We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Convenient and cosy accommodation in centre of...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hill View Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hill View Cottage Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Hill View Cottage
Dining Area
Fireplace - Log effect fire
Kitchenette
Rear Garden
Inglenook Fireplace
Kitchen Diner
Double Bedroom
View from Garden
View from Cottage Garden
Courtyard
Shower Room
Lounge/Dining
Rear Garden Patio
View of Corfe Castle from Kingston
Corfe Castle Station
Lulworth Cove
Lulworth Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
markringr...
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient and cosy accommodation in centre of Corfe Castle”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Hill View cottage is the perfect location to base yourself for a visit to Purbeck being 2 minutes from the centre of Corfe Castle and with easy access to routes east to Swanage and west to Wareham. If walking is your thing then in 1 minute you can be on the trails

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenient cosy location
Liked least: Road outside front door quiet but cars do fly by
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoAndLeig...
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A peaceful getaway”
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Hill View Cottage was a wonderful place to stay for our ten days in Corfe Castle. It was a delightful place to use a a base to explore Dorset. Everything about the cottage, the fireplace, the living area, the kitchen, the breakfast room, was just right. We only used the front upstairs bedroom and the bed was very comfortable. The stairs are a bit steep and narrow and you might have to duck under some of the doorways. The shower in the downstairs bath had plenty of water pressure and hot water. The garden was very quiet and you could see Corfe Castle from the seating area in the back. The parking space provided in the City Car Park was only a two or three minute walk and provided you with a lovely view of The Castle. The wifi worked well in the living area and bedroom. If any assistance is needed help is right next door. We usually stay in B & B's so it was really nice to have a cozy cottage to come back to every night and spread out a bit. Would definitely recommend Hill View Cottage and would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of a home away from home.
Liked least: Everything was great.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Chocolate box cottage”
Reviewed November 21, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Hillview cottage as a surprise birthday treat for my sister.... and what a treat it was for her and the rest of the party. Hillview cottage is like something you would see on an old fashioned chocolate box, it is situated in a small village, which equally lends itself to times gone by. Once inside the cottage you have all the comforts of home, comfy sofas, gas fire, TV, DVD and CD players, also everything you will need to cook a meal. Large dining table. The cottage has central heating but we found we did not always need the heating.... although it was November the cottage was warm. The staircase is quite steep so would not be suitable for someone with mobility problems,( I think this is pointed out by the owner) The bedrooms are quite small, the main bedroom has a kingsize bed which was very comfortable, ceiling beams really added to the feel of the cottage. The second bedroom was very small (it is a cottage!) with bunk beds and a small chest of drawers. There is a toilet upstairs and a shower and toilet at the back of the cottage downstairs. The cottage is very clean throughout and towels and bed linen, which are provided by the owners, are clean and fresh. The owners live next door but do not disturb unless you require anything. If you are eating out we recommend The Castle Inn without a doubt the best food we have tasted in a long time. Overall there is absolutely nothing more the owners could do to make a stay in this cottage more enjoyable. My only comment is that in my opinion the cottage is more suited to a family with young children/teens/young adults. purely because of bunk beds, we are all in the over 60s group! but the owner did point out about the beds when booking. We all enjoyed our stay VERY much and would definitely recommend Hillview cottage to anyone looking for a quiet comfortable break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Bunk beds!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
56default
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic cottage, everything we needed and more”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A wonderful homely cottage in a great location. Everything we needed for a fantastic half term break. The owner was very helpful with all enquiries during booking and the cottage more than lived up to previous reviews. The kids are already asking when we can go back! If you're staying in Corfe, stay here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isato
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs& Mr”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Cozy, home away from home, great location tucked in a beautiful village.
Quiet, just perfect!
Excellent communication with owner. Don't think twice, you won't be disappointed! Family of 3 with a child of 4.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachc1981
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect and peaceful”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from a week here as a family of 4 with two young children aged 6 and 3. The village of corfe castle is picture postcard perfect, and this cottage a true gem.
Everything within the cottage fits just right, it's beautifully furnished and feels really homely and relaxing. The kitchen contains everything you need and more for a self catering holiday and the bonus of the washer drier was a godsend on our wet week away. There's a main bathroom downstairs with shower, but also a toilet and sink upstairs. Our room was warm, the bed extremely comfortable. Our kids loved the midi bunk beds in the second room and slept great every night - a lie in might have been nice though!!
The garden outside is beautiful, and though there are steps, like the cottage it is very child friendly.
We found so much we wanted to do in the area a week really wasn't enough. Our kids particularly loved the steam train and then the beach in swanage and a local kids farm called putlake. If you're looking for a nice meal steak-a-saurus in nearby wareham was our hands down meal of the week.
This cottage, and in this location we couldn't recommend enough. If we ever plan on visiting the area we'd without doubt stay here again. I imagine it's beautiful year round, and the lovely fire would make for a cozy winter break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy W
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Hill View Cottage is a credit to the owners. Well appointed and plenty of room. We are a family of 2 adults and a teenager and had plenty of room. Nice Cosy Living room with Inglenook fire(Gas fired) A decent size kitchen so you can prepare your own meals if you want to. extremely comfy beds makes you feel right at home and excellent Wi-Fi as well . It also has a large Garden with a Breakfast patio, Raised Patio with sun loungers and a lovely Decked area at the top of the garden to relax with a bottle of wine with views of the castle. In the pretty little village there is 2 excellent Pubs the Grey hound which is at the foot of the Castle and the Castle Inn. serving good food and drink, Old fashioned sweet shop, Shop for good local produce and a excellent Bakery. There are Good Transport links A steam Train Service that runs to Swanage or the Breezer Buses. The Cottage is a ideal place if you want to visit the Purbecks very close to many beaches.
We had a wonderful week in Hill View Cottage and wished we booked for longer and will definitely book again for a stay in the area. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing