We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Challow Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Corfe Castle
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Mortons House Hotel(Corfe Castle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bankes Arms Hotel(Corfe Castle)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
173
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
173
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictoria spongeon arrivaltea and cakeb battention to detaildorset apple cakeshort walkluxurious accommodationcooked optionsthought of everythinghope to return soonhomemade jamsvery special placegreat base to explorean excellent hostcomfortable bedbeautiful garden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 173 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from a delightful two night stay at Challow Farm House! The Farm House is situated a short walk away from Corfe Castle in a quiet secluded location. As we approached the property along the driveway, we were very privileged to see a deer grazing by the side of the gate. This beautiful creature allowed us to quietly take several photographs before darting into the nearby woodland!

We received a warm welcome by Kate and after escorting us to our lovely room (above the barn), we were invited back into the house for Afternoon Tea. The Garden Sitting Room is light and airy. An eclectic fusion of subtle shades of colour, rustic textures and soft candlelight makes it a relaxing and calming environment. Our tea was served along with a large slice of Kate's delicious homemade Victoria sponge - the portion being as tall as one of "Old Harry Rocks!"

We found our room and en-suite shower facility tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. The layout of the room and country style furnishings far exceeded our expectations! We had all our "creature comforts" - a small sofa, flat screen TV with DVD - (including a selection of dvd's to watch), magazines and tea and coffee making facilities! The bed was exceptionally comfortable with quality bed linen that ensured a peaceful sleep! The shower was lovely and powerful and there was a range of Molton Brown and other luxury skin and hair products! Our view from the room looked across towards the garden and a steep field where cattle were grazing!

Kate's delicious homemade breakfasts were another delight to be savoured! We were served in the breakfast room (outdoors when the weather permits.) On display was a selection of a beautifully presented platter of fresh fruit, Greek yoghurt, homemade granola, Dorset cereals and fruit juices. The menu was varied and the choices consisted of a full English breakfast, smoked kipper or haddock,French toast, pancakes each followed by toast etc! Kate will tailor for specific dietary requirements.

Thank you Kate for making our stay so irresistible and wonderful. As a proprietor and hostess Kate has a gentle, unobtrusive approach, yet is able to anticipate very well the needs of her guests. We loved Kate's "way of being", her charming bed and breakfast accommodation and the surrounding area so much that we could not resist the temptation to return next July to experience it all over again!.

Sue and Jon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Is there a more perfectly located, beautifully furnished and thoughtfully managed bed and breakfast than at Challow Farm House?

It is the attention to detail and the superb hospitality that shines through at this very special place.

From the welcoming slice of Victoria Sponge cake, so big and so delicate and fluffy that it defies belief, to the bedroom (East) in which more thought has been given than any 5* hotel we have previously stayed in.

The breakfast that Kate conjured up was a masterpiece of tastes, textures and colours.

The grounds and buildings that have been created with hard work, imagination and vision come together with a standard of hospitality in this most beautiful part of England, to answer the original question - there is no other place like Kate and Mark's Challow Farm House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Brilliant stay. Beautiful setting, subtly stylish design, locally-sourced food, friendly hosts. Great for walkers, readers, history-lovers. A level of style, service, food.. and bath products that possibly surpasses that of some five-star hotels! Thanks Kate and Mark.

Room Tip: The Barn particularly nice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oursoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just had a excellent weekend break in Corfe Castle, our stay at Challow Farm House B&B was delightful the room was spotlessly clean with lots of nice added touches. ,Breakfast was excellent with plenty of home made jams, fresh fruit .We were made very welcome an all in all we had a pleasant and peaceful stay, Thank You

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the Castle which was very nice,
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susansteveWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Kate and Mark have just everything absolutely right. Their lovely, peaceful farmhouse and barn lie close by the imposing ruins of the castle and just steps away from the village. The pretty garden, planted with fruit trees, flowering pots and interesting shrubs, has quiet and tucked away seating for guests. Hens, lambs and the occasional deer can be seen beyond the gate. If the setting is idyllic, the interior of the farmhouse is just as attractive. Our bedroom (in the main house) was spotlessly clean, calm and somehow gave the impression of more space than we actually had. There were two comfortable chairs, a very comfortable kingsize bed with beautiful bed linen and gorgeous plump pillows, with excellent bedside lights that you could actually read by! (So often the lighting in B&Bs can be too dim.) Every last detail has been thought of: there's a thermos of chilled, iced water tucked away in the cupboard and a bottle of fresh tap water for using when boiling water for tea or coffee. Little kilner-type jars enclose tea bags and coffee for maximum freshness, and Kate left a small thermos of chilled milk for us every day. Nothing has been forgotten - there's a small tin of freshly baked home-made shortbread alongside the tea and coffee; in the luxurious bathroom (great shower and large bath) the lighting is excellent and there's a large free-standing two-sided mirror as well as a wall mirror. There are lovely generous soaps, shampoos, etc, plus classy room spray (when do you ever see this?). As a guest, you realise from the very beginning that your maximum comfort and pleasure is what matters to our hosts. So of course Kate's breakfast menu offers a multitude of choices. The spacious breakfast room is light and sunny with a view of the garden. On sunny days, breakfast is served at tables in the garden.The breakfast buffet offers more than enough for anyone, but Kate's excellent cooking is too much to resist. The cooked options are wonderful and our coffee was excellent (and we are fussy coffee drinkers!). The Porters offer guests a very comfortable and light 'garden' sitting room, as well as offering secluded outside space for sitting or lounging. Kate was full of helpful suggestions about where we would enjoy to eat, and offered to book tables for us wherever we chose. There are good places to eat in Corfe itself, and in many villages around. Kate's also full of ideas about walks and drives and absolutely anything you may want to know. We will definitely be going back, and may see if we can book a room in the barn next time. Fellow guests told us that the rooms there were lovely, too, but our room in the house will be hard to beat! I think Kate called it the North room. If you want somewhere that is 5* luxury, with superb cooking, and exceptionally friendly hosts who make you feel relaxed and at home, but in a discreet, gentle way, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews