We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant coffee shop”

Corfe Castle Model Village
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: If you would like to know how the castle would have looked before destruction by Cromwell in 1646, a visit to the model village shows Corfe Castle and the village in 1/20th scale. Set in beautiful Purbeck surroundings, also with giant games, enchanted fairy garden, working stocks and pillories and croquet. There is on site the Courtyard Tea Room for good quality reasonably priced snacks with a wide range of gluten free options.
Hook, Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant coffee shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We didn't go to the model village but the coffee shop attached to it is FANTASTIC - lovely staff and fabulous cakes. Well worth a visit and you can go there without going into the model village.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    88
    31
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Disappointing attraction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I visited Corfe Castle via the Swanage steam railway and bought a combined ticket to see the Model Village as well. It was quite disappointing having wandered through the "real" village. However, the cafe/tea shop looked very nice (didn't partake as I'd already eaten at the inn near the station) and the gift shop had many interesting things to buy (but luggage-wise can't fly back to Australia!). The Model Village was quite a small scale and very boring actually.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank eillamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great coffee shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We didn't go into the model village but we had the most fabulous cream tea. Very generous portion of 2 scones, cream and jam with tea or coffee and were told to ask for extra cream or jam if we needed it. Wonderful!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Metchick08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I am glad we are now 'senior citizens' but even at a reduced price we felt that this was not worth the money. It took all of 15 minutes to look round the model village including the nature walk! Yes it is very cleverly constucted but they need more to make it worthwhile visiting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Another nice lunch at the Model Village Cafe. Good selection of sandwiches, jacket potatoes and tasty "specials", Extremely busy as it is the height of the summer holiday; we were advised our order would take half an hour but it was worth the wait. Nice friendly staff too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AMG505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corfe Castle Model Village also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Corfe Castle Model Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing