We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would definitely stay again”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

On my arrival Monday about 5.00pm the proprietor (Gavin)welcomed us & immediately lit the open fire although it was already warm and cosy.
Nothing was to much trouble. Tried a 3 course meal the first night & ended up eating there the whole week, the food was Excellent all cooked fresh, presentation was beautiful, lovely hot & so tastey, I wouldn't normally eat 3 courses but I had no choice every night mmmmm just thinking about there specially made bread & butter pudding with custard.
The room was warm clean & tidy.
You must try the American style breakfast mmmm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    27
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
37
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our party of 4 had a reservation and had a warm friendly greetings from the publican and were shown to our table. We were very impressed with the lunch menu but all opted for the roast dinner - pork/beef/lamb or a trio of all three. The food was EXCELLENT, service was equally good and the pub was full which is always a good sign. It's location right on the A30 with a large car park is perfect for a midday stop on a return journey from the South West and we will definitely be returning! I would rate even higher if the toilets were redone to match the interior standards of the pub. This is a common failure at pubs IMHO where attention to detail in the eating areas don't match the toilet facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodledorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My family and I had a lovely meal - again - at the Ship. My husband and I have been three times fairly recently and have had an excellent meal each time. The service is good and very friendly: nothing is too much trouble. The food tastes great and there is plenty of it. I like the fact that the (three) vegetables are more interesting than the normal peas, carrots and broccoli that seem to be standard in many restaurants. They are also not overcooked! There is a really good selection of ice creams if you prefer that to one of the other desserts. Just to warn you, the crumble has a bit of a 'kick' to it. The Ship is well worth trying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frabs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Pretty grim night when I booked in to The Ship Inn and the wind was howling through the windows of my room at the front of the hotel.
Big room with a double and two single beds.
Bathroom a bit tired but plenty of fluffy towels.
Slept OK and excellent breakfast the next morning was the highlight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blakkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We always stop of at The Ship for lunch on our way back from Sherborne and have never been disappointed. An ever changing 'Specials Board' means there is alway something new to try and the food is cooked and presented to a very high standard for such a reasonable priced Inn.

The staf are always friendly and welcoming and it is just a lovely relaxed dining experience. Portions are always very good, but we were determined to make a sweet on our last visit and the Tiramisu was gorgeous - wanted to lick the plate!! Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRoberts92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our return to the Ship Inn was a lunch stop on the way home from a long weekend in north Devon. Gavin recognised us as 'that quiz lot' which is pretty impressive as we hadn't been there for four months. As before the pub is warm and friendly service was great and the food was top notch. This is now our first choice for a casual meal out in the area, looking forward to the next beer festival.
Top tip - try the Thai chicken burger, a great addition to the menu.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali and Ade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have been twice this month with a family group of 9 and then 4 last night; both times to eat, not to stay.

All are agreed that in our searches of Dorset, Wiltshire, Hampshire and Somerset, this Inn is the complete package.

For us this means:

1 A cheery and professional welcome.
2 Service where nothing is too much trouble.
3. Informed view of the beers and wines.
4. Very good food with a balanced selection for vegetarians, meat and fish eaters.
5. Complementary bottles of water placed without having to ask.
6. Happy ambience - no need for musak.
7. That difficult to achieve thing-a local where regulars are welcome to drink whilst diners eat and neither takes obvious priority.
8. A bill that is correct!

I'd like to list two other things to make it a top ten, so....

9. A landlord who is genuinely interested in people and customer service.
10. Staff that are an excellent reflection of the attitude and standards of the landlord.

So, you may think the Top Ten goes without saying and ideally it should, but where else can you tick all ten?

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshirePhilippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gillingham
2.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
132 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
6.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
190 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
5.7 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn & Hotel

Property: The Ship Inn & Hotel
Address: West Stour, Gillingham SP8 5RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Gillingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship is a privately owned informal country pub, retaining country pub values and atmosphere, whilst offering good quality food, drink and accommodation.The Ship is a proper country pub, and as such has a number of traditional features mixed with plenty of modern touches. We offer a variety of quality dishes using locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. The bar serves a varied & interesting selection of real ales, beers, traditional ciders and wines, while our accommodation offers five comfortable en-suite rooms. As featured in both The Good Pub Guide and The Good Beer Guide, The Ship’s unique ambience and stylish but warm décor, offers ample opportunity to relax away from it all, whether you’re simply dropping in for a drink, something to eat, or staying for business or pleasure.The Ship is an ideal base to explore the region and the nearby towns of Shaftesbury, Sherborne and Gillingham are all within easy reach. Local attractions include Stourhead House & Gardens, Longleat Safari Park, The Fleet Air arm Museum and The Haynes Motor Museum. Walkers can enjoy exploring the Stour Valley Way with its nearby footpaths, which pass through the picturesque Dorset countryside ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Ship Inn & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Inn & Hotel Dorset/Gillingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing