We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we ended up eating in every night!”
Review of The Scott Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Scott Arms
Ranked #9 of 10 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The Scott Arms has always been on our list of places to stay and in the past we have rented houses in Worth or Langton (keeping the children away from the general public for obvious reasons!) and dropped in for lunch or dinner.This time we were "children free" so decided to book a weekend at the Scott Arms and moved into the Swyre suite for the weekend. And there we stayed.... Apart from long gruelling walks along Studland Beach with no one else around (joy!) it was bliss. The room was.... very roomy and the decor was very relaxing/chic/comfortable/stylish. And then there were the evenings. We normally use somewhere as a base and then eat out in either Corfe, Wareham or Swanage. But after 1 meal in the restaurant we ate in every night!!! Cannot recommend enough.The staff were extremely friendly, the grub was top quality and they even had one of my favourite Italian red wines on the menu.... Treat yourself and stay there!

Room Tip: Both rooms (Chapmans and Swyre) are both top notch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PETER1348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 122 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

The Scott Arms manages to keep the quaintness of the lovely Kingston village while combining it with modern, clean and tasteful furnishings.
The view is of course amazing, taking in the Purbeck hills, Poole harbour and the valley down to Swanage, stunning! Not to mention Corfe Castle!!
Food excells for pub grub and the quality of the food was very much appreciated as was the size of the portions and the excellent menu.
There are two bars, well stocked with a large selection of whiskeys, beers, ciders etc. Unusual for a rural pub but just what is needed after a hard day walking. Impressive prices on the wines too.
Didn't stay there but can't imagine the rooms would be a let down as the interior we saw was clearly of great quality and taste.
Did find the staff a little hit and miss but i would definately recommend this pub as the best in the area and we have visited a few. (with the exception of the square and compass which is entirely different and another must visit)
Would we visit again? You bet ya!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micha95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I phoned three times to confirm my booking and each time I was assured the booking had been taken only to be told just before my stay the room had been double booked from an online booking and there was no accommodation available.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Pepps806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetFoodandWine, Owner at The Scott Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

I would again like to profusely apologise for this mistake which was entirely down to our human error in not updating our internet based booking system with your telephone booking. This then led to another booking for the same period. The system has been reviewed and staff trained so this should not happen again.

My very sincere apologies again as I completely understand your upset at not being able to visit us on the date you requested. I will be personally contacting you and I hope we can arrange an alternative time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

A fantastic view from the garden over Corfe Castle and village, a charming Dorset village behind and a beautiful Pub/Restaurant while the varying and welcoming styles in the various rooms give a terrific first impression - our choice being the snug upper bar where an open wood fire was burning. Mine hosts were very welcoming and open, but being from Yorkshire you eventually get the feeling they won't suffer fools gladly.

The standard menu and wine list are comprehensive, covering basic grub through to Haute Cuisine. On our recent visit we chose from the mouth-watering 'specials' board specialising in local produce and 'catches', mouth-watering! Our main course choice was Pork medallions, served beautifully with every item on the dish very tasty and correctly cooked - even the mash! We'd had olives and garlic bread as starters just to bide our time, but found both delightfully presented, scrummy and repeatable. No room for desert regrettably, again a wide choice. Clearly this establishment is one of the lucky few to have a high quality perfectionist chef and hosts with an eye to pleasing diverse palates. The wine chosen was a Shiraz, not too pricey but very smooth.

Service to the table was attentive and without excessive waiting, but I did note younger staff members haven't been trained not to say "there you go" all the time, a personal phobia.

Being a rather ancient building, the car park is inadequate during peak periods (park in streets nearby) and access could be better as there are are steps from the car park and internally from room to room - quaint but not so good for the infirm.

Prices are a little higher than average away from London, but are in keeping with this expensive area. With food as good as this, the price is not important.

In a nutshell, an excellent experience which if my bank manager could afford it I would repeat every week!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsayPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

A family party of ten visited. The food was faultless. Unfortunately it arrived as a split order with the first two meals being delivered after an acceptable half hour wait BUT 25 minutes before the other eight.

On first enquiring where the remaining eight meals were the bar person said she would check and resumed serving several other customers. A different bar person was then approached and said he would check, but didn't!

On enquiring a third time, with the first two diners now finished,eventually the excuse that it had gone through as two orders was given. Finally the rest of the food arrived.

What should have been a lovely Sunday Lunch out was spoilt by disinterested bar staff and poor service

Interestingly when the tab was requested there was just one!

We were staying within walking distance but didn't go again,even though we would have done so on the strength of the quality of the food.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgsm1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Visited today for lunch as my dad was down for a few days. We don't often get to go to this great foodie pub as we always end up trying on the off chance at weekends and it is always busy. Our fault we should be better organised, so make sure you book if your heading over to see them.

The thing I like about the Scott Arms is they have a great menu which is supplemented by an even better specials board giving an amazing choice of dishes. As it was lunch the three of us opted for just one course. Mushroom Soup & Chips (I know!), charcuterie and a sunblushed tomato linguine. All accompanied of course with a good local ale.

The service is very friendly and we were soon served with our food despite many tables in the lower bar being occupied. Being a vegetarian the standard menu consisted of two pasta dishes and a risotto but bolstered with a goats cheese tart on the specials board. My choice of the linguine was the right one as it was delicious with the right balance of pesto and a great flavour. Overall we really enjoyed our meal, my dad was a bit disappointed he didn't get the crispy bread that was advertised on the menu with the charcuterie as it was served with a soft sliced baguette. The presentation was good though and I think he did enjoy it. Just a little niggle really but that probably stopped me from giving a five star rating.

If your out and about in the Purbecks, walking, visiting corfe or the surrounding area then make sure the Scott Arms is on your lost of places to visit for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CyberWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

we are big foodies and ate here twice on our holiday. Really good food, cannot fault it at all. I will crave forever the pork in old rosie cider gravy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TrufflesBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
1.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
978 reviews
5.2 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland
292 reviews
4.5 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
270 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Corfe Castle
192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Woodyhyde Campsite
Woodyhyde Campsite
#3 of 4 in Corfe Castle
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scott Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scott Arms

Address: West Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Price Range: $90 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scott Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Scott Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scott Arms Corfe Castle, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing