We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2014

Just arrived back from a perfect short stay at this charming and character hotel. Yes, the hotel bedrooms are a little dated but this adds to the charm.
The staff were attentive, friendly and made us feel very welcome. With regards to the food we found breakfast and evening meals were of an excellent standard and reasonably priced, all food tasted as though freshly prepared in the kitchen from quality local sources. Location superb with easy access to local attractions. We will definitely be returning especially to room 2.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 983 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2014

The staff, service, breakfast.location and communal areas were great. The bedrooms were very disappointing - tired, shabby, dated, small - not worth the luxury rates which is a real shame as the the building itself is very charming.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank H A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

I agree the hotel would benefit from a make over but we found the majority of staff charming and helpful. The food was excellent and we didn't mind waiting a while for breakfast as it confirmed my haddock was being freshly prepared. Our experience of having a pre dinner drink n the bar whilst our dinner order was taken , was one if a relaxed start to our evening. We didn't experience any unacceptable wait for anything - we were on holiday and happy to operate at a slower pace! The setting in terms of the view of the castle and the sound of the steam railway was true picture card perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Superb building, lovely village, nice hotel grounds, staff doing their best. The hotel owners, whoever they may be need to get to their hotel as soon as is physically possible to sort out the myriad of problems that guests are having to suffer. The AA also need to visit before their 2 rosette rating becomes a laughing stock. Dry bread sandwiches with no presentation. The debacle of dinner times being adhered to, had to wait 40 minutes for order to be taken and an hour to be seated, another 20 minutes waiting for food that was under cooked and luke warm. Difficulty making the waitress understand our chips were solid in the middle, used sign language to get my message across. She brought one portion of chips to the table 5 minutes later, we shared them. Wine ordered was plonked on table. Elderflower ordered with no ice, arrived 15 minutes later, with ice. No draught lager or beer. Ordered cheese for dessert, supposed to have soda bread with it, came with biscuits and Melba toast, we had now become very tired of this less than enjoyable experience and decided to check out in the morning. This was what I booked- Tariff: £420.00 to include Full English Breakfast and Evening Meal on our food lovers offer.(You will have a £39 per person allowance towards our extensive A La carte menu). Please note it says 'food lovers' and it says ' extensive menu', neither of which are true statements from our experience. There was no organisation and no duty manager to sort out problems. We were not offered any compensation other than not being charged for the second night because we were leaving earlier than booked. My husband explained all the problems we and other guests had when the duty manager was on duty the following morning and she asked us to stay and she would personally make sure we were looked after, we declined the offer. A hotel should not rely on one person to be there to make sure guests are getting what they paid for.This was supposed to be a relaxing two days away, enjoying good food and visiting family nearby, it was ruined by the way this hotel is being neglected. Other incidentals - Unclean bath and tiles, shower that is not a shower and needs removing or replacing. Flaking paint on the bathroom ceiling, cracked or missing grouting around tiles. Drawers where the knob falls off when you try and open it. Uncomfortable bed, shabby headboard, broken hanger, dusty wardrobe. Old unclean looking phone/alarm, clock on wall in room not working. All of these incidentals I can usually put up with, but at the end of the day why should I? They could all be resolved with care and attention. In my opinion this hotel needs a deep clean, a recruitment campaign and a training event for all restaurant and kitchen staff. I could go on, but other guests from other countries who were also experiencing the same nightmare evening must make their own comments, but if I repeated what they discussed with us, their message is the same - Where are the owners? Someone needs to take this beautiful building to a level that it deserves.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank rocksandsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Wonderful characterful hotel. We had a lovely room - very comfortable and with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside from both the bedroom and the bathroom windows. Food was excellent. The staff were amazing. Really can't praise them enough. The attention to detail was first class providing us with a truly hitch free (excuse the pun) perfect occasion to be treasured always. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed for two nights and were very disappointed overall. We knew the location was good, being in the village, and that it was an interesting building, but it definitely did not live up to expectations. Reception etc were OK but our bedroom (No 2) was tired and shabby, very much a 'past glory' theme and the bathroom was totally inadequate for two people as it was so small with a trickle of a shower. As our room overlooked the car park, constant gravel crunching could be heard, along with load voices every time there was someone in reception, so hardly relaxing! Breakfast itself was OK, but service was dreadful, with a wait of more than 30 mins on our first morning for the cooked breakfast, and almost as long on the second. We did not bother to try the restaurant for any other meal.

Room Tip: Definitely make sure you don't get Room 2, although doubtful others are any better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights after spending the previous night in Christchurch.

Lovely hotel setting and a lovely old building plenty of parking and within 100 yards of the village.
All of the downstairs was very nice but our room was not so nice.
We did like the aged theme but room, number 5, was very very tired and hugely disappointing given the grand reception area. The room was large enough but the bathroom very small, no where even for toiletries,and the shower being barely adequate.
Breakfast was very good and although the restaurant had a very good reputation we chose to eat out both nights.

Room Tip: Avoid room5 not sure about others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chriswoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.4 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland
308 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
455 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
3.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
410 reviews
8.6 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range: $132 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing