We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant country hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We ate lunch here today and were impressed the food and the friendly welcome. The Ship is located in West Stour, NOT Gillingham, although Gillingham is nearby it would be too far to walk.
I had a venison burger and my husband had poached haddock with a poached egg. The food is interesting and we had a job to choose !
We would definitley return.
http://shipinn-dorset.com/home.htm

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Squawky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 123 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

We spent a long weekend in a holiday let nearby but kept coming back to The Ship for the food, beer and friendly atmosphere. Entered the pub quiz and won and we were still welcome! Gavin is a great host and we will return. Angry Badgers.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Ali and Ade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We arranged a family Christmas meal for 15. From our first contact with Gavin ( from the USA) our plans went without a hitch, and Gavin was more than helpful, accommodating our requests. The night of our dinner, the wait staff were attentive thoughtout, the food service smooth, and the food excellent. Everyone's dishes arrived timely, and, as someone with a catering background, I have to say this was one of the best "christmas" meals I've had. The Chirstmas Menu was festive (but had selections for the not quite so traditional), and modern, there were ample vegetables served, and my only complaint was that additional sauce/gravy would have been nice, however, a request to the wait staff, and gravy boats appeared. We spent all evening at our tables, and were made to feel relaxed and comfortable throughout. Too bad that we are 3,500 miles away as we would love to have this pub as our local!

Room Tip: Only one couple stayed at the Ship, the rest of our group was local enough to go home at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2011casUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We have previously eaten here and enjoyed it so we thought would take some friends here and stay overnight.

All I can say is wow! The food was lovely - imaginative as well as delicious. I had the scallops with risotto and found it to die for. The rest of our party including my husband had the steak and blue vinney pie and all enjoyed. Make sure you save some room for desert as lots to tempt you.

The service is great - warm and friendly.

We were the only guests overnighting and the room was gorgeous. The mattress was a little soft for me but that is personal preference. The in room tea/coffee was fab-the cups were mugs which you don't find in high street hotels.

The breakfast included in the room price was delicious - a full english what a lovely way to set you up for the day.

Overall, the service, room and food was excellent. Would I stay here again? Yes. Would I eat here again? Definitely (when can I go back!). Would I recommend? Absolutely!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeDee1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stopped for lunch at this place and was very impressed with the service. The decor of the pub is nice, with a separate dining room(s). The food was pretty good - I had whitebait which was in a too heavy breadcrumb coating - I much prefer when it is lighly dusted. I then had a club sandwich and this was very good indeed.

I would happily go back again, and indeed would stay over. We stayed at the Stapleton Arms a couple of miles away - With hindsight, I would stay here (see my sepearate review of the Stapleton Arms)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Power_Ranger_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at The Ship Inn to break our journey from London to Devon and what a great find.

From the moment we phoned to make our dinner reservation to the moment we left the morning after our stay the service we received was warm, welcoming, genuine and friendly.

We stayed in Room 1, a well presented, nicely decorated room, a little let down by the shabby bathroom. The room is at the front of the building and the combination of a window that didn't quite close, the road and very thin curtains made for a disrupted nights sleep and an early morning.

The food was very good. The Dinner menu was full of tantilising options and the choices we made were well presented and delicious. The Full English breakfast was a great way to start the day.

I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay here to friends and family, with a recommendation to ask not to stay at the front of the building.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at the Ship Inn and Hotel. Great location, great team under Gavin running the place, and lovely food (the restaurant was full last night).

A relaxing inn with the benefit of rooms. We shall recommend to friends and hopefully return.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilTwyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gillingham
5.4 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
438 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
152 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
212 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn & Hotel

Address: West Stour, Gillingham SP8 5RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Gillingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Price Range: $101 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship is a privately owned informal country pub, retaining country pub values and atmosphere, whilst offering good quality food, drink and accommodation.The Ship is a proper country pub, and as such has a number of traditional features mixed with plenty of modern touches. We offer a variety of quality dishes using locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. The bar serves a varied & interesting selection of real ales, beers, traditional ciders and wines, while our accommodation offers five comfortable en-suite rooms. As featured in both The Good Pub Guide and The Good Beer Guide, The Ship’s unique ambience and stylish but warm décor, offers ample opportunity to relax away from it all, whether you’re simply dropping in for a drink, something to eat, or staying for business or pleasure.The Ship is an ideal base to explore the region and the nearby towns of Shaftesbury, Sherborne and Gillingham are all within easy reach. Local attractions include Stourhead House & Gardens, Longleat Safari Park, The Fleet Air arm Museum and The Haynes Motor Museum. Walkers can enjoy exploring the Stour Valley Way with its nearby footpaths, which pass through the picturesque Dorset countryside ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Ship Inn & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Inn & Hotel Dorset/Gillingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing