We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent one night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ship Inn & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gillingham
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent one night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I booked a night at The Ship based on the enthusiastic tripadvisor comments and we were not disappointed. A great menu, excellent cooking, good ales and ciders, a warm welcome and enjoyable conversation in the bar. We stayed in room 5 which was above the bar and overlooks the road. The room had secondary double glazing and there wasn't a problem with road noise or with late night revelry. The accommodation is exactly as the website describes - simply furnished with good quality linen, pillows, duvet and towels. Food was superb and I can't recommend the eggs benedict at breakfast highly enough! Thinking about returning when they have an ale and cider festival in the summer... If you are in the area Sherborne Abbey is a "must see".

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevefromSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
34
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We took my sister to The Ship for lunch on her 94th birthday. She has to use a wheelchair but this was no problem and a ramp had been provided for us to use.
We received a very warm welcome and we felt that nothing was too much trouble to make our visit a success.
The food was very good indeed and well served and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Thank you very much,
Grazza.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrazzaSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had visited Stourhead Gardens on our way to Devon and were looking for a stop over and dinner. We spotted this Inn on Tripadvisor and booked for the last Wed in October. When we arrived we drove past the Inn twice as it was almost dark and there were very few lights in the building, the time being only just past 5pm. We eventually pulled up outside of the dark building and walked up the uneven steps and tentatively pushed the door, which opened onto a dark porch. There was no one around. Upon calling 'hello' the chef (I guess) came and confirmed that we were in room 2 and to park the car in the car park across the road, which, again as it was an unlit road, we couldn't see immediately.

OK the end of the downside.

We went up to our room which was fine for an Inn with 2 single beds, TV etc. Little luxury but we did not expect that. The toilet had a disposal unit which made an awful noise, which was a concern during a early hour 'visit' in a quiet hotel.

We went down to dinner and the service we received was very upbeat. We were shown to our table and offered drinks and then chose from a good menu and we thoroughly enjoyed the food...and the local beer!

The breakfast next morning was plentiful and enjoyable for the 6 guests eating.

Think the £90 we paid for B&B was a little over the top, although it is an old worldly inn with character.

Room Tip: We were on the front which had nice views and not too much traffic...in late October
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I came to stay at the Ship Inn with some friends, the welcome we got from Craig was outstanding.

Our rooms were really nice, clean and the beds comfortable.

We ate at the Ship on both evenings and the food is stupendous we certainly ate too much !!

Our husbands really enjoyed the choice of beer.

We will certainly be staying here again if we are in the area.

Thank you for a fabulous weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have been here a number of times and thoroughly enjoyed it. The atmosphere and surroundings are wonderful and it really is one of those very cosy environments. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is absolutely great. The selection is good and if you are into your fish they have a great selection.
Well worth a visit, booking is always an idea as they get busy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBDAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Found this place on line and booked it because of its good reviews, and it exceeded our expectations. All the staff made us feel very welcome, the room was a good size, clean, with a very comfortable bed & nice crisp white bedding, & good shower with good fluffy towels. The food was excellent, a great choice, beautifully cooked & presented by very attentive friendly staff. A good atmosphere in the bar area, very friendly locals. All of which was well organised by the owners Gavin and Sally. Thank you for a great weekend, we will definitely be back & wouldn't hesitate to recommend you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzielimejuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a great restaurant. 6 of us went for Sunday lunch this weekend and had a superb meal. We all ended up having 3 course meals and couldn't fault any of it (roast pork, beef, fish and chips for mains and the desserts were top notch).

We will definitely be back again - good value for money, well thought through menu, good service. Loved it :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gillingham
2.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
12.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn & Hotel

Property: The Ship Inn & Hotel
Address: West Stour, Gillingham SP8 5RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Gillingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gillingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship is a privately owned informal country pub, retaining country pub values and atmosphere, whilst offering good quality food, drink and accommodation.The Ship is a proper country pub, and as such has a number of traditional features mixed with plenty of modern touches. We offer a variety of quality dishes using locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. The bar serves a varied & interesting selection of real ales, beers, traditional ciders and wines, while our accommodation offers five comfortable en-suite rooms. As featured in both The Good Pub Guide and The Good Beer Guide, The Ship’s unique ambience and stylish but warm décor, offers ample opportunity to relax away from it all, whether you’re simply dropping in for a drink, something to eat, or staying for business or pleasure.The Ship is an ideal base to explore the region and the nearby towns of Shaftesbury, Sherborne and Gillingham are all within easy reach. Local attractions include Stourhead House & Gardens, Longleat Safari Park, The Fleet Air arm Museum and The Haynes Motor Museum. Walkers can enjoy exploring the Stour Valley Way with its nearby footpaths, which pass through the picturesque Dorset countryside ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Ship Inn & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Inn & Hotel Dorset/Gillingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing