We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay if you want total peace and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
west sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay if you want total peace and quiet”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We stayed for three nights and had rhe bedroom overlooking the garden, wonderful to be able to have the french windows open all night with no outside lights or noise.
Yvonne made us very welcome and even posted me my handbag which I left in a drawer. The breakfasts were excellent and more than we could manage.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anglosaxons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
128
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2011

A two-night stay at the Ammonite B&B left me feeling me relaxed and rejuvenated. Yvonne was a very friendly host who gave great tips on local places to visit and things to do. We stayed in the smaller room which was very comfortable and quiet although the view wasn't as exciting as the one from the larger South room. The breakfasts were delicious with locally sourced produce cooked on the Aga and with home-made jam. A very good start to the day that kept us full for lots of coastal walking!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felixstowe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We have just came back after a 4 day break at the Ammonite and will miss it.
You get a warm welcome and are well looked after.
The village has some great pubs and the area is stunning.
If ever we go that way again, they will be the first number I will call.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deepdiver53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

A warm welcome at the door was the start of too short a stay with Yvonne and Ray Hendes of Ammonite, Corfe Castle. We stayed in the South room which has a wonderful view of the garden which will be stunning in the summer and from another window could see Corfe Castle itself through the trees. The room was a good size, tastefully decorated in lilac themes and very clean and comfortable. It was a bitterly cold weekend so we were grateful for such a cosy room.
Breakfast was a communal affair around a big table in Yvonne's spacious open kitchen. Help yourself to juice and cereal and then Yvonne cooks a wonderful full English on the Aga with freshly made toast on the side. We certainly didn't go hungry.
As an example of our host's thoughtful service, we mentioned over breakfast that we'd brought a nice bottle of wine to have for our wedding anniversary but forgotten to bring a corkscrew. When we got back to our room that night Yvonne had thoughtfully left a corkscrew in our room. A little touch but it made us feel that she cared about her guests and it was a little icing on the cake.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Obarmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

A spacious room and fabulous breakfast. Very welcoming. Perhaps the decor was a little flowery, but we had an enjoyable and very comfortable stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucasorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Set in a beautiful location the rooms were very clean and well maintained. I stayed here with my boyfriend for 4 nights, We had a friendly welcome on arrival and a nice view in the room. Each morning we had a cooked breakfast, there was also cereal and toast on offer. There was plenty to see and do and although the weather wasn't great the village offered a range of different pubs and walks to see.
I will be going again and would recommend it to anyone,

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiselloyd21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2010

The room was spacious with colourful, co-ordinated, lavender decor which made a nice change from the typical white of most hotels. The room was well furnished with all you might need; large double bed, comfy chairs and table by the balcony window sporting a gorgeous view of the garden, a large dressing table and stool with overhead light, chest of drawers, TV, I could go on. The bathroom was modern with a fantastic power shower, not often found in B&Bs. The young couple attending to our needs that weekend (the owners son and daughter-in-law) were friendly and professional and provided a tasty full English breakfast with a deliciously flavoured coffee (wish I could remember the brand!). We have stayed in many hotels and B&Bs around the country and rate this B&B very highly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davina333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.3 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.3 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Scott Arms
The Scott Arms
#8 of 10 in Corfe Castle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammonite Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammonite Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Address: 88 West Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5HE, England (Formerly Westaway Bed & Breakfast)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ammonite Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammonite Bed and Breakfast is situated within the historic villlage of Corfe Castle, centrally located within the beautiful Isle of Purbeck and only a stones throw from the World Heritage site of the Jurassic coastline. We are only a two minute walk from the village centre, 'the square', from which all local ammenities are available, from tea rooms, restuarants and pubs, to stunning walks over the Purbeck hills or a visit into Corfe Castle itself.Ammonite Bed and Breakfast has a four star accommodation rating and offers three beautiful rooms, comprising of two double en-suites and a twin room with private bathroom. All rooms offer T.V., tea and coffee making facilities and a comfortable nights sleep.The superbly cooked breakfast, cooked upon a traditional Aga using locally sourced produce, is taken in the dining area which offers stunning views of the surrounding Purbeck hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ammonite Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast Corfe Castle, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing