We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Autumn break in superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I had a three night stay in October. We had stayed here before and enjoyed both stays. One vast improvement was the restaurant menu. The quality of the food was excellent on both occasions but now the menu is more varied and changes daily.
The room are very well supplied with all needs and room 11 especially having two windows can view the Swanage steam railway from both windows and the castle from the window in the bathroom.
The staff are both efficient and friendly. Every need and request is catered for.
We had great value for money and I expect we will return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
There are newer reviews for Mortons House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 950 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

After having eaten at the restaurant a couple of times for special occaisions, I had always found the staff attentive, polite and friendly without going over the top - so I booked the special offer room for a night including a Christmas menu as a pre Christmas r and r.
We were looked after from arrival to departure with the care and attention that you would expect but very seldom receive from larger establishments. Our room was of good size and had a fantastic view of the hills. The food, even though a special reduced cost Christmas menu was every bit as good as the a la carte menu outside of the Christmas period. The hotel was by no means full - and I can only think that perhaps a little advertising would not go amiss..

Room Tip: If a couple - ask for a four poster, always try to get a castle view
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susantreadwell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Front Office Manager at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

So pleased you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our offer to stay overnight when dining off our Christmas menu. Do come back and see us again soon, but in the meantime, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

If you are looking for a friendly, warm and cosy hotel with a large log fire and cosy chairs in the living room this is the place for you! This was our second visit and we enjoyed it as much as the first.

Set in the beautiful village of Corfe and walking distance of the castle it boasts a wonderful location.

We spent an afternoon browsing around the quaint shops of Swanage and stopped for a coffee overlooking the sea.

The dinner we received was excellent, definitely to be recommended.

A wonderful stay, a real retreat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Front Office Manager at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We were pleased to read that you felt totally relaxed during your stay, in our cosy ambience! Do come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great location close to the quaint village of Corfe with views of the castle as well! elegant decor recently refurbished attention to detail by the staff is very good a sign the owners are on top of things!!

A little pricy but all in all no complaints a worth while stay in a great setting

Room Tip: ask for the room with distinct view of the castle!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toursbytristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was a treat booking and first impressions were very good. Corfe Castle is a stunning village, Mortons House is a beautiful building with real atmosphere, the staff were friendly and welcoming and our room was large and smart. However, the shower over our bath dripped constantly (and given the rust at the base of the shower-head had bee doing so for some time) to the extent that we had to lie it in the bath. The tea and coffee selection in the room was very limited - in similar priced places we have stayed recently there have been a selection of different teas, coffees and fresh milk in a flask, not UHT. The biggest negative however, was given that the restaurant is "acclaimed" I would expect more than one vegetarian choice, and not to have the same singular choice both nights. It is all very well to say the chef will make anything we want - we are on a holiday we do not want to be involved in designing the menu we want to rest. On the up side the Eton Mess dessert was truly stunning and TheGreyhound Inn in the village provided an excellent venue for the second nights meal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goose1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was our third visit to Mortons House: We arrived & the car park was packed, we were expecting a great festive atmosphere. What has happened? This used to be a destination place for Sunday lunch for people from Poole & surrounding areas! The restaurant was empty, just 3 couples including us for Christmas lunch!
Gone are the nice starched white linen table cloths & napkins, replaced with "pub tables" Restaurant failed to impress not only us but the other couple too.
I can't fault the staff, service or quality of the meal, however there it stops! This used to be an "event" Christmas Lunch at Mortons what a disappointment!
So whilst I understand the owners are away practising their "downhill skills" sadly their hotel is going the same way! The large wedding & the guest jumping in the fish pond from the previous evening testament to where they are now setting their sights!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GraylingDorsetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

At arrival, I was impressed by the building and the gardens, entering the hotel I was pleased by the friendliness of the staff, after the tour through the hotel, I was delighted by the tasteful decor and furnishing. Also the room was a place to feel confortable and cosy and I really felt like in an traditional English cottage.
The evening was on top of that an exceptional experience - looked after by the most perfect and friendly staff, excellent dining in the cosy restaurant ( the mussels and the steak were just fantastic beyond words ) and a relaxed after dinner chat in front of the fireplace. One can not expect more from a stay - THANK YOU ALL, I definitely will come back!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We're pleased to read that you felt so relaxed and welcomed during your stay and we very much look forward to seeing you again. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
943 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,186 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
375 reviews
3.4 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range: $174 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing