We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super find in corfe”
Review of The Greyhound Inn

The Greyhound Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The most photographed pub in Britain, nestles under the magestic remains of Corfe Castle. Large outdoor garden with views over the Swanage Railway and Castle. Simply delicious British food with a European twist. Locally sourced seafood with fresh produce from farmers, butchers and bakers. Large selection of real ales and Dorset ciders. Fish and Chip Takeaway. Hand made Italian pizza to go Food served all day. Live music every Friday. Two beer festivals May and August. Weddings, birthday parties and staff parties. Look at our website for details of our food festivals. 01929 480205
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“super find in corfe”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Had lunch here on a busy December Sunday - lovely food, comprehensive menu - a real pub, walkers, dogs, families. Super atmosphere and very good friendly service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mullen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    343
    167
    104
    107
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Customer Service training required”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

A disappointing Boxing Day drink at The Greyhound in Corfe Castle - we should have known when the landlord scowled as we walked through the door - at that point we should have retreated to another nearby hostelry - but no we persevered ! Warm Guinness, poor quality & tired Courage Best and then flat lemonade in the vodka, lemonade and lime - we complained about the flat lemonade and apparently the carbonater wasn't working so we swapped it for a small diet coke in a chipped glass - we were refunded a £1 !
The only saving grace was the smiley waitress who delivered the coffee! The manager needs to attend a customer service training course at no time was an apology offered and when has a spirit with 2 mixers cost £1 more than a small diet coke ?
A rip off pub relying on people not visiting Corfe again - next time we will spend our money in The Fox or Bankes !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere good food”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The food is decent value and very tasty. My fish pie and my wife's vegetarian mousakka were both excellent and the "Corfe Mess" was a very enjoyable dessert. Also good choice of beer and cider, so would recommend for a good night out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Goose1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfriston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quick Lunch : Bags of Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

For the second time of visiting this venue since 2009, we were able to sit in the rear garden close to the Castle walls, under shade-awnings. Service and food service and taste was well up to the standard we expect here. Fast and friendly service; excellent tasting food with plenty of variety, seasonal offers and so on.
Well done, Jacci. As ever, happy to recommend The Greyhound to others ~ and looking forward to our return with another group in January 2013

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad customer service & poor value”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Visited this pub twice before 2013 and it was pretty good, but some reviews suggest there has been new management since then. If so, they need to clean up their act. One of the male bar staff, the older one, was at best quirky and at worst insulting. From other reviews, it appears this might be the manager and that his attitude might be a regular occurrence - why do such people enter the hospitality industry?!!

The food was good but not spectacular, so it can hardly be described as a gastro-pub in my opinion just because they pile layers on top of each other on the plate. Portion size was slightly on the small side. This would be acceptable if prices were lower, but not at £14 per main course. No-one checked if the food was OK or if we'd enjoyed our meals.

Four hand pumps although only 2 real ales available: Palmers Gold and Courage Best, both in good condition and full measures served.

This pub obviously relies on the constant stream of passing tourists and can afford to insult or rip off a certain number of customers without damaging their trade noticeably. I wouldn't even complain about the food prices and portions if it wasn't for the bad customer service, which is inexcusable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RedsellRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greyhound Inn also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing