We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B to match the beauty and tranquillity of Purbeck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Westaway is one of my favorite B&Bs in forty years of traveling in Britain. Excellent accommodation (ask for the room that overlooks the garden), a breakfast room that looks out on the garden and a multitude of birds. Excellent breakfasts which Pauline will vary to your taste. A pleasant 10-minute walk to the village center. Highly recommended. We will return for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraycatbirdHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 190 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2010

Wonderfully relaxing b&b, Yvonne & Ray make you very welcome.
Our room, spotlessly clean looked out onto a lovely back garden.
Situated in the heart of the Purbecks, we had a superb view of the hills from our french window. Yvonne's cooked breakfast, gave us all a good start for the day.
Highly recommended for a peaceful, relaxing, getaway from it all holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corfe37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Yvonne and Ray could not have been more welcoming. They have a lovely clean house which was a peasure to stay in. Even though we know the area they were helpful in providing information and also loaned us a haversack to help our days out as we had forgotten ours. We would recommend anyone to stay here as a base for a peaceful holiday in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed for three nights in August and wished that it could have been longer - The accommodation exceeded all our expectations and was far superior to many 5* hotels that we have experienced. The service, food and location made our stay exceptional. Situated in a quiet avenue that ends in a cul de sac meant that our nights were not disturbed and parking was free, safe and easy. There is good walking, and good restaurants and pubs all around with easy access by car and road to the rest of beautiful Dorset. Buses are frequent and there is a steam train to Swanage. This would make a good base from which to see Dorset. We shall return. P.S. Yvonne makes excellent marmalades!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kento_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Stayed with family for three nights during July - a last minute booking. A superb B & B. Yvonne very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were superb! Comfortable, clean rooms in a very convenient and quiet location. Several local hostelries offer good food and are all within easy walking distance. Would recommend Westaway to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole_smalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Westaway is a lovely B&B in a beautiful location. Our room (South Room) was spacious, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, with spectacular views over the pretty garden and hills beyond. Yvonne, our host, was charming and friendly. She cooked mega breakfasts which were served in her lovely kitchen around one large table so we got to know the other guests and breakfast time was an enjoyable social event. Yvonne was also very helpful, providing us with walking maps, suggesting routes and recommending great places for dinner. Corfe Castle in low season is a splending location for eating, sightseeing and particularly hill walking. I really cannot find fault at all - it was the perfect short break.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We decided to go for a last minute two night stay to Corfe Castle and were very lucky to stumble across Yvonne & Ray's website. We had a lovely, restful stay during which Yvonne & Ray's local knowledge was invaluable. They recommended that we walk from Corfe to Swanage along the ridge and catch the steam train back - a wonderful suggestion especially as it didn't rain on us and the views were staggering!!
East room was a very comfortable twin room with a lovely bathroom two steps across the landing. Breakfast was excellently cooked by Yvonne with a view over the garden.
A great place to go back to...

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valandrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.3 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
963 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
3.4 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
435 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
953 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammonite Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammonite Bed & Breakfast

Address: 88 West Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5HE, England (Formerly Westaway Bed & Breakfast)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Price Range: $94 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ammonite Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammonite Bed and Breakfast is situated within the historic villlage of Corfe Castle, centrally located within the beautiful Isle of Purbeck and only a stones throw from the World Heritage site of the Jurassic coastline. We are only a two minute walk from the village centre, 'the square', from which all local ammenities are available, from tea rooms, restuarants and pubs, to stunning walks over the Purbeck hills or a visit into Corfe Castle itself.Ammonite Bed and Breakfast has a four star accommodation rating and offers three beautiful rooms, comprising of two double en-suites and a twin room with private bathroom. All rooms offer T.V., tea and coffee making facilities and a comfortable nights sleep.The superbly cooked breakfast, cooked upon a traditional Aga using locally sourced produce, is taken in the dining area which offers stunning views of the surrounding Purbeck hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Ammonite Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast Corfe Castle, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing