We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tries very hard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Went to Mortons for one night. Stayed in room 2 - nice room with long sleigh bed though bathroom very cramped. Suspect no choice as Ellizabethan part of the house so bathroom must have been added much later. Menu was limited - though did say would cook anything you wanted with 24 or 48hrs notice. The food we had was very good, interesting and well cooked. Service varied. Everyone was very willing and wanted to serve but occasionally didn't understand what customer service really was. e.g. when offered bread (locally or home baked and very good) was left with the impression that having more than one piece really wasn't on. So maybe very 'english' with a small e. Location of hotel great and was able to walk to see all of the village and Corfe castle (which opened at 10:00 am on a Sunday)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joules53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us and am pleased to read you enjoyed your visit. I'm pleased you also enjoyed our home-made bread - I will ensure the staff are made aware that the supply should be unlimited. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future. best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 963 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Have stayed here twice and both times service, food, rooms, and the location is brilliant! I couldn't fault anything about the hotel and would stay here again. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable! The best thing about mortons house hotel would have to be the food, it was amazing! The portion sizes were perfect, have tried a few things on the menu and couldn't say a bad word about any of it! Would recommend this hotel to everyone would definitely rate 10/10! Will definitely be coming back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemi92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I'm so pleased you particularly enjoyed our restaurant. Do come back again soon! Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a much needed, two night DBB stay and after a difficult year due to my disability I was more than a little apprehensive. We were met on arrival by a young Australian receptionist who made us both feel immediately relaxed. She escorted us to our room which was away from the main hotel and was the designated 'wheelchair accessible' section. The disabled parking was excellent and the pathways were well lit at night and easily managed. Access to all relevant parts of the hotel ie: dining room, lounges, bar and reception was superb. I found copious amounts of space to manoevre and the disabled loo was roomy, well lit, spotlessly clean, warm and well adapted. The staff were all relaxed, friendly and the whole atmosphere was very comfortable, even though we were in rooms seperate from the main building we never felt left out. This was a first for us and we were more than happy to get on Trip Advisor and give credit were credit is due. The food was excellent on both nights by the way. Not over-faced at any time and the courses were all beautifully presented, especially the elaborate main course 'ta da!' Breakfast was substantial and the only positive I could give to the 'moaners' was an overdone poached egg and that was it!

Room Tip: Dackombe - room 21 was spacious, warm and fully accessible for my wheelchair
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancysherlifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments on here. We are proud of our 'accessible' accommodation and are so pleased they suited your purposes. It's also pleasing to read you enjoyed your restaurant experiences. Do come back and visit us again! With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

At GBP160 a night the room rate was really dreadful value. The room we were given was small, the wallpaper was peeling off, the paint had come off the radiator in the bathroom which was now rusty, the TV was tiny, the mattress was lumpy, one small pillow each....I could go on...
We were assured that a renovation program is in progress but the rate for the un-renovated rooms should be rock bottom.
The fact that there is wifi is even advertised on the gate but unless you are less than 15 feet from reception don't expect to get the signal, a single domestic router doesn't do the job.
Breakfast was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room or go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smb1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us. After a busy season, some cosmetic 'tidying up' needs to be done, and these have now been rectified in the room your were allocated. This is also the time of year we embark on our refurbishment as things quieten down a little. This week we have had WiFi installed in the whole of the hotel (again not an easy feat in a 400 year old hotel with 2 foot thick walls!)

Once again, thank you for your comments. best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We booked a 'four nights for the price of three' break offer at the last minute, and were delighted to find ourselves upgraded on arrival to the fabulous Attic Room suite. The steep stairs up to this room would not suit everyone, and it helped that neither of us are particularly tall, but we couldn't fault this lovely accommodation with its wonderful views of the castle ruins through the Velux windows; great bathroom, cosy sitting-room, comfortable bed ... romantic in every way!! Pre-dinner drinks by a roaring log fire: fabulous. Dinner: great menu choices, and utterly delicious. Breakfast: brilliantly presented cooked options, and a tempting buffet too (pears poached in Earl Grey tea ... yum!) The location of Mortons House is excellent. It's an easy stroll to the station for steam trains into Swanage, and perfectly placed for leisurely drives out to explore the Purbeck countryside. We want to go back, SOON! Philippa and Tony (from Hampshire)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quilliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Loft Room - it's certainly a popular room amongst our guests with, as you say, glorious views of Corfe Castle. It's pleasing to read you enjoyed your evening meals and our breakfasts - we're proud of our Breakfast Award! Do come back and visit us again some time! With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

But there are exceptions. Mortons House Hotel is one of those.

Three things.
One, I only post reviews on places that are either good or bad, not middle of the road experiences.
Two, I have stayed in many hotels, not just in this country, but throughout Europe.
Three, I have never posted a second review about a place.
That is not until now. And why would I do that? Because Mortons House Hotel and it's staff deserve it.
Last time I stayed there, it was between Christmas and New Year, so I thought I would try it earlier. It was exactly the same. The hotel is extremely comfortable, with well decorated rooms, has most efficient and very friendly staff, and has excellent food and dining facilities. It is set in a lovely location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank athenturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Mortons House Hotel for 2 nights, and having booked over 3 weeks in advance were hugely disappointed with the room. We put this down to having booked through secret escapes despite protestations to the contrary. The room (no 5) was small, dark and dingy with a ridiculously small bathroom which would have seriously challenged larger people, and a trickle of a shower over the bath. It also had an overly noisy fan which at least masked the noise from the nearby road.The hairdryer was of the cheap travel variety, the bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were cheap and nasty.No correlation with the website at all.
On a far more positive note, the support staff were very friendly, service was excellent and the breakfasts were first class. Moreover, if we were rating the restaurant alone it would warrant 4.5/5 only losing out a little owing to the over dependence of the wine list on the New World. One member of staff was totally on the ball remembering my request linked to medication, of the previous evening.
I feel a bit mean awarding 2 but can't get past that room, and 2 poor nights sleep. It was great to get back to our own Vi Spring bed, large bedroom and bathroom - and no traffic noise!

Room Tip: Avoid room 5!! I am sure that you could have a great break in one of the standard rooms on the websi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scampicat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
953 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland
247 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
383 reviews
3.4 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range: $155 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing