We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Dinner”
Review of Norden House - CLOSED

Norden House
Price range: $5 - $48
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Norden House has a fully licensed Restaurant with a traditional British theme. The restaurant is seasonal (open May-September) (Open December) We have a good range of locally sourced produce, Evening specials, Local Ales & Ciders. We cater for party's small and large, Private fuctions, Norden House is set within it's own grounds, we have a large garden overlooked by the Purbeck hills and Corfe Castle, Weather permitting Garden can be used for dining With our own Ducks,Peacocks & Turkeys its an enjoyable place to be especially with the family or as a couple
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We ate here whilst on holiday in Swanage, my parents have stayed at the B&B at Norden before and highly recommend it. The meal was excellent and the staff very pleasant. My mum is lactose intolerant and they adapted food on the menu for her. Lovely food, big portions & very reasonable. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fairysugardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting will go again lunch lovley”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stopped here on a Saturday on route back to Swanage at around 1ish and had Home-made soup of the day which was Butternut squash & Apple, never had this before but will be most definately be having it again delicious and good price only £3.95 !! i also had a lasagne again delicious and well priced well worth the stop around £15 including drink i think and if weather was nicer the garden would be amazing !! ***** great service aswell had a nice chat with waitress which is nice when your on your own, i had a look at the evening menu and if lunch is anything to go by i will be back with the family.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lunch at Norden House”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We ate lunch at Norden House on the strength of a cream tea we had here several years ago. The cream tea was the best I have ever had. Norden House has changed hands since then however.

We were shown into a very nice dining room, and seated at a table. (The table wobbled, a pet hate of mine, but was soon cured with a strategically placed serviette!) The waitress returned and took our order for drinks, and we studied the lunchtime menu, which consisted of about five starters, all at around £5. We both opted for the soup of the day with croutons. When it arrived it was carrot & coriander. No sign of the croutons, nor an explanation or apology. It was however served with fresh white (sliced?) bread.
It was okay, but nothing special.

A choice of about five mains, all at under £10. Again we both chose the same, a beef lasagne with chips, salad & coleslaw. The lasagne was home-made and in the Italian style (not runny & fewer tomatoes than the Anglicised version we are all used to). we both agreed it was probably the best lasagne we had ever had outside of an Italian restaurant. Just a few more herbs would have made it perfect! The chips & garnishes were good, and the portions very generous for a lunchtime menu.

Only I had room for a dessert. Again a choice of about five, all at £4.95, or a cheeseboard for about a pound more. I chose the "exotic" fruit salad with mango sorbet. The latter was very good, just how a sorbet should be. I suspect it may have been from the local "Purbeck Ice Cream" range. The fruit salad however was far from exotic; apples, grapes, orange, strawberries, plums and a touch of the exotic, kiwi fruit! But, most importantly it was very nice!

All in all a very pleasant lunch. The loos were spotlessly clean, but we were bothered by the occasional fly during the meal. A hazard of dining in a farmhouse I guess.

We would definitely go again, perhaps for an evening meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The food in the restaurant is excellent and the breakfast is absolutely incredible - loved the Kippers!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast in the garden, Lovely !!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

After staying here previously and loving the place we thought we would drive to here whilst we were staying in Bournemouth to see corfe castle so we thought why not stop in for Sunday lunch and what a great choice, we sat in the garden and had the Lamb it was delicious good portions, meat was tender & gravy was really tasty and great veg the Sunday roast was £9.50 each and worth every penny fantastic place for eating and really nice staff all round 5***** but i would recomend booking before

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LonlyPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norden House also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing