We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely dog-friendly cottage in a fabulous location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hill View Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hill View Cottage Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Hill View Cottage
Dining Area
Fireplace - Log effect fire
Kitchenette
Rear Garden
Inglenook Fireplace
Kitchen Diner
Double Bedroom
View from Garden
View from Cottage Garden
Courtyard
Shower Room
Lounge/Dining
Rear Garden Patio
View of Corfe Castle from Kingston
Corfe Castle Station
Lulworth Cove
Lulworth Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debs_A_H
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely dog-friendly cottage in a fabulous location”
Reviewed January 16, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed here with our two dogs for 8 days in January. The cottage has great character, was really cosy and felt like home. It is ideally located for exploring the Isle of Purbeck and Jurassic coast. There is a great view of Corfe Castle from the garden, and the village is a very short walk. Although most of the village was closed down for the winter we still managed to find some decent local dog-friendly pubs. Studland Beach is a short drive away and was fabulous to walk the dogs. Also nearby are Tyneham village, Swanage, Durlston Park, Durdle Door and Lulworth Bay and Castle. You can get to most Dorset villages within an hour. Cooking in the kitchen was a bit of a challenge at times but we managed. The wi-fi was fast and reliable. We had no issues with the TV, and the sofa is comfy. The gas fire is wonderful and brightened up the January evenings! Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The stairs!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen-Wor...
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Christmas at Hill View Cottage”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

What a lovely cosy cottage to spend Christmas! Very well equipped, the owners had even put some decorations up which made it so cosy sitting round the very impressive fire in the Inglenook fireplace. Eateries excellent so many to choose from. The Santa Steam train to Swanage was a must! As a couple we really enjoyed the whole experience of going away for Christmas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy feeling you felt when entering through the door.
Liked least: Could not find fault
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sdunne90
1 review
“Beautiful, welcoming, quaint!”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was a very last minute booking, we enquired for the specific date, heard within an hour from Mike that the date was free. Mike was very friendly and made us all feel comfortable. The cottage is so so beautiful, inside it is fit to suit a whole family, has a very warm and homely cottage. Would most definitely recommend. We have booked dates again and did so almost immediately. Very very happy and impressed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradwana
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Corfe Castle Corker”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Recently had a two night stay in this lovely two bed period Purbeck cottage with my wife and one year old daughter.
What is evident immediately upon arrival is the tasteful mondernisation which the owners have invested in and the rationalisation of such a confined space. The lounge area is dominated by the open fire place and large suite. A large dining table is supplied with seating on the ground floor window sill for guests and would accommodate a large party of six to eight.
The property has been extended to the rear at ground level with a well appointed, modern kitchen and breakfast bar which leads to a shower room and toilet.
Upstairs is accessable from a tight wooden staircase. The main bedroom at the front has room for a travel cot and the second bedroom has bunk beds for older children. A small toilet is also situated opposite the main bedroom but would be tricky to negotiate quietly in the dark if you are as tall as me.
The cottage is located next to the owners home so help is at hand.
Parking for one vehicle is available off site in a nearby residents only car park.
The big plus for us is that the cottage is ideally located for access to Corfe Castle village and the castle itself and also gives access to the wider Purbeck environment via the excellent Swanage Steam Railway during the summer months.
A minor moan would be that a stair gate would be useful for small children but we did alright without.
Hill View is a little corker of a cottage which certainly made an impression on us all.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma P
2 reviews
“Cosy, comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in Hill View Cottage for a week with 2 children (5 & 12). The house is perfect, clean, comfortable and convenient for exploring the local and surrounding areas. We would definately recommend and hope to stay again in the near future. Many thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property overall and locality
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen b
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in stunning, historic village.”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Hill View is a very pretty, clean and comfortable cottage in the picturesque village of Corfe Castle. The cottage was more spacious than we expected and ideal for a family of four. It was a perfect base for exploring the Isle of Purbeck. We would recommend the Castle with it's medieval history and stunning views and the Model village for a great day out without the car. We also took the train into Swanage for an evening out with fish & chips by the sea.
Knoll beach at Studland was fantastic, being National Trust there were good facilities and we would recommend the cream tea's! The beach itself was sandy and very clean.
There are several nice pubs in Corfe Castle itself, as well as The Halfway Inn between Corfe & Wareham which served great food.
We would definitely recommend Hill View and hopefully will return in the future.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah N
1 review
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at the end of July for 1 week & had the most amazing time. Fabulous cottage, lovely & clean had everything you need for a holiday. Really comfy beds, my 2 girls loved the bunk beds. Hot powerful shower, small but perfectly formed kitchen & very secure garden for our dog. Had great weather which made the week even better. My husband & daughter walked into the village square in the mornings for fresh bread & crossiants. Just perfect. Hopefully we will be booking again for next summer.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;