We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Proximity to the pub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Proximity to the pub
Sitting room Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
62 reviews
Proximity to the pub
Sitting room
Sitting Room
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2
Dining room / Reading room
Reading room through to Conservatory
The Conservatory
Rear view of the cottage
The terrace
View of Corfe Castle from the terrace
Under the grapevines
Herb garden
Ground floor plan
Upstairs floor plan
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
The view whilst washing up
The view whilst washing up
The view whilst washing up
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Vicky D
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a lovely long weekend here, great walks from doorstep and beach very close so kids and dogs very happy! Only minor complaint was that we found the mattress uncomfortable.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjdec
wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we struggled to park and a neighbor gave us a rather dirty look when we parked on the grass by the bus stop but that was the only problem we had. Place was clean and lovely.
Amazing views, stunning location. Warm and cosy with beautiful bedrooms. My kids especially liked the toys and books that were there. Nice place!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B
1 review
“Lovely, comfortable cottage, fabulous view!”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The Old Reading Room is in a lovely spot, with a pub on the door step. The rooms are comfortable and very tastefully decorated. It is worth being aware that the stairs to one of the bedrooms are very steep and would be difficult to negotiate for anyone who was a bit unsteady on their feet (though it was fine for us and we're in our late 50s). The garden is an absolute delight with fabulous, far-reaching views, The walks from the house are lovely. We had a great week end stay and would definitely stay again. l

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything! the location, the decor, the views.
Liked least: The staircassse to the second bedroom
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing place in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The cottage is homely and well equipped. The garden was a welcome extension and has an amazing view of Corfe Castle.
There is a bus stop outside,a beautiful church and quaint village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well equipped
Liked least: The boiler had broken down so no hot water initially and no heating available during the stay.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura E
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“what a gem”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My hubby and I stayed there over the weekend and we loved it. What a wonderful find - its not too far from london and so easy to commute to for a weekend away. The location is beautiful and close to lots of walks and beaches. The cottage is so lovely - it is modern and comfortable but still retains alot of character. The garden is sensational ! it is absolutley massive and the views are fabulous. We had our dogs with us and it is perfect for dogs. The open fire was wonderful - it was so cosy. Would definitely recommend this and we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy house with lovely garden and great views in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The house is interesting and nicely furnished, with lots of art on the walls. The garden is spacious and enclosed, with a pond. The children enjoyed trying to spot the fish! The views over the countryside towards Corfe Castle are beautiful. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything we needed, except a dishwasher which was a shame. The cottage is situated in a stunning area with plenty to do nearby. The house is on a fairly busy road so there was some traffic noise but it didn't really bother us. The bathroom is characterful with endless hot water to wash sandy children, but the hot water is extremely hot so some caution is required, particularly when trying to get a comfortable shower temperature. There are lots of books, toys and games for children to play with - we particularly enjoyed Monopoly during our stay.
There are 2 staircases in the cottage - one is extremely steep so we tended to use the other one instead - the bedrooms are connected by a door so you can walk through. We had some lovely trips out - Knoll Beach (great for water sports and swimming with a nice cafe and toilets), Brownsea Island, Durdle Door, Portland Castle, Kingston Lacey, and Corfe Castle
were particularly good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views, interesting character property, garden.
Liked least: Very squashy mattress in second bedroom, no dishwasher.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bags of character, great views of Corfe Castle”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cottage is charming, well-equipped and great value. The kitchen and bathroom in particular are clean and modern, with everything you could need. The location is brilliant, making it a great base from which to explore the beautiful Purbecks. The garden is a massive bonus, big and tidy, with a brilliant view of Corfe Castle. The owners are also very attentive.
We stayed with two young children (4 and 2 years old). While they really enjoyed the garden and had a great time, the steep staircase (as advertised) and downstairs bathroom are something to be mindful of. Parking is on-street, a very short walk from the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing