We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Pub To Eat and Drink” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Greyhound Inn

The Greyhound Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The most photographed pub in Britain, nestles under the magestic remains of Corfe Castle. Large outdoor garden with views over the Swanage Railway and Castle. Simply delicious British food with a European twist. Locally sourced seafood with fresh produce from farmers, butchers and bakers. Large selection of real ales and Dorset ciders. Fish and Chip Takeaway. Hand made Italian pizza to go Food served all day. Live music every Friday. Two beer festivals May and August. Weddings, birthday parties and staff parties. Look at our website for details of our food festivals. 01929 480205
Axminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Friendly Pub To Eat and Drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely pub in Corfe Castle with a smashing back drop of the castle thrown into the bargain. Good food and beer and excellent friendly service and dogs welcome

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    286
    141
    86
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“just lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our visit was very pleasent the staff very entertaning and service was tip top on the day we visited they had time to talk to us and pointed out some of the best ale's to have from a good selection and the chips were the best nice and thick just as we like them and cooked through not half done as so often is the case go there by train from Swanage to Corfe Castle it is worth it then have a very good Pint at the Greyhound Inn

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Location great, food poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Lovely old pub in a fabulous location, nice local beers on tap but sadly the food was decidedly poor. Had a really nice starter and thought the rest of the meal would be the same. Unfortunately it wasn't. The steak was tough and tasteless with the peppercorn sauce tasting like a packet mix. The homemade burger was very dry and overcooked, the outside being black, served in a dry bun. The so called homemade coleslaw was definately not homemade and when I pointed this out to the waitress was informed that it was. If that is the case then the chef or his kitchen staff are very bad cooks, because this stuff looked and tasted exactly like the cheapest value supermarket brand coleslaw. The salad was utterly tasteless which is so annoying this time of year when the english tomatoes are in season. The staff were not interested when I complained and infact did nothing to rectify any of my complaints. The pub its self is very quaint and old but once I started to look around realised just how grubby and shabby this place was. You could write your name in the grime on the radiators and the light fittings had cobwebs thicker than a pair of ladies tights. The tables were sticky and everywhere just had a look of dilapidation. This place is very poor value for money and seems to rely on the tourist trade as its location is wonderful. Little or no effort seems to have gone into the food and although the menu talked of local produce I'm assuming local means their nearest cash and carry.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KimSned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Greyhound Inn, Corfe Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We visted the Greyhound while the Swanage Folk Festival was on so it was very busy. We had drinks in the garden first, which has a beautiful view of Corfe Castle.

We couldn't reserve a table, but managed to grab a table which wasn't up or down any steps as one of our group was elderly. They had a fish festival on and we all ordered from the special menu, every single dish was fantastic, prepared and cooked to perfection. We didn't order anything from their normal menu, but I would definitely eat here again to try it out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beer_Girlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“worth a trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Service hit and miss no consistency with the food.
We usually go here as the steam train from Swanage stops here worth the trip.
Could be a gold mine if improved with tighter management.
Parking is allways a problem in Corfe so dont take a chance as it clogs up so easily use the National Trust car parks just before you get into Corfe from Whareham.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greyhound Inn also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing