We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very warm welcome”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on Friday for 2 nights to celebrate my 40th Birthday. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. One friend arrived on Saturday and Yvonne was happy to cook breakfast for her which was lovely after the drive down from Berkshire. The rooms were spacious and Yvonne happily chilled champagne for us and provided us with glasses to help celebrate. Breakfast was excellent and lots of choice, would happily go back as only a 5min walk to the greyhound where we had fantastic meals both nights.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lou W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
131
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at Ammonite Bed and Breakfast for 3 nights from 3rd May 2013.

Yvonne gives a warm welcome to her guests and runs an excellent B & B. You very quickly feel at ease. The room was spacious, very well appointed and well looked after. Breakfast: so much choice, well prepared and tasty! What more can I say, a great location for visiting Dorset's many attractions and a comfortable welcoming place to stay. A photo on the bridge in the garden is a must! We will hopefully visit again. Yvonne is really lovely and she runs a first class B & B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at Ammonite for 4 nights whilst walking in the local area and had a very enjoyable stay. The room was twin bedded and although not ensuite had its own separate bathroom with shower and joy of joys, a bath - ideal to soak those weary muscles after a long walk. Yvonne was very hospitable and produced a great breakfast - choice of fruit, cereals, full English, toast & jams etc.
Although close to Square, Ammonite is far enough away to be extremely quiet. No traffic noise - just birdsong to wake you in the morning. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The twin bedded room at the side is fine for one person but would be rather small for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prudence_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few days in late March, having booked on reading previous Tripadvisor reviews: we had an excellent stay! Yvonne runs a lovely operation - our room was great (lovely views over the garden and to the castle) and beautifully co-ordinated, the breakfasts (various options) very tasty and filling, with kind offers of map loans if needed too. In short, a very relaxing place to stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocD_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A really excellent b&b.Yvonne is a very lovely approachable person and looked after us wonderfully.The room was really first class and the breakfast was great. Very close to the Square in Corfe Castle so perfect location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you are looking to getaway and fancy a relaxing time in the countryside, this is the place to stay!! The room was fantastic, clean and spacious. The breakfast was absolutely spot on, and Yvonne's hospitality and local knowledge was second to none!! The house is a very short walk from the castle and the local pubs. We had a fantastic time and would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyS_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Good breakfast, clean bedroom, great view over the garden and beyond. Yvonne was obliging when we asked for anything. The house is really near the common which is great for walks with yet more views of the castle. Walk to pubs etc just a few minutes. Towels really need replacing though as rough - worth taking your own.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BristolBibsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.3 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
939 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,170 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammonite Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammonite Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Address: 88 West Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5HE, England (Formerly Westaway Bed & Breakfast)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ammonite Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammonite Bed and Breakfast is situated within the historic villlage of Corfe Castle, centrally located within the beautiful Isle of Purbeck and only a stones throw from the World Heritage site of the Jurassic coastline. We are only a two minute walk from the village centre, 'the square', from which all local ammenities are available, from tea rooms, restuarants and pubs, to stunning walks over the Purbeck hills or a visit into Corfe Castle itself.Ammonite Bed and Breakfast has a four star accommodation rating and offers three beautiful rooms, comprising of two double en-suites and a twin room with private bathroom. All rooms offer T.V., tea and coffee making facilities and a comfortable nights sleep.The superbly cooked breakfast, cooked upon a traditional Aga using locally sourced produce, is taken in the dining area which offers stunning views of the surrounding Purbeck hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Ammonite Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast Corfe Castle, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing