We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely weekend break”
Review of Olivers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olivers
Ranked #1 of 10 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely weekend break”
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We have recently returned from a two night stay at Olivers in Corfe Castle. The B&B is very well positioned in the centre of Corfe Castle. We stayed in the twin room which was the only room available and found the room to be very clean and well presented. In fact the room appeared to have been recently decorated and carpeted and the ensuite was pristine. Olivers B&B is positioned above the tea rooms/restaurant however there is no noise from the restaurant even during the height of the summer season. The owners are very accomdating and will provide you with a complimentary fresh pot of tea for your room on request which is a nice touch. The breakfast was good with a selection of fresh fruit, cereals and yogurts and English breakfast. We found considered Olivers to be very good value for money and enjoyed our time there. We would definately recommend Olivers to others.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreySam17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
151
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
glendale ca
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

If you want warm motherly hugs from a b&b, don't stay here. If not, this is a great place to stay. We arrived early and they let us put our luggage in our room. The room was big enough and everything looked new and clean. Although it was on the "Main" street of Corfe Castle, it was very quiet. The rate was acceptable, breakfast was good, and the location cannot be beat; walk out the door and you can see the castle, and walk almost right into it.

Corfe Castle is an absolutely lovely town, and there are lots of things to do here.

We ate lunch at the courtyard of the Model Village attraction and loved it; the entrance is up the hill just a bit from Olivers, on the opposite side of the street. You do NOT have to go in to the Model Village to eat here. The food was just delicious, and the people there were cheerful and nice. We tried to eat there for dinner but they were closed by then.

For dinner we did eat at Olivers, and I am afraid we were not very happy with our meal or its cost.

But as a place to sleep, Olivers is first-rate!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaid331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

The B and B has been recently refurbished to a very high standard. It was very comfortable and although there were no tea or coffee making facilities the owners were happy to make one for you. The owners were very friendly and breakfast was made with good quality fresh ingredients. Olivers is situated on the heart of corfe castle, very beautiful quaint setting. Two good pubs nearby that serve decent food and a good selection of drinks.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

6 of us descended on this B&B at fairly short notice on Bank Holiday weekend - myself, my partner, my 2 sons and their girlfriends. We were shown to our rooms which are separate from the restaurant so no need to disturb the customers when we returned from the pub! The rooms are very clean and well decorated, good shower and very comfortable beds. We had a room on the first floor which we thought was lovely, then we went upstairs to look at my son's rooms and they were huge, with beams and again beautifully decorated. The only downside was there was no tea/coffee making facilities although we were told we could go into the restaurant at any time. Also, no TV (which some might prefer!) but there was a small clock radio.

The situation is perfect, right in the middle of Corfe Castle village which is beautiful. We went to Monkey World which is only about 15/20 mins drive and a good day out. I can also recommend the Fox Inn although the locals might not thank me for it! Definitely more of a local pub than a tourist pub and well worth a visit.

Parking is a problem but there is a car park about 5-10 minute walk away which charges £5 for 24 hours.

We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening but we did have breakfast which was plentiful and all cooked on order - I would say one thing though, don't expect to see a menu or go by what it says on the website. However, we certainly didn't go hungry!

We'd definitely go back, if they'd have us!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrycb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

looked for lunch in corfe castle and nothing seemed very special found untill olivers ,booked a table for 4 inc two tweenagers who are a bit gastronomically challenged and most friendy owner said if the lads fancy some thing not on menu we will make it special for them
was greeted very cordially on arrival had a lovelly draft lager and ordered for 4 all off menu venison for me pasta and sea bassand plaice fresh from the sea
the cleanliness of the place was amazing the staff were fantastic and the food was unbelievably good , could easily have ate it twice ,best food have had in years and wished had booked there to stay too as was so fresh and smart unloke the place i stayed and much more reasonable too if your staying at corfe castle eat and sleep here
thanks your quality which is very rare these days

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tiger1001949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.1 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
3.3 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Corfe Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivers

Property: Olivers
Address: 5 West Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olivers 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 4 delightful and tastefully decorated bedrooms that will also satisfy those who enjoy a decent shower with their modern en-suite facilities. Our guests can access the B & B via their own door (we live next door so you get to come and go as you please!) We serve breakfast that includes everything from fresh seasonal fruit to a traditional full cooked fry-up (only we grill it and won't fry anything unless you ask us to!). We also offer a range of options for those who have alternative dietary needs or preferences. Our double fronted Purbeck stone building, which dates back to 1833 sits in the heart of the village just off the main square and has all the charm and beauty you would expect of a traditional village location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Olivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivers Corfe Castle, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing