We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked day of arrival after a list minute trip to Corfe Castle. We were so happy we stayed here. Rooms were charming and spacious. Staff were so wonderful! Breakfast was nice following morning but the scrambled eggs were a little sketchy but EVERYTHING else at breakfast was delicious (it's EARLY beware and only for 1 hour). Overall we enjoyed our stay as did the other couple that stayed the same night. WE ate at at the Castle Inn instead of hotel restaurant and it was SOO nice! Go for it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandJNYUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    227
    99
    36
    12
See reviews for
181
554
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for the New Year celebrations and enjoyed it so much that we extended our visit.
The hotel is in a good location, quiet and picturesque and in the heart of Corfe. The bedroom was beautifully decorated with a large and comfortable bed, a good en suite bathroom and I was delighted to finally stay in a hotel that provides enough drawer space for its' guests, something that most hotels seem to overlook.
Dinner was excellent, particularly on New Years' Eve, although as the menu didn't change during the rest of our stay I could imagine that I might have found it rather limited had we stayed longer than the four days we did stay. On the plus side the chefs do offer to cook any dish of your own choice given 24 hours notice. Breakfast was always excellent.
The oak panelled lounge was spacious and comfortable with a roaring log fire, although I did find the lighting rather poor for reading by.
The owners were very welcoming and the staff were outstanding, always attentive and always with a smile.
I shall recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the back of the hotel so I couldn't comment about any of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here for New Year. This was our third stay and the food on all occasions has been fantastic. Some of the bedrooms are quirky - ours had a wardrobe in the bathroom, although this is described as a separate dressing room. Our bedroom was huge with ample room to place a wardrobe however.
The New Year package is good, very low key, no entertainment in the hotel but people gather in the village at midnight for drinks and fireworks. This suited us perfectly and we received a welcome glass of champagne on our return to the hotel. The staem train runs to Swangae on New Years Day enabling us to travel there and walk along the seafront wihout using our car. Brilliant.

If you want a stylish break with excellent food this is the place to go - but sadly, the 2 night package only included coffee after the meal on the first night. On the second night it was an "extra" as were quite a few items on the menu. After paying over £700 this seemed rather mean.

Room Tip: It is a very old building - be prepared for creaking pipes and floorboards. It's all part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troutins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had a fantastic few days at Mortons between Christmas and New Years. Food and service was fantastic,hotel very good and in a supurb location. Only 1 critique is the rooms are slightly dated. Otherwise great

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobias d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable New Year's break at Morton's House Hotel in Corfe Castle village. It's more comfortable than luxurious (don't expect a large room) but the service is friendly and attentive without being fussy. The restaurant is unusually good for a hotel of its class. Whilst justifying the epithet of 'fine dining', its menu - using fresh, mostly local ingredients - is comfortingly unadventurous with a matching wine list that emphasizes good new world wines and will please all but the most exacting guests. The cooking is well executed and presented and the service is exceptionally well managed. The breakfast was perfect. We especially liked the porridge, the homemade bread, the kippers and the poached eggs on muffins. The building is of significant historical interest and the homely decor and furnishings complement this to some extent albeit with a touch of modernism. The delightful Oak Room lounge with its real fire is well stocked with magazines and newspapers and is an ideal place for a cream tea or hot toddy. There are some great walks to be had in the area and the castle and steam train add to the historical ambience of the delightful village. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Our room in the loft to the south of house was fairly small with barely adequate clothing-, luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garganey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just back form my sisters wedding at Moretons House Hotel. It was the perfect wedding venue, the ambience, staff and food could not have been better. Fabulous day and stay over for two nights. Very very highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft room for families with a view of corfe castle - couldn't have been any bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelN71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Although we have been to Mortons many times this was our first Christmas. I can only say that we have booked again for next year already. This is the most beautiful small hotel with suberb food, excellent friendly staff, a very comfortable atmosphere and a beautiful open log fire. The bedrooms each have their own character and are exquisitly clean and comfortable. Some have views of the castle and the steam train running from Corfe to Swanage. A big 'thank-you' to Ted, Bev and all the staff - we have made new friends and all hope to meet up again next year - but we'll be back before then.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel18Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
930 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#4 of 6 in Swanage
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,170 reviews
5.7 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,480 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Property: Mortons House Hotel
Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing