We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
devon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely experience, great location”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Last minute booking for just one night to visit an area of the south we'd never been to.
From booking to departure, lovely and helpful staff.
The location is fantastic, right next to a beautiful steam railway, a real must.
Safe and plentiful parking at the hotel a real plus for the village.
Breaksfast choice was great but we stuck to cereal as full from the cream team the night before.
My only quibble was the mattress, it was so hard but we are used to memory foam these days. If we were staying any longer I would have mentioned it, and on checkout they said there are toppers or would have swapped it.
As a one off treat, and the good deal I got, the price was acceptable. But the full tarriff I feel is a bit steep for the present climate.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    227
    99
    36
    12
See reviews for
181
554
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for our 20th wedding anniversary. Arrived around 4 pm after visiting the local sites of Durdle Door and Corfe Castle. We'd booked room 11 purely for the views and previous reviews and it was lovely. Very spacious. Great view of castle from bathroom and the station from the bedroom. Would mention that there is no bath mat in the bath so it can get quite slippery. Bed was very comfortable. Freshened up and went to the local pubs for a drink before dinner. Arrived back and was shown to the oak room and given a menu to peruse. Then a lady appeared with two glasses of champagne for our anniversary. We wasn't expecting that at all. My hubby had mentioned during conversation on checking in the purpose of our stay so I guess that's why we got them. A lovely touch. Dinner was lovely. Very well presented too. Then after dessert another plate arrived with some small delights with happy anniversary written on the side in chocolate. Another nice touch. Overall a little pricey but the hotel is in a great location and the food is very good too. Would definitely recommend for that special occasion.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joby_lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I took our elderly parents (86,88 and 92) for 2 nights. Dacomb rooms brilliantly equipped with easy access, plenty of space in the rooms and a well designed bathroom for those who need a bit more help. Food was great with a cracking cooked breakfast using local produce and home made bread. Most importantly all the team were friendly and helpful and made the trip a real pleasure!! Thoroughly recommend the hotel and the area where there is plenty to do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just had really nice 2 nights + breakfast here at Mortons in a standard room.The room had plenty of space and bathroom was good,towels excellent .The breakfast was fine,add in the ample parking and an evening meal menu which spoils for choice.Best of all the staff of which there are plenty always were pleasant and helpful. Lulworth and its castle 15min drive even Lyme Regis for fossiliferous people just under an hour.
Wouldn't think twice about re booking and for those into ceramics check out the shop opp.the hotel entrance for really unique pieces.
Thank you Mick Downes.

Room Tip: visit website !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and managed to do lots of exploring! We do hope you come back and see us soon - keep an eye out for our offers on our website. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Let's get one thing straight.....the public rooms are lovely, the terrace (albeit overlooking the car park) is very relaxing & it's right in the middle of Corfe..... Our bedroom was nice (room 14) clean & bright......okay, the bathroom was minuscule & the bathroom door banged into the sink whenever you opened it, but it's an old house so allowances should be made - however there were stale urine stains behind the toilet and the bath was cheap plastic.....
And then there was the bed......possibly the worst bed we have ever slept in, lumpy & incredibly uncomfortable.....in fact it was so bad that, although we had booked & paid for a 2 night bed & breakfast stay (through secret escapes) we left after the first night .....
The staff weren't really interested - we paid our bill (£133 for a not very warm meal & a few drinks was extortionate) & no attempt was made to offer an apology ( let alone a discount ). That's fine....it just wasn't right for us....but perhaps their customer service should be looked at....
On a final note, an English breakfast isn't 'nouvelle cuisine' so please do not pile it into a tower.....although one sliver of bacon, one sausage, one (very small) egg & a few mushrooms may look lost on a big plate....

Room Tip: NOT room 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dhana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. It is rare we receive comments such as these, particularly about customer service, as you can see from most of the reviews we receive. It is something that we work hard on, in our in-house training. We will also look into the situation regarding the bed, as it is the first time this comment has been made.

We would very much like to have the opportunity to remedy the situation so if you would like to give me a call, we can discuss further.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-on-Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just returned from a short break.What struck me was how friendly but professional the young waiting staff are.It is a very atmospheric hotel and there is a lovely sunny courtyard outside to sit in with goldfish. Beautiful tudor buildings set in the backdrop of Corfe castle....who could ask for more? Food was lovely and much nicer than 4 star hotels I've stayed in, especially the desserts which are to die for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments. We're pleased you enjoyed your break with us, particularly the food! We very much look forward to seeing you again. Do keep an eye on our offers on our website.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Marston, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our third time at Mortons House, all staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
We had the most enjoyable time dressing up and having fun around the theme of Poirot all weekend! Food was excellent and catered for all our needs, clean plates all round. We plan to return.
Thanks to Bev for helping to make the weekend to be sucessfull once again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
930 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#4 of 6 in Swanage
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,170 reviews
5.7 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,480 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Property: Mortons House Hotel
Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing