We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food”

Mortons House Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Brilliant food and service. Not the cheapest, but well worth it for a special occasion. The way the dishes was put together was great, and the taste amazing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mfwoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    48
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent standard and very consistent”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

There were no dislikes. The garden was lovely and peaceful with plenty of seating where you could eat, if weather permitted or may e a delicious cream tea

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 215Jen215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Pricey and pretentious”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Pleasant decor and ambiance but below average food quality and very expensive. Wine list unimaginative and poor value. Our evening got off to a bad start as we had to listen to a member of staff being rude and dismissive to a young couple who obviously were not used to formal dining and needed sympathetic guidance rather than haughty unpleasantness. The "amuse bouche" was some warm chicken stock with a bit of chopped tomato - a complete waste of effort. Starter portions very small indeed, main course acceptable but no more. Puddings disappointing and cheese board outrageously expensive. Despite living locally we have not eaten here before and will not be doing so again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank teddingtonsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We took my aged mother to lunch here. We were the only ones in the restaurant, but this was OK. We decided not to have a starter. My filet steak with wild mushrooms was excellent. My wife's Moroccan lamb was a little disappointing as it lacked taste, but the breaded tongue that went with it was good. My mother's chicken was very nice. Presentation was very good. The apricot Tarte Tatin with pistachio ice cream to follow was really excellent - give it a try.
We ordered a half bottle of red wine, but were a little surprised it was not opened or poured for us. We were similarly left to pour the water too.
I am a little surprised there was no lunchtime menu, but overall the meal was excellent, and we would recommend it to others.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B16SDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We liked everything. We were well cared for throughout our visit to this beautiful part of the world.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mortons House Restaurant also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Mortons House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing