice lunch at Stock Hill the other week. It was very quiet but it was a mid week. Food was delicious,we were served by the Polish girl and she was firiendy and polite. Lady of the house likes to talk a lot. Overall really enjoyable,we will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joank123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch - Top class fine dining at sensible a Price!!!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our lunch here in this fine old country house. Lunch was a set menu of two courses for £18.50 and three courses for £23.50. Trully top class and a great all round experience, not only was the food somthing else the presentation came from somone who loves what they are doing. Make sure you have a dessert as they well worth blowing the budget on, mine was a piece of Gateaux decorated with Chocolat wings and neck to look like a swan.
Can not say enough!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Albatross8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“POSH DINING”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Lovely old house in a country setting that the current owners restored from derelict. They have done a wonderful job. Husband is chef and wife front of house-they and all their staff are very correct and do things befitting a top restaurant in the City. Very nice food all freshly cooked with an slight Austrian flavour appearing here and there.
Well worth a try and look out for the puddings! YUM.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

What a lovely weekend. Our party of 12 chose this Hotel for our family Christmas meal. It was an amazing place. The service from all the staff was incredible. Especially Victoria who is a credit to the team. Nita the owner made our weekend, she is the perfect hostess, and what a laugh we had.
The food is excellent. The hotel is beautiful and very homely it's the perfect place to relax and unwind. The bedrooms in the hotel are something special. Each one having a different theme. The only criticism I would have is there were no tea making facilities in the rooms. Although there was room service if needed. I think it would have been a nice touch and would have made a difference to have this available in the beautiful rooms. My preference would be to stay in the rooms in the hotel rather than in the coach house. The rooms are still lovely but not quite the standard of the hotel bedrooms. Although having said that they are the cheaper option! Overall it's a very relaxing friendly place to stay with excellent staff. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusieB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SHEER PERFECTION”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stock Hill offers an exquisite dining experience in a friendly, country house environment. A truly special place, it's more like dining with friends; the food is always freshly prepared and mouthwateringly delicious. Be sure to try any Austrian dishes on the menu as you can be sure they will be authentic to the last detail. We have been using the restaurant for the past 20 years and the top quailty service never wavers. If you enjoy good food and fine wines served in delightful surroundings, there really is no better place to spend a couple of hours (or longer) than Stock Hill House.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanWiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stock Hill Country House Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Stock Hill Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing