We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in the middle of history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I have now stayed at Mortons twice. both visits were for 6 days. In 6 days you can find fault in any Hotel you like. We found no faults at Mortons House Hotel. In fact they impressed us as the days went on. The food was excellent the log fire welcoming and the building was impressive just like the village. They even catered for a special meal we asked if they could produce. The first time we stayed was to be able to just drive through the village to take in the view of Corfe Castle which appears down the centre of the village, it has to be the most spectacular view anywhere. We chose Mortons as it was a short walk to the castle and the steam railway to Swanage, write ups also gave us the right impressions.
I have left the staff till last, the staff were all very kind and genuine and the best I have come across in any hotel. You only get staff like that if they like working for the owners and it seems they do. They were on the ball and never let us down once. We ate in the restaurant every night, we would sit by the log fire, they gave us menu's we chose the meal and when it was ready they came and escorted us to the table.
Type into google "images of Corfe castle" and "Images of Mortons House Hotel" and you will see what we mean about Corfe castle and the village.

Room Tip: You can get rooms either in the main house or a wing built onto the house at the back with sort of y...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Your lovely comments are most welcome and will certainly be passed on to the staff. It's pleasing to read that you enjoyed every aspect of what we have to offer and look forward to a return visit from yourselves. We never get bored of the wonderful village and magnificent view of the castle, from my office window! Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 963 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have just got married at Morton's House. The whole experience from meeting Bev to the actual day went superbly. The organisation, the staff, the food were all superb. All our guests commented on what a memorable day it was and certainly will be for us for a long time to come. The staff were amazing and good fun with it. I would recommend exclusive use as it meant we could just relax for the whole day throughout the hotel. My husband and I shall certainly be returning to celebrate our Anniversary next year! Faultless and in a beautiful setting!!

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JO R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you both so much for your lovely words! It was a pleasure being involved from start to finish and I look forward to seeing you both again on your anniversary if not before! With my best wishes, Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was a lovely stay in a wonderful Hotel...the rooms was so lovely and spacious with the view of Corfe Castle ...surrounding area is lovely for walks and a must to see Corfe Castle and a short trip to Swanage if you have time

Room Tip: I am sure any room would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suesfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

So pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and also for taking the time to leave your comments. Look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future! Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We've used Mortons House for over 20 years but this stay was extra special. Some new blood behind the desk, in the lounges and dining room brought a new sense of fun and connectivity with my 18 guests and wife. Laughter abounded: meals superb: service quite excellent. Well done girls!

Room Tip: Try for Purbeck Suite - away from the main house and boasts a small sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sploger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

It was once again, lovely to welcome our annual shooting to party to Mortons House. Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed on to the staff. Looking forward to the next one!
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Mortons House Hotel and we would like to thank the staff for making us feel so very happy and we cannot wait to come back again. The food was lovely and the location was excellent, everyone was so friendly,a sheer pleasure.

Thank you so very much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comment on this site. It is much appreciated by all of us. See you again soon hopefully! best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at Mortons House Hotel along with half of our guests for our wedding in Corfe/Swanage for 3 days 26 - 28th September 2013.

We originally considered Mortons for our wedding venue, but due to our guest numbers wasn't practical.

Beverley was fantastic at co-ordinating our stay and making sure every detail was in place. We were in regular contact during the preparations for our wedding to ensure we and our guests had a pleasurable stay and nothing was too much trouble in the lead up to our wedding, many an email was exchanged and face to face meetings on our visits down to Dorset proved very useful including local wedding supplier recommendations.

On arrival we had a warm welcome and was very well looked after throughout our stay including a quick turnaround on housekeeping to make sure we had the bridal suite for wedding preps on the morning of the wedding, and 3 members of staff helping me and the bridesmaids to move all of our luggage from the Purbeck suite to the Elizabethan Suite.

All staff were really helpful and friendly from reception staff to bar staff to dinner and breakfast staff - absolutely faultless.

All of the staff efforts made our wedding weekend even more perfect, so truly want to thank you all for your efforts to ensure we were all kept smiling! I can't tell you what a difference it made!

Would recommend anyone to stay here especially for a big event and requiring help with the coordination as they are exceptional at it! We will certainly be back for our anniversary's for many years to come!

We stayed in the Purbeck suite and Elizabethan suite and found both rooms spotlessly clean and comfortable. We especially loved the luxury of the Elizabethan suite but would expect nothing less from a honeymoon suite!

We were also informed by our guests that the disabled facilities were excellent.

We are so pleased that Mortons House became such a big part of our Wedding

Thanks to Bev and all at Mortons for a pleasant and memorable stay!

Room Tip: Elizabethan Suite - fabulous honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a delight having you and the family staying with us during you wedding celebrations. Wishing you both lots of luck and happiness. Best regards, Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We enjoyed a three night break at Mortons house in October and were impressed with the high level of service throughout. We also needed a relaxing bit of 'time out' and were not disappointed - cosy overall ambience, log fire, no visible televisions in public areas, no hassle with room cleaning etc. Importantly, for someone with FODMAP dietary requirements, all meals were easy to discuss and fine tune the details from a great menu. Seafood - scallops, monk fish and crab was particularly excellent.

Only down side was the poor sound insulation in the walls of the rooms in the annex. Fortunately when we stayed, all guests retired at about the same time so noise was not a major issue, but we couldn't help overhearing a conversation from the room opposite as we dropped off! Ironic that it is the newer part of the building which lets it down.

And so many great walks around Swannage, Corfe Castle and of course the Steam Train. We will return next time we need batteries re-charging!

Room Tip: Avoid the annex which has minimal sound insulation between rooms and corridors etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brog721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
953 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland
247 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
383 reviews
3.4 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range: $155 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing