We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming cottage in great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wissett Cottage

Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Living room - alternative view.
Master bedroom. Comfortable king-sized bed with good quality bed linen provided.
The dining room - another corner in which to relax
The sunny, south-facing aspect to the cottage edged with country garden plants and flowers.
Cosy nights in front of the wood burner. Some logs for your first fire are provided.
Relax in the pretty courtyard garden.
Cottage front - showing the thatched 'wing' extending to the rear.
The garage and drive provide parking for 2 cars
View over Worbarrow Tout from Flowers Barrow on the SW Coastal path - stunning walking country!
There's always a peaceful spot to be found on one of the area's fine, sandy beaches.
Climbing out of the village , the castle is a focal point in the scenery for miles around.
Beautiful views from Corfe Common.
A lovely play park to help entertain our younger guests is to be found within 1 minute's walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anita L
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming cottage in great location”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at the cottage in June and we can't wait to return. The cottage was everything you could wish for and was full of character and charm as well as very cosy and a joy to return to after a day out. It is well equipped and was spotlessly clean on our arrival. Another plus was that we hardly used the car using both the bus and the steam train instead - great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charactor and charm
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBorden73
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Vacation”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My two sons (ages 9 and 12 years old) and I stayed with a friend of ours at Wissett Cottage for a week at the end of August. The cottage was all that we hoped for, and then some. Wissett Cottage had all of the conveniences of home, with many special touches that you don't often find in vacation rentals. The cottage itself was very clean and larger than expected; and the location was just perfect - within walking distance of Corfe Castle, the post office, bakery, shops and several pubs and restaurants. My sons and I have dreamt of a vacation in England and Wissett Cottage provided an excellent base from which to explore many of England's treasures (we made day trips to Bath, Stonhenge, Highclere Castle, the Costwolds and Tintangel), and was in easy reach of London for our return flight home to the US. We very much enjoyed learning about Corfe Castle (the castle itself and the Model Village were wonderful). As Americans, we hadn't realized when booking our stay how much of England's history ties into events at Corfe Castle, and as history buffs, we loved learning all about it. If you stay in Corfe Castle Village, I would highly recommend dinner at Morton's House which is right next door to Wissett Cottage - we had a most excellent meal there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the cottage
Liked least: It would have been nice to have a clothes dryer - the weather is damp and clothes take a long time to dry in the damp environment
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare H
1 review
“Great cottage in a great location”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our second time at Wissett Cottage and every bit as good as the first. The cottage is brilliantly located for the village and with plenty of space for our 4 year-old to play. Very comfortable and well-equipped although we ate out at the pubs in the village every evening anyway!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C
Bewdley, United Kingdom
1 review
“First Class”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were very impressed with the way this holiday let was handled from start to finish with . The communications with Kate were very friendly and efficient. The cottage was very clean, tidy and well equipped. This was our first visit to Purbeck which we found to be a beautiful area. For anyone who does not drive this would be a perfect base as the public transport is very frequent and runs late into the evening, plus the bus stops are right outside the door. For anyone with a young child the local play area is very well equipped and just a short walk away. I would suggest that if this is your first visit to the area it would be a good idea to study what is available before travelling because there is much to see and do. To sum up, we had a great time and are hoping to return later in the year if all goes well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all good
Liked least: The traffic could be a bit noisey
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourEyedF...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real home from home”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage is situated in a fantastic location with stunning views of the castle and surrounding countryside, practically on the doorstep. The cottage itself was extremely well equipped for a young family and very comfortable. I would definitely recommended it and would not hesitate to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to come home!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTri0
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chocolate box perfect”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Excellent accommodation with all you could wish for. Gorgeous scones upon arrival and a welcome cup of coffee. A lot of effort went into making your stay a memorable one. It is located in the heart of the village of Corfe Castle within easy walking distance from the castle and lovely views of the castle from your doorstep. The living areas are so comfortable and spacious and there is nothing you would miss in the kitchen. We had a lovely stay and from the minute we made the booking the interaction with the owner was swift and professional (to the point of keeping us updated on flood risk). When in the area again we would love to make use of this cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling the cottage gave you when you entered - home from home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spett2014
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wissett Cottage - stunning property in Dorset”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This is our second year staying at Wissett Cottage and both times it has been extremely well equiped for all our needs. The rooms are full of character and charm while giving all round comfort. Supplies for a cuppa on arrival very welcome as was the kindling and logs for the wood burner. The addition of wi-fi this year was appreciated. Booking, contact and information given by owner was very efficient and friendly. The cottage has plenty of space for a family stay and having off road parking a real bonus. The surrounding area has a wide selection of activities and places to visit from the lovely seaside town of Swanage to the stunning castle at Corfe. A cottage and county not to be missed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing