We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”
Review of The Kings Arms Inn

The Kings Arms Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gillingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kings Arms Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

For anyone who loves food. Brilliant customer service could live there. Been for a weeks holiday but been 3x in that week. Wonderful, pricey perhaps, but the quality is devine. Great menu shame we live in kent, too far away.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JenSteward95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 108 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed two nights and found everything to be first class. Whilst breakfast was an option at £10 per head - don't miss it, as it's well worth paying for. Try the haggis, which is specially bought down from Scotland. We also had an evening meal and were not disappointed with the very extensive menu or our choices. It is obvious, from the food produced, that the Kings Arms has a first rate chef with the prices being good value for money.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms available with the family room having the most space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bilp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We visited this pub for the first time yesterday. I must say the food and service was fantastic. The choice of food available is second to none. Believe me, its well worth a visit if you like good food, nicely presented and value for money. I am a great believer in the saying "you get what you pay for". You certainly do here. Well done to the Chef and all the staff.
We will certainly be back.I would fully recommend " The Kings Arms ". If you haven't been yet, don't miss out. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank longshanks1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Having lived in the area for many years and eat out at one of the local pubs or restaurants at least once a week, we are never disappointed with the King's Arms in East Stour. The welcome and service is second to none. If there is nothing on the menu that you fancy, the chef is willing, within reason to provide what you ask for. Over the years , the standard of the decor has improved immeasurably. It is very unusual for the restaurant to be anything other than full. Locally it has a very high reputation. The owner, also one of the chefs, is often in the bar or restaurant seeking feedback from his customers. This is a gem in North Dorset and well worth stopping your journey on the A30 for a meal. I can't comment about the accommodation, but I have heard from guests who have stayed there, that the breakfasts are first class. It is somewhere to take friends and family as well. They are never disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canneb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Found this place on Trip Advisor after suffering some pretty terrible food at other places in Gillingham. Only five minutes drive from the town but a world apart in terms of food and service. Beef & Haggis Wellington is excellent would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spoke99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked a Table for five and every one's meal was way above average pub food,I can be quite critical usually but speak as you find it was a lovely meal, we will be back for sure and Looking forward to it already
TRY IT OUT

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drewstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stumbled upon this Inn whilst passing, boy are we glad we did! A Sunday, and a bank holiday weekend, but they squeezed us in, very friendly staff, and the carvery was superb! A great selection of meat, you could even choose from a well cooked or rarer cooked joint of beef, and there was pork and turkey. Lovely selection of vegetables, and all beautifully cooked.we had no room for dessert unfortunately, but that s a very good excuse to return.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jill190872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gillingham
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
282 reviews
3 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
440 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
162 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
152 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Ship Inn & Hotel
The Ship Inn & Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Inn

Address: Kings Arms The Common | East Stour, Gillingham SP8 5NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Gillingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Gillingham
The Kings Arms Inn Dorset/Gillingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing